Kelley Blue Book Reviews | Glassdoor

Kelley Blue Book Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 121 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Sandy Schwartz
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "You'll find a set of sincere and caring teammates at KBB(in 12 reviews)

  • "KBB's work environment is incredibly friendly and welcoming(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "People in Atlanta seem to be the only ones to move up(in 13 reviews)

  • "Dealing with corporate is very confusing and is diluting the KBB brand(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kelley Blue Book for less than a year

    Pros

    KBB's work environment is incredibly friendly and welcoming. They treat interns the same as full time employees in many ways: you are given real work to do (no busy work), the pay is very good, you are included in actual decision making and your opinion really matters. There are regular intern networking and social events, so every week there is something new and exciting happening on top of the work itself.

    Cons

    Most of the full time employees are significantly older than the interns, they have a family and children, so it can be hard to relate at some times.

    Kelley Blue Book2018-09-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly, supportive, and diverse workface"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kelley Blue Book full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You'll find a set of sincere and caring teammates at KBB. Great diversity of workforce.

    Cons

    Great name, but needs a modern product.

    Advice to Management

    Let new ideas drive innovation.

    Kelley Blue Book2019-06-17
  3. "Kelly Blue Book is a great employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter in Irvine, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Kelley Blue Book for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved working in a team environment. Everyone was treated like a big family. Great perks during each holiday!

    Cons

    I wish the contract went longer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Kelley Blue Book2019-05-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "KBB is Great!! Parent company not so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer I in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kelley Blue Book full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fun environment many employee benefits

    Cons

    Dealing with corporate is very confusing and is diluting the KBB brand.

    Advice to Management

    Leave KBB alone

    Kelley Blue Book2019-03-11
  5. Helpful (5)

    "one dimensional. cookie cutter leaders."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Kelley Blue Book full-time

    Pros

    they're really trying to create more events. flexible work time depending on manager. that is actually a con because it should be fair. some managers are simply just too old fashioned and too much of a monitor.

    Cons

    We are told to bring our A-game. Capable employees are given lots of projects and responsibilities but the underperformers get to just keep doing just enough to get a paycheck. What is the point of doing extra work if the people who dont do extra still get to keep their jobs and paychecks and same raises? Pay and responsibility don't seem to go hand in hand. Managers need to be more than just people persons nowadays,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need to get rid of people who cannot step up the effort especially if others in the same team are expected to. You have many people with the same titlles but expectations are so different coming from the manager. Defeats morale if people see there is no reprimand for doing just enough while others have to do so much. There are many company functions but employees say they dont have time. It's a problem when employees...

    Show More
    Kelley Blue Book2019-02-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Cox core with KBB facade"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kelley Blue Book full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Still offers a 401K match; semi-flexible work hours, depending on department; accepts minimal effort for those who only show up for a paycheck.

    Cons

    "People person" appointments in technical leadership roles; Sales' influence permeating non-sales departments; understaffed departments because back-fill of vacated positions is denied; inability to remove individual contributors who don't carry their weight.

    Kelley Blue Book2019-01-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Company has lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kelley Blue Book full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits are getting better. Most employees are great people to work with.

    Cons

    Top management has no clue what they are doing. There is constant turnover among executive and director positions. "Get used change" is what we have been told. Layoffs every year for the past few years.

    Advice to Management

    Find someone who has vision and can raise the company up.

    Kelley Blue Book2019-01-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Kelley Blue Book

    Pros

    -Company culture is amazing. Everyone is super friendly and willing to help you. People genuinely care about helping you grow and learn. -Chill, friendly and casual work environment -Many company sponsored events -You will definitely gain a bunch of experience.

    Cons

    -There's sometimes too much down time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you guys are doing!

    Kelley Blue Book2018-09-07
  9. "Valuation Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kelley Blue Book full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture, small business feel to the company despite being part of a big corporate company.

    Cons

    bad places to eat in the area

    Kelley Blue Book2018-08-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Going through change, but still great things about this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Irvine, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kelley Blue Book full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    As a company under Cox & Cox Automotive we get a good deal of benefits: 401K, PTO that increases with number of years, breakfast on Fridays, casual attire, ability to work from home, Corporate discounts, celebrating holidays (Halloween & Christmas), learning opportunities and so much more. People love who they work with. People love this brand.

    Cons

    Being part of a bigger organization has it's draw backs. Kelley Blue Book in Irvine is struggling to find it's identity as in relates to our location, Brand and corporate. We continue to encounter change and many team members struggle with it. There's light at the end of the tunnel but it feel like its going to be awhile before we get there.

    Kelley Blue Book2018-05-09
Found 121 reviews