Kelly Educational Staffing "substitutes" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Kelly Educational Staffing Employee Reviews about "substitutes"

Updated Dec 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Kelly Educational Staffing President and Chief Executive Officer George S. Corona
George S. Corona
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "I really loved working for Kelly as you have a flexible schedule(in 55 reviews)

  • "I am able to choose which school I work at and which days I want to work(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very low pay- after taxes your take home pay is about(in 59 reviews)

  • "to change between land line and cell phone), which I previously could do when the town hired Substitutes directly(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "substitutes"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Compliance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - High School Teacher 

    I have been working at Kelly Educational Staffing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professionalism and flexibility is outstanding

    Cons

    Pay is low for substitutes

    Continue reading
    Kelly Educational Staffing2019-12-20
  2. "Not a longterm position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orange Park, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kelly Educational Staffing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule, first-hand experience in FL public education for those curious about going into teaching, ability to see each schools work-culture, you can do paraprofessional (get paid less), custodial or cafeteria assignments when you don't have a substitute teaching assignment...

    Cons

    below living wage, general disrespect towards substitutes (cursing & cell phone use is OUT OF CONTROL), certain schools do not give classroom keys & leave the door open thus violating their own lock-down protocol & putting you in danger, bathroom breaks can be hard/impossible, schools can cancel up to 2 hours until your assignment, "Do Not Send " request from a school can be made for any reason, palpable general lack of respect from a lot school faculty/district (if interested, the district has now reached out to Kelly to offer substitutes (remember: we are required to have a Bachelor's degree) custodial and cafeteria assignments)

    Continue reading
    Kelly Educational Staffing2019-10-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "What you'd expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Orlando, FL

    I have been working at Kelly Educational Staffing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The hours and days are extremely flexible. You basically get to pick-and-choose what schools you go to or don't go to, what days you work and don't want to work, and whether to work full days or half days.

    Cons

    The pay is a joke, the company doesn't have the best management (like at all), and you'd expect them to treat employees a *little* less punitively and value you more considering how sparse substitutes actually are throughout OCPS.

    Continue reading
    Kelly Educational Staffing2019-07-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Disappointing overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher and Para in Windsor, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kelly Educational Staffing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, new experiences, some pleasant students, always something new to learn.

    Cons

    Low pay, especially for Para position. At the time, at least, you could not easily change the phone number where the system would call you (i.e., to change between land line and cell phone), which I previously could do when the town hired Substitutes directly.

    Continue reading
    Kelly Educational Staffing2019-02-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Subbing for Kellh in Augusta GA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Augusta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kelly Educational Staffing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to pick the days and schools you want to work. You dont have to have ANY teaching experience in this county. Or, any experience at all. They accept anyone with a beating heart and high school degree.

    Cons

    Pay is bare minimum. I'm talking minimum wage rates. The staff at KES Augusta GA are incompetent and take forever to do anything, like call you back or fix the pay grade you're supposed to have. Richmond county school systems is really poor and the kids and teachers dont care about education, so the job of substituting itself is bad here. KES employees will call you incessantly every morning between 7 and 8, even when you opt out of the automated call system.

    Kelly Educational Staffing2019-02-19
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Kelly is great. The students are monsters."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kelly Educational Staffing part-time

    Pros

    Everyone at Kelly is terrific.

    Cons

    School Administrators lie to substitutes. You are meat. The average student is a pathetic, imbecile who pretty much does what they want. The smart kids are isolated away from the animals.

    Continue reading
    Kelly Educational Staffing2018-09-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Teachers can't live on the pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Substitute Teacher in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kelly Educational Staffing for less than a year

    Pros

    None there isn't anything pro. You have to pay money up front to get in the door.

    Cons

    Low low pay in Tampa for substitutes. It is minimum wage pay in some states. Kelly is the middle man taking the hard earned pay that HCPS could be giving to it's employees instead of a staffing company.

    Continue reading
    Kelly Educational Staffing2017-11-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Kelly Educational Staffing

    Pros

    If you only want part time you get it.

    Cons

    They pick and choose which substitutes they like.

    Kelly Educational Staffing2017-11-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great for my situation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kelly Educational Staffing full-time

    Pros

    Flexible. No commitment to any number of days/week or month to be working.

    Cons

    Lack of information available regarding some schools so you aren't sure sometimes of what to do when you arrive on site for the day. Compared to Public School substitutes, Kelly's daily rates were low.

    Continue reading
    Kelly Educational Staffing2017-09-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Kes was a nightmare for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kelly Educational Staffing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The computer system Aesop which can be used by a school district on its on.

    Cons

    I do not understand why any school district would use KES. KES is the middle man for the Aesop system. I was substituting at a school that switched to KES and they brought in all their own people in and took all my jobs. Also the local KES managers had no idea the rules of our school. The school had no control over thier subs. It was a nightmare and I left my job of 10 years.

    Kelly Educational Staffing2017-10-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 40 reviews