KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

KellyMitchell Group

Engaged Employer

KellyMitchell Group

Add a Review

KellyMitchell Group Employee Reviews about "people"

Updated Jun 29, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 of over 382 reviews

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
KellyMitchell Group Co-Founder and CEO Cassandra Sanford
Cassandra Sanford
148 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of KellyMitchell Group and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    I have been working in the corporate office at KellyMitchell for over 6 years now.

    Dec 11, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are what make KellyMitchell so amazing and the culture is like I've not seen anywhere else.

    Cons

    There are no cons to working at KellyMitchell. Great company, great team!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A company that's fun to work at, encourages and rewards hard work and INVESTS in their employees!

    Oct 29, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    KellyMitchell is always willing to invest in the employees that invest in them! The opportunities are endless and you can create your own career path based on your hard work and dedication. They are really good at placing people in the right positions and fostering their personal and professional goals. KellyMitchell is very philanthropic as they work with a number of local and national charities and encourage participation from their employees. It's been a pleasure to work here and foresee a long career at KellyMitchell!

    Cons

    No Cons for the review of KellyMitchell.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    KellyMitchell Group is a top notch consulting firm that cares about their consultants and treats them well.

    Jun 30, 2014 - Project Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people at KellyMitchell Group work hard for the consultants they place and treat them with respect and responsiveness.

    Cons

    I did nit have any challenges with KellyMitchell Group which is rare in the consulting industry. They were well organized every step of the way and are the best company I have worked for thus far.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Company crumbling before your eyes!

    Dec 31, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    KellyMitchell has been around for almost two decades and has had an impressive list of clients. In recent years, the high class service and delivery has shifted to a “promise you the world and never follow through” delivery model. KellyMitchell has gotten greedy and wants to take a bigger piece of the pie with their clients. They responded by beefing up their recruitment teams with classes of young professionals to deliver on the promises made to their clients. KellyMitchell has however failed to 1) hire the right people and 2) provide the training necessary for the recruiters to succeed. As a result, many recruiters fail within the first 3-6 months and those that stick around get comfortable with sub-par performance. In addition to the broken recruiting model, KellyMitchell encourages managers to rule with fear and intimidation. This creates an atmosphere were promising employees are terrorized and forced out when standing up for themselves. Valuable and knowledgeable employees have left the company because of the mental and physical intimidation tactics utilized by management. There are no true leaders in the company, including at the executive level, because they are allowing the poison of bad management penetrate every aspect of their company.

    Cons

    Bad Management Fear based Work Environment Terrible Hours – No Work/Life Balance No Training Expensive Benefits

    Continue reading
    24 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Pays well, poor management

    May 23, 2014 - Technical Recruiter in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good compensation on the sales side of the organization (recruiting, sales, account management, etc.). Great co-workers to building lasting future friendships.

    Cons

    Offers little to no professional development. Company doesn't care if people quit because they are unhappy, huge turnover rates. People are promoted because they are well liked, not because they have the skills necessary to manage. Zero people management abilities has led to blame of failure on the recruiters rather than the manager in charge of them. Hard company to work for and be happy at the end of the day. No job stability.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Rewarding

    Jan 13, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a work hard - play hard atmosphere. There is always room for growth and this is a great opportunity. If you are a hard worker and are self-motivated this is a fit for you! The people who work here are great and are always willing to help out. It is a great company and the upper management is involved and always willing to help as well!

    Cons

    This is a 24/7 job, but it does pay off

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Contractor

    Unethical Recruiters

    Sep 10, 2019 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good gig when there’s nothing else available. - There’s a network possibility depending on the nature of your contract, and it’s all on you.

    Cons

    - Recruiters will literally lie to you, promising the world. And when you need them they will ghost you. - Management / HR is unreachable, and if you can reach them they’ll promise to help but not really. - Company is not interested in retaining good people at all - don’t rely on them to help you find the next opportunity. Remember the first bullet point. - Benefits are not good / not competitive with the other consulting companies in the area. - There’s no team support / team spirit at all. You’re on your own with the client, and Kelly Mitchell only worries about collecting the check for your work.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Exciting organization that loves it's people

    Dec 8, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Where do I begin?!? In a world of countless staffing and services companies KellyMitchell stands out. We are relatively small compared to some of the big firms but we are growing and that's what keeps me motivated everyday. The leadership truly cares about the people and they are always looking for new ways to surprise us with Happy Hours, early days, etc... At the same time this is also a place where you can't coast (and I like that). Someone once said that top performers can stand mediocre people and mediocre people can't stand top performers. Well if you are a top performer you will really like it here and be challenged by your peers all around you. We are a fantastic company with a great vision, a great team and super hip office space too (think ping-pong tables, a kegerator, fancy coffee machines and lots of other neat things)! The commission and compensation is industry leading, and the incentive trips and super motivating!

    Cons

    This is hard for all staffing companies, but the benefits for families are a little expensive. You can easily makes that up though by producing!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Awful, Just don't...

    Apr 8, 2016 - Client Engagement Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the employees are great and encouraging, although that is not to be attributed to this company really, but the individuals themselves. Sometimes the company will spend a lot of money to wow employees, however it is not enough to out shadow the negative environment and lack of organization within the company.

    Cons

    Management lies to you about income potential and opportunity from the very beginning. They might not necessarily be intentionally lying about everything, a lot of what they tell someone about potential is made up or based off imagination. There is no process for projecting or placing demands on any sales position. They do not evaluate market potential based of facts or hard numbers. There is no real market study, for instance screening the companies in a given area for if they even do this type of work and if they aren't already penetrated by KellyMitchell, or have fired KM in the past. On that note you are told and told to tell others that the company has never lost a client: it's a huge lie! They will hire you just to see what they can get out of you even if there is little market potential because they simply don't know or care. It is irresponsible and unprofessional, that is this company as a whole. They don't care about turnover because if people leave they get to keep more share of the profit and not pay the commission on both the recruiter and client development side- about 20%. You are told to lie to potential and current clients about the number of staff working on their needs amplified exponentially; saying there are 50 recruiters when they're are only 8-10 on staff, 2/3 of which are on other accounts. RFPs are filled out by loosely projecting potential consultants in the database and then doubling the numbers. 0 direction, no training, no process for anything. Permanent documents needed to reference for subbing consultants are missig, but you better not let that hinder you! Somehow there is still micromanagement in there, it seems impossible with the previous description, but it isn't. I got meetings with almost every potential customer within my area, only to have my meetings hijacked by the blabbering manager who wouldn't let me get a word in and threw up KellyMitchell all over the potential customer/ decision maker. We would leave and they would never talk to me again because of zero connection made. Any good sales person knows better than to conduct a meeting like this. People want you to get to know them and not desperately splurge company facts at them. Then I would be blamed for not making things happen, when I wasn't trusted to run the meeting in the first place after attaining it on my own. The manager wasn't even in the same state as me, and when in town would blow me off when I scheduled a meeting with her ahead of time to get to know her better; it's hard to earn trust and open communication when your manager doesn't know you at all and doesn't act as if she wants to. I quickly learned open communication is is not welcomed and is a trap. If you don't blow smoke or suck up with power players you are fired out of nowhere. I watched almost the entire sales staff quit or get fired with no warning in the 6 months I was there. Upper management has no idea what they're doing or what's going on in the company. They are a lawyer and engineer who were on a temp hiring team during a strike and decided to open and it recruiting firm- have no expertise so are quick to think this is easy and if their number projections aren't realistic then sales people are lazy, it's ridiculous. They tell you to earn clients by promising we can cover jobs other firms can't, but they don't realize promising Java developers for $75,000/ year isn't possible because there simply aren't any in St. Louis who aren't working already and making 6-figures plus...just make it happen or you're fired 'because you don't want to work hard'. The people who stay are told, and reassure themselves by thinking they are the few who are willing to work hard so they can continue on without guilt, but really it's about how much you are liked based off how much you suck up and how fake you are. If you have ideas don't share them because you will hurt someone's ego and get fired, if you are smart you won't last. if your a sorority bully you'll fit in great! Don't waste your time, you will only learn how to play games or leave feeling completely insecure at your next job because this place is a game that will mess with your head no matter how smart you are and how hard you try. In fact, the smartest people here don't last long except for the few who have tenure who keep their head down and make their own rules...you will know them when you see them, they will never leave or be fired because the company wouldn't know what to do without them, and they don't want to have anything to do with helping someone new. Like I said, just don't waste your time it's a total mess. Oh and benefits are laughable- obamacare is amazing compared to this coverage and price.

    Continue reading
    20 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Shady Hiring Practices

    Mar 30, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People seemed relatively nice and friendly. Office was well furnished.

    Cons

    Hiring process took an extremely long time and after finally receiving an offer I was told within four days that the position was being taken in a different direction.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 66 Reviews

Popular Careers with KellyMitchell Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at KellyMitchell Group? Share Your Experiences

or

KellyMitchell Group Photos

+ Add Photo
KellyMitchell Group photo of: Cheers to another great year!
KellyMitchell Group photo of: We love our River North office!
KellyMitchell Group photo of: Spring 2022 Career Fair Season!
KellyMitchell Group photo of: Business Operations Rockstars!
KellyMitchell Group photo of: May Volunteer Month! This year, we volunteered at a local soup kitchen <3
KellyMitchell Group photo of: City views from your desk!
KellyMitchell Group photo of: 2022 Mexico Sales Incentive Trip!
See All Photos