KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

KellyMitchell Group

Engaged Employer

KellyMitchell Group

Add a Review

KellyMitchell Group Employee Reviews about "training"

Updated Aug 10, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 of over 392 reviews

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
KellyMitchell Group Co-Founder and CEO Cassandra Sanford
Cassandra Sanford
153 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of KellyMitchell Group and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "training"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Uplifting Culture

    May 7, 2021 - Technical Recruiter in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Fun - Engaging team - Fun office & activities - Helpful leadership - GREAT earning potential!!! - Many career paths with attainable goals for promotions - Strong training with assigned mentor

    Cons

    - Not so much a con, but definitely fast-paced environment. Hard work, dedication and multi-tasking is important to succeed, but the pay off is greater

    5 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Welcoming

    Jan 8, 2021 - Technical Recruiter in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Supportive leadership -My mentor -Training has been really thorough and organized -Earning potential -The people! : )

    Cons

    -I don't have any at this time.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Technical Recruiter

    Jun 1, 2015 - Technical Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No day is the same at KellyMitchell. It is pretty neat seeing that some of the highest levels of management communicate with the lowest level employees without even having met them. Executives constantly show they care, even with a fun inspirational quote sent out in the morning sometimes. Overall, the Executive team, they are all wonderful people. They have very much the work hard, play hard mentality and make sure that the Sales Team has that mindset as well. Everyone in the office is very sociable, open minded and offer help whenever they can. There is no greater feeling than extending a contract offer to a candidate, especially after you have been taught to build a rapport with them. The training is thorough and you are given a mentor that oversees you for the first year at KellyMitchell. They ask in one on one conversations what you are doing well and where you need help almost every week, constantly wanting you to learn and be better.

    Cons

    It saddens me that this is not a happy place to work anymore. It is pretty standard to receive an intense/borderline cutthroat message from upper management over activity, leaving "early" or not exceeding expectations. Employees are consistently worried if they will lose their job for not performing enough, after already feeling they are worked to the bone. Management whispers about you if you leave before 5:45 in the afternoon after coming into the office around 7:30 AM. Some employees mention they feel they are employed on a "day by day basis". It is very much do or die. With that being said, burnout is common at this company and I believe the reason is that there there is no work life balance. If you take PTO, you will still be expected to meet metrics given to you, some people find themselves working during their PTO just to make ends meet. What is the point of even taking the personal time off if you still have to work. Working from home is not an option. Sometimes it almost feels like you are punished for taking personal time off. That time is given to each employee but then there is push back or attitude when they want to spend a day out of the office. The hours can be very long, weekend work is required. I would say on average each recruiter works 50-60 hours a week, depending on their pipeline of candidates and job volume. Internally, all of KellyMitchell seems to be aware of the high turnover in Technical Recruiters and but doesn’t appear to try to go the extra mile to make sure that employees don't get burnt out. Not many people make it the one year mark. Seems to be a much higher priority to increase their book of business by the end of the month over how many people quit working here (or get fired) It really is the truth that you get out what you put in, but the base salary is a little low compared to competitors. The compensation for your book of business is great IF you get hires. You don't really know the potential of what you can make here until you start seeing your commission checks. And it isn't guaranteed when that will happen.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful

    KellyMitchell Group Response

    Director of Organization & Talent Development

    At KM we believe in continuous improvement and strive to be the best we can be. We recognize we aren't perfect and that's why we believe it's important to listen. Thank you for expressing your thoughts; they didn't fall on deaf ears.

  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Company crumbling before your eyes!

    Dec 31, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    KellyMitchell has been around for almost two decades and has had an impressive list of clients. In recent years, the high class service and delivery has shifted to a “promise you the world and never follow through” delivery model. KellyMitchell has gotten greedy and wants to take a bigger piece of the pie with their clients. They responded by beefing up their recruitment teams with classes of young professionals to deliver on the promises made to their clients. KellyMitchell has however failed to 1) hire the right people and 2) provide the training necessary for the recruiters to succeed. As a result, many recruiters fail within the first 3-6 months and those that stick around get comfortable with sub-par performance. In addition to the broken recruiting model, KellyMitchell encourages managers to rule with fear and intimidation. This creates an atmosphere were promising employees are terrorized and forced out when standing up for themselves. Valuable and knowledgeable employees have left the company because of the mental and physical intimidation tactics utilized by management. There are no true leaders in the company, including at the executive level, because they are allowing the poison of bad management penetrate every aspect of their company.

    Cons

    Bad Management Fear based Work Environment Terrible Hours – No Work/Life Balance No Training Expensive Benefits

    Continue reading
    24 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Lots of growth opportunity!

    Jan 25, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Having the ability to work hard and increase my pay checks every week is what motivates me day in and day out! We have clear career paths, and management does it's best to make sure you are doing work that aligns with your goals at KellyMitchell. The opportunity to grow financially and professionally at KellyMitchell is truly limitless. Uncapped commissions and an exceptional book of business creates so much opportunity. The workforce in Chicago is very dynamic and when everyone is in it for the same reasons with the same goals, it creates a very motivating and fun work place! Training lasts for 90 days and it is a very focused, hands-on program. It's not classroom-heavy; a lot of it is working through the same processes your colleagues use and learning from hands-on experience and real work. Management ensures you have the tools and training to succeed.

    Cons

    Long nights are part of recruiting and sometimes working on the weekend might be necessary to hit goals. There are also so many things you can't control in this industry, sometimes it's easier to look at the negatives but rest assured, if you work hard and stay positive, the outlook is bright!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome Place to Work!

    Aug 10, 2022 - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    KM offers fantastic training and has your best interest in mind. Everyone is willing to help and wants to see you succeed. So many benefits and perks - the earning potential here is unmatched

    Cons

    You have to be able to persevere - there are high highs and low lows like in any sales job. You just have to stay motivated and see the light at the end of the tunnel!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    You get what you put in

    Oct 24, 2019 - Client Engagement Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people. Great culture. Great training program. Great growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Others have said it, so not to be a broken record but you get what you put into the process. If you work hard and put in the times, you'll be successful. And even if KM isn't the right place for you, you'll be able to apply the skills learned to your next company.

    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fair trestment of employees.

    Apr 3, 2012 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    KM works hard to recruit professional positions within the corporate world. KM treats employees fairly. KM offers initial new employee training and mentoring at their own expense.

    Cons

    KM may be more assertive in acquiring higher salary for employees with employers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrible and Failing Company

    May 21, 2020 - Technical Recruiter in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Young work environment - You get free drinks if you are into partying at work.. - Decent benefits package

    Cons

    - Always feeling like you and the people around you are on the chopping block - Work is your life, forget getting home on time and always having to come in early - Unrealistic goals - Training is terrible...simply sending people to slaughter hoping you figure it out - Lets go of 50% of workers within 6 months, be prepared to get a new job

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Just a number

    Oct 28, 2021 - Technical Recruiter in Bellevue, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Office location, benefits, candidate relations

    Cons

    I just moved across the state and was ready to start my new job. It started off strong and straight to the point. Their training for the new recruiters was only one week. After that week, we were expected to go into the office and start making calls. They would still have training meetings set up throughout the week but trying to call, learn new things and meet your goals was impossible for someone learning to become a recruiter in 2 weeks. After the next couple of weeks less and less training was offered, and it started becoming all about numbers. They knew it was a lot of information to take and kept using the phrase 'drinking out of a fire hose' but only a few out of the whole group of new recruiters were hitting their goals. Our goals were different depending on which office you were supporting. One manager from Chicago was strictly about number while the Seattle manager was more about getting the right person for the job. Trying to satisfy both was impossible and when one was pleased, I barley received a 'Thanks' and the other boss sent you a daily reminder of things you could do to improve. Constructive criticism is extremely healthy for a company but waking up to emails every morning about things you could have done better when the manager is in a completely different state and does not see how you preform everyday makes you feel like what you are doing does not matter. I also shared my opinion with other new recruiters who felt the exact same way. I worked from 7:45a.m.-6:00p.m. almost every single day. There is no room to take breaks and we usually eat lunch while still working. It felt wrong to take an hour break. I would even get Teams' messages from my managers asking why my numbers stopped when taking my break. I would be complimented on how many questions I ask a day and how much they appreciate me wanting to learn. I would get a step-by-step process from one manager and follow their process and then I would be asked by my other why I was not doing the step-by-step they taught me how to do. I felt like I was crumbling. I wanted to prove myself every day and I made sure I stayed late or did additional work at night to make sure I was ready to succeed the next day. My personal goal was to have higher numbers than the other new recruiters in my office every day. I succeeded every day except 3 times out of the 6 weeks I worked there. I was making more phone calls, having more prescreens etc. and then I was suddenly let go. No warning was ever given to me about my termination or anything. My last day at the office, which I did not know was my last day, was a momentous day in terms of going beyond my numbers. I had a few meetings with my managers, and they gave me great feedback on what I should do now that I had 2 candidates ready to submit and they both gave me advice on the future and how I can do even better for the company in the future. At about 3:30 that same day I was called into the office, I was excited about the new candidates I approved of and ready to hear what our next step was. Instead, I got, 'Unfortunately we have some bad news, we are terminating your employment with Kelly Mitchell. Please grab your belongings and leave your laptop and we will escort you out of the office.' I was shocked and couldn't even get words out of my mouth without crying. I was so confused and stunned, especially because my numbers were higher than the other new employees in my office. The two people had just given me advice on how to better myself for the future and then they terminated me. Right before the minimum hours needed to apply for unemployment too. They pitch a great environment for new recruiters but in the end, it's only about numbers to them. And after wanting to officially get feedback from my manger, I emailed him a professional statement asking what I could've done better and later received an email saying I could no longer contact him or any Kelly Mitchell email.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews

Popular Careers with KellyMitchell Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at KellyMitchell Group? Share Your Experiences

or

KellyMitchell Group Photos

+ Add Photo
KellyMitchell Group photo of: Cheers to another great year!
KellyMitchell Group photo of: 2022 June Sales Conference!
KellyMitchell Group photo of: Business Operations Rockstars!
KellyMitchell Group photo of: 2022 Rainbow Day! #Pridemonth
KellyMitchell Group photo of: Proudly supporting the LGBTQ+ Community <3
KellyMitchell Group photo of: #PRIDEMONTH
KellyMitchell Group photo of: Congrats Elliott on being our June MAS-hole of the Month!
See All Photos