Kennedy-Donovan Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Kennedy-Donovan Center Reviews

Updated May 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
Kennedy-Donovan Center CEO N. Paul Tonthat
N. Paul Tonthat
0 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Home Visitor 

    I worked at Kennedy-Donovan Center full-time

    Pros

    Gained great experience for future careers.

    Cons

    Slow job growth within the company. I was in the same position for 4 years.

    Kennedy-Donovan Center2019-05-01
  2. "Love this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Counselor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kennedy-Donovan Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very supportive of one another and its like one big family.

    Cons

    There aren't any cons about KDC, it's a great company to work for.

    Kennedy-Donovan Center2018-03-15
  3. "family support supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kennedy-Donovan Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to be creative, great people, flexible, positive

    Cons

    Salary vs expectations do not match, problematic staff are not dealt with.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more money into quality staff, and personality testing before hire. Cheaper health insurance

    Kennedy-Donovan Center2018-05-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kennedy-Donovan Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    paid time off but the insurance was very expensive

    Cons

    significant turnover; duplicitous leadership; lack of support and a chaotic environment; inability to recognize contributions of employees; unrealistic expectations and workload; the best people leave, and the worst stay.

    Advice to Management

    An honest assessment of failed strategies so that the philosophy of the agency can be restored to what it once was

    Kennedy-Donovan Center2018-05-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Kdc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Bedford, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kennedy-Donovan Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding as far as feeling that my clients feel that I am caring & compassionate and enjoy working with them and in return I feel they give all that right back.

    Cons

    Unfortunately I am not able to earn a sufficient wage to support myself at this company.

    Advice to Management

    My supervisors have been very professional and wonderful I really do not have anything I believe they should do. I know they do the very best they can to accommodate everyone whether it be clients or staff. Corporate management on the other hand I don't really know why they make the decisions they make, alot doesn't make sense but I realize I do not know what it really takes to do their job.

    Kennedy-Donovan Center2018-03-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Turnover at leadership level was challenging. New CEO does not express appreciation for staff and morale is low."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kennedy-Donovan Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Agency has a good mission and strong history. The great variety of programs offers employees opportunity for professional development and growth. The direct care staff are very caring and committed.

    Cons

    Leadership is disengaged and doesn't seem able to recognize this or know how to fix it. Morale is low and work environment is negative.

    Advice to Management

    More genuine appreciation and engagement with staff across all offices and programs

    Kennedy-Donovan Center2017-04-25
  7. "Residential Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Counselor in Milford, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kennedy-Donovan Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to start Good clients and services for the clients Motivated passionate staff

    Cons

    Nothing really gets done unless if parents push it Long hours and weekend hours Short staff and your pressured into covering a lot of shifts if people call out sick Not much of a training period Low pay

    Kennedy-Donovan Center2017-03-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Recent Changes in Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Attleboro Falls, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kennedy-Donovan Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits package, offices aren't really regulated so employees can come and go pretty much as they please. Excellent care given and dedication to the people they serve despite lack of management support.

    Cons

    Lots of changes in management recently. Many good people are leaving. It seems that if you are trying to do the right thing you are not long for employment.

    Kennedy-Donovan Center2015-10-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Counselor in Sandwich, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kennedy-Donovan Center full-time

    Pros

    The clients are amazing and direct care staff work well together.

    Cons

    The Supervisor is rude, she insults staff and talks down to both clients and staff.

    Advice to Management

    You need to listen to staff when there is a complaint, instead of ignoring them and doing nothing about it.

    Kennedy-Donovan Center2014-10-17
  10. Helpful (5)

    "My experience wasn't good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Care Attendant in Nantucket, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kennedy-Donovan Center part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best reason to work here is you believe people with disabilities deserve dignity, respect, and meaningful opportunities to enjoy life.

    Cons

    I worked for Kennedy-Donovan Center (or KDC) for less than a year and there was a ton of turnover during that time. I came on right after someone was fired and at least two people were fired during my employment there. Another retired very suddenly. I experienced a huge disconnect between the South Yarmouth office and Nantucket as far as communication. I quit after less than a year because I didn't feel my input was... valued or wanted by anyone at KDC.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    "If you cannot make a phone call or send an email that will directly influence how a company is run, then investing in that company is like gambling at the casino." -Joe Pulizzi ^ Listen and respond to your employees in a timely fashion so they feel less like they're gambling anything will change when they bring a problem to your attention. Follow up when an employee proposes a solution to a problem.

    Kennedy-Donovan Center2014-07-11
Found 10 reviews