Kennedy Krieger Institute Reviews | Glassdoor

Kennedy Krieger Institute Reviews

Updated May 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 150 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
Brad Schlaggar, M.D,Ph.D
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits - most companies are only offering high-deductible health plans now, and the traditional plans offered here are really good(in 16 reviews)

  • "Generous tuition reimbursement program(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "No negotiation for the already low salary(in 7 reviews)

  • "low pay, no raises, lots of call-outs(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "KKI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Kennedy Krieger Institute full-time

      Pros

      Tuition Reimbursement Great Benefits Free Employee Parking

      Cons

      None to say the least

      Kennedy Krieger Institute2019-05-08
    • "Too intense, too little pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Clinical Assistant 

      I worked at Kennedy Krieger Institute full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Some of my coworkers were supportive and helped me improve, and the work there is really impressive when you can tell treatment is working for patients Theres definitely a lot of room for growth but if you start as a CA, you have to deal with a lot sh*t (literally, had to clean dirty underwear) before you can actually move up

      Cons

      When your patient is having a bad day, you're having a bad day... meaning you could be bit, punched, choked, lose hair, etc. On top of having to constantly look after your patient, you have almost no time during the day (other than break) to even have a sip of water or catch your breath. The scheduling is kind of ridiculous. You think it's 5 days per week and then they tell you that you have to sign up for 8 on...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      If you're going to underpay your hardest working employees, at least show them a little appreciation. When your employees are constantly getting injured, show a little concern once in a while. Take a hint when employees are leaving constantly.

      Kennedy Krieger Institute2019-04-22
    • "Positive and Friendly Working Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lab Manager in Baltimore, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Kennedy Krieger Institute part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Lab Director provided reasonable expectations, permitted me autonomy, and great support. Any issue I brought up was handled immediately.

      Cons

      There was very little room for growth. Worked for three years with no increase. When working in soft money (grant-funded) when your Lab Director leaves, you either have to move with the job or find another position.

      Advice to Management

      Provide at least a cost of living adjustment to pay and for research positions, when lab director leaves, consider recommending prior employees to applicant pool of new openings for which they may qualify.

      Kennedy Krieger Institute2019-03-23
    • "Great Job, Little Room to Grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Recreation Activities Staff in Baltimore, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Kennedy Krieger Institute full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great Coworkers, Good Pay considering the work.

      Cons

      Almost no hiring from within.

      Kennedy Krieger Institute2019-03-11
    • "There is potential..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Baltimore, MD
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Kennedy Krieger Institute full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule. New technologies to work with.

      Cons

      Communication to staff is lacking.

      Kennedy Krieger Institute2019-03-07
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Kennedy Krieger Institute full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Growth. Great environment. Good benefits and flexible

        Cons

        No cons to share at this time

        Kennedy Krieger Institute2019-02-23
      • "Clinical research associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Clinical Research Associate 

        I worked at Kennedy Krieger Institute full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        The facility was nice and clean.

        Cons

        The hours and the staff weren’t that great

        Kennedy Krieger Institute2019-03-08
      • Helpful (1)

        "Program Aide"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Kennedy Krieger Institute full-time

        Pros

        Tuition Reimbursement and good benefits

        Cons

        I dont have too much bad things to say

        Kennedy Krieger Institute2019-01-10
      • "Care Center Specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Kennedy Krieger Institute full-time

        Pros

        Making a difference in how children with disabilities perceive the world.

        Cons

        Medical benefits aren’t the greatest.

        Kennedy Krieger Institute2019-01-06
      • "Loved my environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Kennedy Krieger Institute full-time

        Pros

        Loved the children and families I got to work with

        Cons

        Pay wasn’t desirable for the amount of work

        Kennedy Krieger Institute2018-12-11
      Found 150 reviews