Kent County Council Reviews | Glassdoor

Kent County Council Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Kent County Council CEO Paul Carter
Paul Carter
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Not many really - the Local Government Pension Scheme is all I can think of(in 7 reviews)

  • "Consideration given to worklife balance with variety of flexible working arrangements (workload could affect the reality of this though)(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are great support teams in KCC that really support us to do our jobs(in 4 reviews)

  • "Dead mans shoes not much room for career progression(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Flexible but lacking options and slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GIS Developer and Solutions Consultant in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kent County Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment to work, flexible attitudes in some departments and managed on outcomes not micro managed

    Cons

    Slow to change and not much in the way of progression especially if you are in a unique role that doesn’t necessarily fit the directorate that you are in even though the work you do is critical to any form of innovation as well as day to day workings

    Advice to Management

    Create a solutions / innovation team within each directorate that is on the ground and not within IT to be approachable and accessible to end users for on the fly advice and answers. Especially in GT HTW with a focus on GIS & field / mobile capability

    Kent County Council2019-08-23
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kent County Council part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits if you're not used to being treated well in a job

    Cons

    The bureaucracy of the company is a strain, a lot of unnecessary stress is put on the staff

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people who work on the front line

    Kent County Council2019-07-21
  3. "Brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker in Whitstable, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kent County Council full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything! Growth and development commitment

    Cons

    None at all, love it.

    Kent County Council2019-07-19
  4. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kent County Council full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Place to work, lots of flexibility

    Cons

    Very poor progression, pay is low

    Kent County Council2019-06-04
  5. "High Turnover Of Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Maidstone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kent County Council full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You can make life long friends there.

    Cons

    Everything is monitored down to toilet breaks. Can be difficult to switch off after a hectic day.

    Advice to Management

    People are not robots. This is probably why this particular position has such a huge turnover of staff, usually young people looking for a stop gap. Services are likely to suffer as more as a business need to the subcontractor, rather than service to our members of the public and our professionals.

    Kent County Council2019-07-03
  6. "Cantium - I was looking for another job within a week..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maidstone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kent County Council full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I want this review to be honest. This isn't an anonymous opportunity to put the company down and I'm sure other employees in other teams would feel differently. However, I can say for certain that I can't think of any "pros" to working for Cantium Business Solutions. At a touch, I'd suggest that the free parking in Kings Hill is a "pro" - as long as you get to the office early enough to secure one of the limited...

    Show More

    Cons

    I had an instant "allergic reaction" when working for Cantium - in fact, I found myself seeking another job less than a week after starting. *Location* Location is important when considering job opportunities. The choice for Cantium to suddenly change the office location from Maidstone (which was advertised during the recruitment process) to Kings Hill was frustrating after a few weeks of working for the company....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be in the office more. Listen to criticism and act on it. Actually inspire your teams to want to do things. Lose the dead wood. The CEO has the experience and proof of success for someone in their position - the same can be said for the Senior Management. However below them needs some attention.

    Kent County Council2019-06-19
  7. "Various"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kent County Council full-time

    Pros

    Flexible local interesting good location

    Cons

    Restructures galore. Each sextion is like a different company - some ar bad

    Kent County Council2019-05-07
  8. "work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kent County Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    very positive and good workload

    Cons

    I have nothing that comes to mind on the cons

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Kent County Council2019-04-14
  9. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kent County Council full-time

    Pros

    Experience learnt were good for future roles

    Cons

    Workload piling up too quickly

    Kent County Council2019-03-07
  10. "Stressful Job and Not Supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kent County Council full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There were a few good things about working for KCC: Salary was reasonable Most of the customers were friendly and polite Local to where I lived

    Cons

    Unfortunately I felt unwelcome from day 1 of my employment with KCC, it felt as though I was an outsider and was treated as such from the beginning. There's widespread bullying throughout the organisation including age and disability discrimination, when you report it to your manager, they do nothing about it because they are friends with the person responsible. It is not about what you know working for KCC, rather it...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To listen to colleagues concerns and act upon them immediately. Encourage friendships but do not allow them to influence decisions which affect colleagues, brown nosing should be discouraged. Respect your staff and recognise the work and effort that they put in.

    Kent County Council2019-02-20
Found 65 reviews