Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
John Sparrow
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The google of Kentucky"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits Amazing management New mother room On-site cafeteria New state office

    Cons

    The work can be slow sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on working parents: paid maternity/paternity leave, flexible work schedules, on-site or option for cost sharing of childcare

    Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance2019-03-22
  2. "Great Place to Work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Claims Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    family feel, timely raises, specified training

    Cons

    not many females in executive positions

    Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance2019-05-16
  3. "Take good with the bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good folks to work with

    Cons

    Volume is unbearable and support lacks

    Advice to Management

    Stand up for your employees

    Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance2019-05-21
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Op Student in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fair, room for growth, networking, friendly

    Cons

    Sitting, desk job, fast paced

    Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance2019-02-26
  5. "Claim rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great health insurance benefits

    Cons

    No paid time off

    Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance2018-12-02
  6. "Awesome place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Good people and nice work hours

    Cons

    Lower salary but great benefits

    Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance2018-09-11
  7. "Property adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance

      Pros

      Great work environment in office

      Cons

      Not enough pay for cat pay

      Advice to Management

      Raise cat pay to be competitive with other carriers

      Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance2018-09-11
    • "Small company with bad I.T. management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Data Architect in Louisville, KY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Nice office, campus Decent benefits On-site subsidized cafeteria

      Cons

      Low salary relative to overall I.T. market No opportunities for advancement Lack of scheduling/vacation flexibility Easy to get blacklisted in a small, nepotistic company Lots of finger pointing because of lack of management Management is very fickle and indecisive

      Advice to Management

      The company needs to go out of business and be replaced by companies that know how to manage I.T.

      Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance2018-09-22
    • "Bad management makes bad I.T."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance full-time

      Pros

      -Excellent work location/commute. - Excellent co-workers outside of the I.T. department. - Good overall non-salary benefits

      Cons

      - Low pay - Lack of work schedule/vacation flexibility - Upper management holds I.T. in contempt - I.T. management has a very difficult time managing personnel and workloads.

      Advice to Management

      KFB upper management stated that the I.T. staff were overpaid and underutilized. When a CEO comes out with statements like that and highly skilled professionals begin leaving it's time for the CEO and his underlings to go and for the company to realign itself to be functional again.

      Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance2018-09-09
    • "I.T. Growing Pains in a Small Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Programmer Analyst in Louisville, KY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      -Stable job environment -Some flexibility with regards to technological innovation

      Cons

      -Low I.T. pay scale compared to other companies -High workload -More office politics than you would expect from a small company -Some Lack of flexibility with regards to work schedule/office hours -Lack of upward mobility/promotion opportunity -Corporate I.T. management doesn't have a firm grasp of how to organize for modern software development -Easy to become blacklisted and lose the cooperation...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      The IT department needs to bring in well-paid, qualified project managers to organize and execute all future development efforts. They should bring in a qualified systems architect from a large software company to envision their future systems state and provide a roadmap to implement it, their current software state seems to be a mishmash of different technologies that has to be constantly and vigilantly maintained.

      Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance2018-07-04
    Found 41 reviews