Kerbey Lane Café Reviews | Glassdoor

Kerbey Lane Café Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Kerbey Lane Café CEO David Ayer (no image)
David Ayer
22 Ratings
  1. "Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at Kerbey Lane Café full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun wait staff, great food, good work atmosphere

    Cons

    Working overnight since they are 24/7

    Kerbey Lane Café2019-03-28
  2. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kerbey Lane Café full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of my co workers were cool

    Cons

    Longer shifts than normal restaurants, money isn’t good (average $500 for a 45 hour work week), when I put in my two weeks they let me drive all the way into work (30 minute drive) to let me know they weren’t going to let me complete my two weeks, management plays favorites and talks negative about employees, don’t care about sexual harassment

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to manage

    Kerbey Lane Café2019-09-14
  3. "I really liked working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Kerbey Lane Café

    Pros

    Customer service. They are so kind. The management is amazing and all the other staff is awesome.

    Cons

    Not enough staff so time off is very hard to get.

    Kerbey Lane Café2019-06-14
  4. "Could be better, could be worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kerbey Lane Café full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    excellent coworkers easy to learn health insurance benefits for part time and full time employees volunteer opportunities relaxed

    Cons

    long, exhausting shifts. no breaks. low tickets, low tips on average. lots of picky customers management cares selectively, corporate could not care less. inconsistency with values and actions frequently understaffed, unprepared

    Advice to Management

    care for your employees health! don't keep people on for 8+ hours in an emotionally and physically exhausting job. it burns us out. well being is more important than any job and shouldn't have to be compromised regularly. show you care

    Kerbey Lane Café2019-05-28
  5. "Working at Kerbey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kerbey Lane Café full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good Locations -Easy to learn -Free meals

    Cons

    -Poor Management -Long Hours/Standing time -No breaks -Low Pay

    Advice to Management

    On busy nights, put more hostesses on so some of us can have a break. Also, keep your personal life at home.

    Kerbey Lane Café2019-03-13
  6. "Not the worst entry serving gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kerbey Lane Café part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to get serving experience for those without it.

    Cons

    Depending on location, money and clientele can be pretty sub par. The graveyard shifts often involve waiting on drunken frat bros and sorority girls only to be stiffed on the tip.

    Kerbey Lane Café2019-03-01
  7. "It was fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Kerbey Lane Café

    Pros

    Cool people, unique environment, easy to get a job

    Cons

    8 hours with no food

    Kerbey Lane Café2018-10-15
  8. "Losing Its Magik"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kerbey Lane Café full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is an allure to Kerbey Lane that is waning, but not yet gone. This restaurant remains a decent step above most local Austin chains when it comes to opportunities for growth, money to be made, and general employee satisfaction, but what will keep you there are the friendships you’ll make if you stick with it past the vetting period. On top of that, they can be pretty flexible since they usually have a good... sized staff. The company is very active in the community as well, so it’s a nice chain to work for overall.

    Show More

    Cons

    The hours are long, and you are at the mercy of your managers. Small disagreements with management can cost you your job. Advancement is a glorified popularity contest, and new managers/shift-leads will be worked to the bone while older/upper managers can seemingly make and follow their own set of rules. Corporate spends its vasts amount of money on anything but things the restaurant actually needs (repeatedly).... Unless you make friends with the store leaders, be ready to pick up the slack for the people that have; as their favorites can roam the restaurant with irrefutable immunity from basically anything.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to ideas that don’t coincide with your own without retaliation. Value hard working employees (and show it!). And most importantly, lead by example! Also, stop trying to be Snooze.

    Kerbey Lane Café2018-09-13
  9. "I don’t miss it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Server in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kerbey Lane Café full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They hired some really great people so my coworkers were amazing.

    Cons

    They literally wouldn’t allow you to eat during your 8 hour shifts. They tried to make some rule where you couldn’t bring snacks either it was rediculous. I was starving all the time and it effected my overall ability to do my job. It was a stressful and physically exhausting environment. I won’t even eat there anymore.

    Advice to Management

    Realize your servers are human beings with needs and shouldn’t be treated like work mules.

    Kerbey Lane Café2018-08-06
  10. "Decent Serving Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kerbey Lane Café full-time

    Pros

    - Good discounted food - Opportunity to make lots of tip $ - Flexible work schedule (easy to trade shifts)

    Cons

    - Long hours - Management consistency varies

    Kerbey Lane Café2018-06-21
Found 44 reviews