Cover image for Valley Strong Credit Union
Logo

Valley Strong Credit Union

Engaged Employer

Valley Strong Credit Union

Add a Review

Valley Strong Credit Union Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 54 of over 55 reviews
4.4
85% Recommend to a Friend
Valley Strong Credit Union President/CEO Nicholas Ambrosini
88% Approve of CEO

Found 54 of over 55 reviews

4.4
85%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Valley Strong Credit Union President/CEO Nicholas Ambrosini
Nicholas Ambrosini
25 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

2m

a 

Commercial Customer Service Representative

What’s the best way to have a lack of compensation and incentive conversation in your department? I went above and beyond for years doing extra work, organizations etc and nothing has been reflected in pay. I thought my 5 year was going to finally show something but it did not. I’ve inquired about pay but it’s gotten nowhere.

39

12 Comments

Finance

140.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Valley Strong Credit Union~436760
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Valley Strong Credit Union? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Valley Strong Credit Union employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good benefits / 401k(in 8 reviews)
  • "The people I worked with are amazing and want you to grow within the company.(in 4 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Many Great Opportunities to Progress Through Your Career

    Oct 4, 2022 - Centralized Operations Servicing Specialist I in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - You can work your way up with or without experience. - The company really does care for both the members and Team Members. - Great Benefits for Full-time positions. - Good Pay to start either part time or full time. - Can transfer to any of the branches.

    Cons

    - Depending on your methods of learning, you don't learn everything during training. You learn along the way.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to Work at!

    Jan 5, 2023 - Senior Msr 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly staff, flexible with schedule, great benefits

    Cons

    Pay could be more and their's lack of training

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Valley Strong Credit Union team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Fix it before it breaks

    Jan 1, 2023 - Undisclosed for Privacy 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company loves their employees, designing programs to illustrate this across all levels. People with sustained tenure genuinely care for each other. Company compensates people very well. Not only do they care for the team, they care for members too.

    Cons

    Enterprise-wide modifications (overall performance program, dei and erg) are causing shifts that should be addressed earlier to avoid negatively affecting the enterprise.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Not as great as they appear

    Nov 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits Good salary Good members to work with

    Cons

    High turnover/Low staffing Strict attendance not great for parents Micromanagement Poor training Senior team doesn’t address needs as expressed by staff

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Sep 16, 2022 - Contact Center Officer in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, friendly and fun place to work

    Cons

    I have no cons here

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great coworkers and benefits

    Aug 19, 2022 - FSO II in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits were great, co workers were nice, business casual attire accepted. Jeans on Fridays and Saturdays. Christmas bonus, small, but at least it was something.

    Cons

    As an FSO you have to work Saturdays. Depending on the office you may have to work at a different branch from your home branch on weekends. When an employee in your department leaves they tend not to replace them, but rather disburse more work amongst those remaining. Not enough coverage when someone is out of office for vacation or sick. I had multiple times where I had to run the whole lending side as the only FSO the entire day and had to take lunch at 2pm or later when someone could come from another branch to cover my 1hr lunch.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good Work Life Balance Poor Management

    Sep 2, 2022 - IT Support in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance and people are friendly.

    Cons

    Poor management and the IT department lack skills in todays technological space.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    An excellent place to work

    Jun 14, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Valley Strong is an incredible place to work. I have never felt more valued and supported in my employment and progression. Leaders have always been approachable and friendly. I'm proud to work here!

    Cons

    I honestly have no cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Core Values

    Jun 13, 2022 - Branch Service Officer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company truly cares about its teams and members, and embraces its core values/roots.

    Cons

    Depending on the position, pay can be on the lower side and sometimes difficult to negotiate. However, there are plenty of opportunities for promotions and bonuses.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Place to Work

    May 31, 2022 - Organizational Development Officer in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you're looking for a company that knows how to treat it's employees fairly and provides opportunities for those that are seeking them then come work for Valley Strong

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 54 Reviews
</>Embed

Valley Strong Credit Union Reviews FAQs

Valley Strong Credit Union has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5, based on over 55 reviews left anonymously by employees. 85% of employees would recommend working at Valley Strong Credit Union to a friend and 87% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -7% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Valley Strong Credit Union employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Valley Strong Credit Union. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

85% of Valley Strong Credit Union employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Valley Strong Credit Union 4.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.3 for culture and values and 4.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Valley Strong Credit Union to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Valley Strong Credit Union Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Valley Strong Credit Union? Share Your Experiences

Valley Strong Credit Union logo

Valley Strong Credit Union

or

Reviews by Job Title

Valley Strong Credit Union Photos

+ Add Photo
Valley Strong Credit Union photo of: A piece of the puzzle - Our teams like to have fun and destress through the act of team puzzle building.
Valley Strong Credit Union photo of: We love giving back to the communities that we serve.
Valley Strong Credit Union photo of: We are honored to have been named Community Partner of the Year by the Greater Bakersfield Chamber Awards
Valley Strong Credit Union photo of: Our COO 'embracing the fun' at our ribbon cutting ceremony
Valley Strong Credit Union photo of: Porterville Ribbon Cutting
Valley Strong Credit Union photo of: National Wear Red Day 2022
Valley Strong Credit Union photo of: Our Team supports local Chamber of Commerce Young Leading Professionals Mixers and Events
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Valley Strong Credit Union Job Seekers Also Viewed

AltaOne Federal Credit Union Logo
AltaOne Federal Credit Union

3.9

43 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 55 Valley Strong Credit Union reviews submitted anonymously by Valley Strong Credit Union employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Valley Strong Credit Union is right for you.