Kespry Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Kespry CEO and Chairman George Mathew (no image)
George Mathew
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Extremely smart people doing amazing things -- no egos(in 8 reviews)

  • "We are also one of the only drone companies in the U(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Uncertainty in some market segments given that drones are still an emerging technology(in 4 reviews)

  • "A) Concerns due to growing pains(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kespry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Engineering culture is really supportive, there's a nice balance between getting stuff done quickly and done right. Good amount of collaboration - people are always available to talk over technical details but are happy to let you do your own thing. Interesting problems to work on

    Cons

    The office is a bit old, and we're moving soon there's a bit of uncertainty.

    Continue reading
    Kespry2020-02-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Innovative company with a lot of talented people where you can make a difference"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kespry full-time

    Pros

    Strong approachable Leadership Team, Employee opinions matter and are listened to, exciting product and field to be in, work atmosphere where all employees can see there contributions to the business, room for career growth within the company, catered lunches, very competitive compensation, great vision/path for the future

    Cons

    Can be difficult at time to track down informational resources. Having one spot where employees can access forms, equipment information, job aids, etc would be helpful.

    Continue reading
    Kespry2020-01-30
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Dying company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kespry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance, lunch, some nice people

    Cons

    Poor product and poor vision and execution for the future, incompetent management

    Kespry2019-12-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "I love working here. Lots of changes for the better!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kespry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing, passionate people. Senior leadership team dedicated to the employees and the mission Free lunches, happy hours Employee input is taken seriously Work/life balance New, exciting direction

    Cons

    The space needs an update Refinement of cross-team processes and prioritization can help Nov 2018 layoff & management restructure have caused bad sentiments in great passionate ex-employees which still seep on Glassdoor - but do not portray the current status of the company.

    Continue reading
    Kespry2019-09-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "I love coming into work every day"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kespry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people at Kespry are fun, smart, and generally amazing to be around. The technology is cutting edge, leadership is transparent, and the growth potential is huge. Lunch is catered daily. Your opinion is valued. You are treated like a human being, not a number. I've never had so much flexibility with a schedule before.

    Cons

    The company is still fairly small and while the location is perfect, the office itself could use a bit of work but it's always fun to come in to work.

    Kespry2019-09-23
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Heart & Soul - The Mission & The Clientele"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kespry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bright people, some of whom remain, some of which do not.

    Cons

    I think it is worth noting that this review comes from the heart, from one of your employees who felt alive by, thrived from, and lived within your mission statement. I bled Kespry from the soul the first day I started and still do to this moment from afar. I loved this company. In fact, I’ve never loved a company as much as I did in the many years beforehand. I put my social life, my health, my wellbeing aside, because I was so passionate about what we pursued. Perhaps that was a mistake; perhaps, it was not a mistake. We’ll never know, but I’m rooting for you still, beyond the many intricate facets of our relationship. Perhaps you know who I am; I put my heart and soul into Our Pursuit. My message needs to be heard, and you should be respectful of that. You should know that I felt let down, and still do to this day, like others whom have left. I bled Kespry colors. Take a look at your two most recent customer spotlights and tell me that wasn’t the case. Do I miss it? Everyday. Do I miss you? Everyday. But your downturn in company culture took a toll on us all. It impacted everybody, including your best and brightest from the bottom to the top. I don’t want you to respond to this with some obscure HR reply. I simply want you to know how much I care [and cared]. Here’s where things get bumpy. The Board brings in a new gang to run the show. I have nothing against that, but the downward impact on individual wellbeing was and is evident in many ways. WE WERE SUCH A GOOD TEAM. We had (have) so much to offer the world. You still do, but there was too much turbulence. Look at the turnover, look at the “old boys club” that was brought in, some of which has stayed, and some of which has raised a white flag and left, simply because they weren’t the right fit. It’s too bad that politics trumped spirit. Look at who’s been promoted and who hasn’t. Look at who’s left and who hasn’t. I think that’s a no-brainer internally. It’s your shining moment to see if you can turn the clock to make right what was initially right. Enough with this Silicon Valley mindset. Focus on what matters the most – become a miner, make little rocks out of big rocks, harp on the customer experience in post-catastrophe insurance scenarios. This is where you belong and where you will thrive. I’m glad to see you’ve made strides recently in the right direction; however, I know going through hoops of pompous mindsets on the best way to deliver the product clients desire is like navigating a show dog’s tunnels-and-hurdles racecourse. Time to change that. Look at why we’ve had no other choice, we all left because there was too much politicism or no pathway to promotion. It killed me to go. Your company turned into a political chessboard. I couldn’t take it anymore. My heart bled for your mission. It still does. Stop ushering in false Glassdoor reviews. Your most loyal folks want to see you win; I am still one of those. Put your pride aside and do the right thing for where you want to be long-term. Cast us internally as rejected loyalists; we still put our best foot forwards to help the company grow. At the very least, I discovered my love for UAVs from and side-by-side with you. I found some close relationships with your other faithful employees, which will last a lifetime. My closing statement is simple: learn where employees matter the most, cast aside your political differences, and know that there are folks who want to do the right thing to help you succeed, whether you believe it or not.

    Continue reading
    Kespry2019-05-14
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Interested in making an actual difference at a company? You'll find that here,"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kespry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    First off, I felt compelled to add in a review that is honest and straightforward. Recently there has been a concentrated effort by a sole group of people to drive down the company on Glassdoor and a lot of us that are doing quality work here at Kespry don't feel it reflects the actual company as a whole. 1. There are incredibly smart people that work here. Passionate about the aerial intelligence space, about where the company can scale and grow to in the coming years and people who just have a ton of great experience from previous companies. 2. We have amazing customers. My job requires me to be out in the field a lot and I get to hear first hand how Kespry is changing the lives and businesses of our customers from safety, cost and overall performance. 3. The company doesn't stay stagnant. Part of being a start up is assessing risk, making changes, adapting to those changes and continuing to grow and move forward. We're an industry leader for a reason, and that growth/always learning mentality is evident in most people in the company, and the management team. 4. Collaborative environment - people that work here are fun, great to hang out with, and partners when it comes to work in your own dept and cross functionally. 5. We get lunch everyday, have to throw that one in. 6. Doggie friendly office with some super cute pups.

    Cons

    The current pains Kespry has had, I believe, had to do with the market not being entirely ready to fully adopt drones in 2018. As with many start ups, they had to take a hard look at the company, at the market and assess what the best way forward was. This meant some downsizing and changes that are still underway. There are not a lot of women in management positions, though that seems to be shifting as of recent. Sometimes it seems as though parts of management aren't looking at the person involved with a decision, rather the process, and that can lead to things like promotions taking longer than needed. Lastly, obviously the culture needs a bit of help. Those of us here are working to try and improve that, but it does need some more love.

    Continue reading
    Kespry2019-04-19
  8. Helpful (4)

    "The Real Deal - Challenging, Startup, Major Growth Opportunities, Forefront Of Technology"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kespry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with brilliant minds. You can challenge yourself by facing a constant changing startup lifestyle - you won't sit still or be bored...You have the potential to grow your career as the company gains momentum. You get lunch served every day and get to enjoy really cool people around you. Your actually building product that helps people better improve their business and livelihood. We have a solid BOD and funding from companies that truly believe in our leadership direction. The leadership team makes hard strategic decisions that put Kespry in better positions for success.... Kespry offers very well built and truthful products that our customers Love. It's not in our nature or intention to oversell and underdeliver...its a pretty rare moral to have for the bay....

    Cons

    Likely commute since the office is located in Menlo Park. Industries we are working with are old school so we are subject to making frequent pivots to continue to grow in the right direction. There is some negative sentiment in the office because of startup related changes.

    Continue reading
    Kespry2019-04-19
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Meaningful work in a fast-paced, evolving environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kespry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is really one of the coolest places you can work. Drones? AI? ML? Changing how people across mining, aggregates, insurance, and construction work for the better? Making their lives easier, safer and more productive? It's what Kespry does and what each of us contributes to. This is a fast-paced, ever-evolving environment. We're challenged every day to deliver something new and push the company forward. The technologies and customer requirements are changing all the time and it's amazing to be a part of this place.

    Cons

    Like I said, Kespry is all about change. I've read some of the other reviews, and what's a "negative" to one person is actually a positive to others. There is nothing predictable about this place. If you want to come in to work and do the same thing every day, knowing exactly what your next six months is going to be about down to every precision detail, this is so not the place for you. Yeah, it's a startup. If you're not prepared to deal with that, you're probably better off at a giant, intergalactic bloatware company with cubicle sushi delivery, onsite massages by singing nuns and 15-person counseling teams there to console you every time things don't go your way. This is not that place. This is a place for people who want to use their brainpower and solve big problems.

    Continue reading
    Kespry2019-04-19
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Sinking ship. Recent positive reviews are likely fake. Run away."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kespry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Same perks as at the majority of startups in the Bay Area: - Free lunches - Interesting market space - There are some smart people you can learn from - Work-life balance

    Cons

    Some recent reviews (specifically those 3 posted on April 19) seem a complete fake; a desperate attempt to hide the reality from folks who may be considering opportunities at the company, or from the investors. This behavior tells a lot about what Kespry's culture is. Please read all the reviews which real employees posted earlier in 2018 and 2019. They show quite well what really is going on, - No vision - Poor execution - Layoffs - Company culture is based on immature behavior of a few early employees who are inexperienced and incompetent - Upper management lacks basic business and leadership skills - No HR - No growth opportunities - Poor cross-team communication Lots of great people left or got terminated over last few of years. The leadership changes have made things worse. Upper management fails (marketing, sales, engineering, product), but instead of admitting mistakes and fixing the core issues (leadership and culture), the company puts all the blame on subordinates. The leadership lost trust of their employees who are completely demotivated now.

    Continue reading
    Kespry2019-04-21
Found 55 reviews