Khoros Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Khoros CEO  Jack Blaha
Jack Blaha
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Love the awesome young cool team I work with and love the way we're taken care of with free lunch, massages, wellness reimbursement(in 25 reviews)

  • "SocialFirst company wide meetings to the catered lunches 4 days a week in the Austin office(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "As most should know by now, these "Best Workplace in Austin" rankings can't be taken seriously(in 22 reviews)

  • "No 401k matching, health benefits outside Texas are basic(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Rocky merger but great future ahead"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beautiful new office in NW Austin Good benefits Can work from home pretty frequently Culture is amazing in Engineering. People-wise, I feel very at home. Lots of mentors and role models to learn from in engineering

    Cons

    The merger wasn't executed all that well Attrition was pretty terrible, but has died down and I feel stable again

    Continue reading
    Khoros2020-01-25
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Best in Austin? Not even close."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Khoros is decently positioned in the market. There are still a number of smart and hard-working people at the organization despite high attrition. Great services and decent marketing teams.

    Cons

    As most should know by now, these "Best Workplace in Austin" rankings can't be taken seriously. They're filled out by employees, and people who are unhappy or are apathetic typically don't participate. Vista implemented all of their best practices--some good, some meaningless for the industry, and some destructive (like hiring a bunch of HPLE's, high potential / low experience)--and is clearly trying to flip the company in the coming years given their lack of investment in entire product categories. Sales: There's money to be made in the base on a select # of strategic accounts, but those are outliers. Success primarily comes from up-sells to large customers that simply don't feel like evaluating alternatives, or from prospects extremely unhappy with Sprinklr. Victory in head-head battles with Sprinklr are few and far between. I think less than 10 reps hit their number. Product: hasn't innovated in a year+ due to attrition / direction from Vista not to invest resources improving. 0 strategic direction. Leadership: The company has completely transformed since the Vista acquisition and has no soul. The new CEO is smart, but is merely a "tougher" corporate drone than the last guy, brought in to run Vista Equity's plays. Not the type of person you'd bring to a sales meeting to help close a deal. Sales leadership is collaborative and empathetic in pockets, and cold / fiercely disliked in others. Most importantly, they have 0 answers on reversing challenges with sales.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2020-03-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Enterprise Digital Development role"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO, great management, free lunches

    Cons

    The office is not as close to my house as I'd like

    Khoros2020-03-02
  4. "Great coworkers, awesome benefits"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Associate Strategist 

    I have been working at Khoros full-time

    Pros

    Love the awesome young cool team I work with and love the way we're taken care of with free lunch, massages, wellness reimbursement

    Cons

    The skills you learn in this job aren't easy to transfer. Organic social strategy isn't in high demand these days

    Khoros2020-02-27
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Very nice people with terrible leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Just about everyone working there is super nice and everyone seems to get along quite well. Nice offices well-stocked with food and drink, plus catered lunches 3 days a week.

    Cons

    Expect poor organization when entering any role above entry-level, including weeks of delays on getting you the systems access you need to do your job. Everyone around you is going to feel overworked, and asking for their help will likely come with long delays and inaccurate information. Sink or swim. If your management says they want to work with you to build a plan to fix some of those onboarding troubles, don't expect them to follow through. Company values are all talk. They express wanting to retain talent, even if that talent isn't in the best position at the moment, but there are no systems or practices in place to support that.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2020-01-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Talented folks, great benefits, a bit of instability in leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Talented folks who care about the business and each other. Great benefits now with 401K matching and every other usual thing.

    Cons

    Lots of recent change in C-level. A bit of whiplash in product strategy due to some floundering after the merger.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2019-12-11
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Washed up startup"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Enterprise level clients and interesting space -Free Snacks and catered lunches -Benefits package and perks are

    Cons

    The company was one of the most sought after places to work in town. It truly deserved to be on the Best Places Work list. The previous CEO prior to the merger had the entire staff aligned to the same mission and generated large crowds for monthly standups. The culture and talent were top notch. After the company was purchased by Vista Equity, the company lost its soul and most of the great talent bolted for greener pastures. Senior Management is filled with individuals with very little experience and poor leadership skills. Work life balance has suffered. They will squeeze every bit out of you and expect you to work in the evenings and weekends. Executive Leadership cares very little about the staff with no intention of acting on feedback collected through surveys. It is unfortunate some of the recent reviews look like they have been written by HR with the direction of marketing and do not look genuine in order to combat the declining ratings.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2019-12-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "We've turned the corner!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RVP Sales in Bend, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most innovative technology in the space. This industry is consolidating rapidly, and we are a consolidator. We have unstoppable momentum. It's true that many legacy workers did not have an appetite for fast-moving global domination through M&A. Current employees appreciate their past contributions, but we're ready to forge ahead. The new class of hires are true professionals ready to dominate. There are whispers of excitement in the Khoros hallways and confident "smirks" from new leadership and product. The competition should use every last breath they currently have to bad-speak Khoros. That window is closing.

    Cons

    The challenge of the merger was real, but we've turned that corner.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2019-11-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to develop a career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RVP Sales in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The leadership team is committed to the success of the business and more so the success of the individuals that are the business. There are endless opportunities to learn and stretch skills. I love the collaboration and team envinronment.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to share.

    Khoros2019-11-08
  10. "Great environment!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Coordinator in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Catered lunch, unlimited vacation -Fun and relax working environment -Collaborative and kind teams -Work/life balance is GREAT

    Cons

    -Career-pathing is pretty much determined by whose projects have access to Directors -Bad 401k matching -Managers are either great or horrible

    Continue reading
    Khoros2019-11-06
Found 202 reviews