Khoros Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Engineer

Khoros Software Engineer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Khoros CEO Pete Hess
Pete Hess
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The people are brilliant and great to work with, the leadership is also awesome. All around great company, my favorite place to work after a 15+ year career.

    Cons

    We used to get breakfast tacos all the time, now we only get breakfast tacos sometimes.

    Khoros2017-05-31
  2. "Culture of opaque decisionmaking and rule following"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office, same usual suspect perks as at any other tech company, catered lunch.

    Cons

    Poor leadership. Managers made managers due to technical expertise, not people management skills. Culture of shirking responsibility, finger pointing, and rule following. Not a place for innovative thinkers.

    Advice to Management

    Stop taking the easy way out.

    Khoros2019-05-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to start your career at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was able to work with a bunch of interesting technologies that help me land a nice next job. Spredfast is still a relatively small company. I had a lot of responsibility. I learned a lot more than many friends at some larger companies. Free lunch!

    Cons

    Low pay. Lots of projects getting killed and re-prioritized. Upper management has made a lot of questionable decisions. Working at a remote office was a bad experience.

    Khoros2017-03-13

    Khoros Response

    March 29, 2017Talent Specialist

    We keep abreast of our evolving industry by being strategic about our growth and mission. While this sometimes results in roadmap changes, it also provides continuous opportunities for employees to grow and succeed. We are glad that you learned much during your time at Spredfast, ...

    Show More
  4. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Free catered lunches 4 days a week, management that cares about your professional opinion

    Cons

    Sometimes it can get a little political

    Khoros2017-01-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Software Engineering in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of smart people at this company and they provide a fun atmosphere to work in. They provide lunches four days a week and breakfast one day a week. They provide a free exercise class 3 days a week which will transform you into a superhero if you attend regularly. They try to maintain the culture of a startup company as much as they can while the size of the business continues to grow. They value transparency...

    Show More

    Cons

    The onIy one I can think of is the work life balance not having a lot of weight on the life half of the balance. Although this does vary by team.

    Khoros2016-04-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Best engineering culture I have been a part of. I loved freesponsibility ( freedom / responsibility ) attitude the team develops.

    Cons

    It began to feel a lot more cooperate when we started growing.

    Khoros2016-04-06
  7. "Software Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros

    Pros

    The energy is viral. You are working in the hottest space in technology and there is always something happening. They acquired shoutlet during my time. Even as an intern you will be given a project which will be technically challenging and will directly add value to the business. Your mentors want you to succeed and will enable you as well but you got to do your part.

    Cons

    Its open office floor plan so your co-workers might distract you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Always value your employees like you do right now.

    Khoros2015-09-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people who always want to help, always surrounded by really powerful minds, awesome location in downtown Austin

    Cons

    Too easy to feed my coffee addiction here

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Khoros2014-12-18
Found 8 reviews