Khoros "catered lunches" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Khoros Employee Reviews about "catered lunches"

Updated Jan 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Khoros CEO  Jack Blaha
Jack Blaha
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "SocialFirst company wide meetings to the catered lunches 4 days a week in the Austin office(in 25 reviews)

  • "Good (but diminishing) perks like free lunch(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Conference rooms in Austin are almost always booked solid, so often we have to use open areas for meetings or calls which can get loud and distracting(in 21 reviews)

  • "Benefits are competitive but only lack is 401k matching(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "catered lunches"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Coordinator in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Catered lunch, unlimited vacation -Fun and relax working environment -Collaborative and kind teams -Work/life balance is GREAT

    Cons

    -Career-pathing is pretty much determined by whose projects have access to Directors -Bad 401k matching -Managers are either great or horrible

    Continue reading
    Khoros2019-11-06
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Very nice people with terrible leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Just about everyone working there is super nice and everyone seems to get along quite well. Nice offices well-stocked with food and drink, plus catered lunches 3 days a week.

    Cons

    Expect poor organization when entering any role above entry-level, including weeks of delays on getting you the systems access you need to do your job. Everyone around you is going to feel overworked, and asking for their help will likely come with long delays and inaccurate information. Sink or swim. If your management says they want to work with you to build a plan to fix some of those onboarding troubles, don't expect them to follow through. Company values are all talk. They express wanting to retain talent, even if that talent isn't in the best position at the moment, but there are no systems or practices in place to support that.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2020-01-04
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Washed up startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Enterprise level clients and interesting space -Free Snacks and catered lunches -Benefits package and perks are

    Cons

    The company was one of the most sought after places to work in town. It truly deserved to be on the Best Places Work list. The previous CEO prior to the merger had the entire staff aligned to the same mission and generated large crowds for monthly standups. The culture and talent were top notch. After the company was purchased by Vista Equity, the company lost its soul and most of the great talent bolted for greener pastures. Senior Management is filled with individuals with very little experience and poor leadership skills. Work life balance has suffered. They will squeeze every bit out of you and expect you to work in the evenings and weekends. Executive Leadership cares very little about the staff with no intention of acting on feedback collected through surveys. It is unfortunate some of the recent reviews look like they have been written by HR with the direction of marketing and do not look genuine in order to combat the declining ratings.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2019-12-12
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Great people and perks, but getting more corporate by the day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Coordinator in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart, awesome people to work with. Great flexibility and freedom— working from home, working remotely, and unlimited vacation. Management trusts you to get things done. Work life balance is wonderful. Free good catered lunch 4 days/week. Some creative and fun opportunities in the work itself. Work hard, and this team will reward you with praise and promotions.

    Cons

    This company recently went through a merger, and the culture has shifted rapidly under the new owners (Vista Equity Partners). Transparency is decreasing, perks are declining, and employee freedoms are slowly being curtailed.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2019-06-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Culture of opaque decisionmaking and rule following"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office, same usual suspect perks as at any other tech company, catered lunch.

    Cons

    Poor leadership. Managers made managers due to technical expertise, not people management skills. Culture of shirking responsibility, finger pointing, and rule following. Not a place for innovative thinkers.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2019-05-12
  6. "Great place to grow your career, and exciting industry to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time

    Pros

    - Open office space and flexible working environment (referencing Austin). It's great not to have to be tied to your desk all day, and the open seating areas have beautiful views! - There is opportunity for career growth IF you are proactive. Those who talk to their managers about career goals and proactively take on projects to meet these goals are often promoted within their teams, or are able to move to different departments. - One of the best office environments I've worked in. Vibrant, supportive, and filled with sharp people. - Catered lunches by whole foods Mon-Thurs and lots of snacks in the office. You never have to worry about planning lunch for work! Both a time and money saver. - Flexible PTO and lots of autonomy to go about your work.

    Cons

    - Conference room scheduling can be difficult - There could be better transparency and top down communication regarding company direction

    Continue reading
    Khoros2018-08-24

    Khoros Response

    August 27, 2018HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a positive time at Spredfast! You shared some wonderful thoughts on opportunities to continue improving as a company. We will definitely continue to push transparency, take time to evaluate internal processes before roll out, and focus on global office cohesion. Thank you again, and we wish you the best!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time

    Pros

    -Challenging industry that changes rapidly - always new things to learn -Fun work -Spredfast one of the top players and had a distinct philosophy on how to win -Catered lunch (extremely good food) -Great location in downtown ATX -SXSW private party one of the best at interactive -Industry consolidation will likely favor a firm like Spredfast

    Cons

    -Training was not well-organized -Was getting more political by the time I left as company grew -Culturally, can be some immaturity at times, particularly in lower and mid-levels

    Khoros2018-03-05

    Khoros Response

    March 26, 2018Talent Specialist

    We believe a professional work environment and structured training programs are critical to employee career growth and company success. While we have programs and policies in place to foster these, both current and former employees are welcome to reach out to the HR team with any feedback or concerns. We hope your listed pros provided you an overall positive experience at Spredfast. Thank you for your hard work and all the best in your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work in Austin, but needs improvements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time

    Pros

    Besides the obvious (catered lunch, downtown austin office, unlimited snacks and vacation)... • Elite clients like the NFL, Pepsi, GM actually use the product and have legitimized it. The product, although nowhere near perfect, is a fantastic tool with visionaries behind it. It's an exciting product to work on, with a lot of potential. This makes Spredfast one of the more exciting Austin startups to work at. • Work/Life balance is achievable, depending on the team. • Supportive culture - people are very friendly and open minded. Lots of well-educated and talented people. Managers that care and want to see you succeed. • Pay is competitive/comfortable for Austin.

    Cons

    • Too many clueless people in positions of power, who don't always put the company's best interests in place of their own. The cluelessness puts immense pressure on their teams because it's a constant cat-and-mouse game. Team strategies are never clear and concrete, which can be frustrating after you've been here a year. This culture is not data-centric, leaving people with freedom to do whatever they want with little accountability for what it means to the business. • Leaders are reactive; lack of foresight • Lack of transparency i.e. when colleagues were promoted, there was sensitivity on making it public. Perhaps if we had actual goals that we were accountable for, and there were less politics, then maybe announcing promotions wouldn't be perceived as arbitrary. • No manager training. At the minimum, we should train managers on what the core values mean in management to create a consistent experience across teams. • Many of the recent (and highly positive) reviews have come from employees that are brand new to the company, FYI.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2018-01-30

    Khoros Response

    March 12, 2018Talent Specialist

    We appreciate you taking time to write this review! We do have great visionaries behind our product, and Spredfast leaders work hard on strategies that aim to achieve our North Star. We recognize that our strategies shift, but hope our employees also recognize that this is expected when working in an ever changing industry like social media. We are happy you feel managers want to see their employees succeed. To ensure that our managers are truly equipped for this, we not only have manager training, but also have performance management training that we hold on a regular basis. With this said, should any employe feel that they are being inadequately managed, we ask that they notify their concerns to the HR Team. We welcome the opportunity to further discuss your advice. Feel free to reach out to the HR team if there is more you’d like to share!

    Continue reading
  9. "A unicorn of the Tech World: An actual well-rounded company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic Leadership that actually cares about their employees - Great culture flowing with positivity, collaboration, and a desire to set each other up for success - Leadership sets practical goals and takes ownership of their part in reaching those - Transparency is valued - Solid Product with a realistic roadmap - The perks (catered lunch Mon-Thurs, 24/7 access to parking garage, snacks, beer on tap, showers, easy access to lady Bird lake trail, etc.) - Plenty of opportunities to move up and around in the company

    Cons

    - Relatively slower evolution of Product Roadmap - Internal feedback channels for Product could be more formalized

    Continue reading
    Khoros2017-11-21

    Khoros Response

    March 12, 2018Talent Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to write this positive review! We appreciate your work and are happy to have you part of the team.

    Continue reading
  10. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time

    Pros

    -brilliant people -collaborative work environment -catered lunches -opportunity to work on different projects

    Cons

    -no apparent cons thus far

    Khoros2017-11-15

    Khoros Response

    March 12, 2018Talent Specialist

    We are happy to hear the positive feedback. Thank you for being a part of the Spredfast team!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 25 reviews