Khoros "free lunch" Reviews | Glassdoor

Khoros Employee Reviews about "free lunch"

Updated May 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Khoros CEO  Jack Blaha
Jack Blaha
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "SocialFirst company wide meetings to the catered lunches 4 days a week in the Austin office(in 25 reviews)

  • "Good (but diminishing) perks like free lunch(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Conference rooms in Austin are almost always booked solid, so often we have to use open areas for meetings or calls which can get loud and distracting(in 21 reviews)

  • "Benefits are competitive but only lack is 401k matching(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free lunch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Almost all good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros

    Pros

    Excellent office culture, Freedom to seek advancement, Independent work style, Great perks (free lunches, all expenses paid travel for work, decent benefits, etc.), Open communication style with direct supervisors (or at least with mine!) and most higher level managers.

    Cons

    I do wish they would match my 401K savings... I believe they're working towards that, though. Overall, not much negative feedback from me.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2016-11-05

    Khoros Response

    November 10, 2016Talent Specialist

    Thanks for your great feedback! Spredfast believes that consistent communication between managers and employees is critical to not only developing successful, unified teams, but contributing to our employees professional development. We echo your point to leadership, and encourage all levels across a function to develop such professional relationships. If employees are uncomfortable addressing a lack in this with their managers, they are welcome to reach out to the People Team. We are happy that thus far you have had a positive experience at Spredfast. Thanks for your hard work!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (15)

    "Smoke and mirrors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Downtown office with parking. - Some of the people who work there are creative, collaborative, and smart. - Amazing SXSW parties. - 100% covered health insurance. - Free lunch 4 days a week & snacks.

    Cons

    - The politics and gossip here are insane. In general, anyone in a management role is way more focused on managing up then they are helping grow and support the team they manage. - Middle management is a joke, personally speaking, my manager had no experience in leading (director level) and could care less about employee growth. I constantly asked for feedback and what I could do to get to the next level in my career and received no support or advice. I even took initiative and put together a growth plan for myself and walked him through it and it was pushed aside. - Prepare to be chained to your desk or given the side eye if you leave to work from home or work from a coffee shop. There was little to no trust in employees to work autonomously. - No growth opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2019-02-02
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Learned a lot but wouldn't dare to go back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    free lunch. parking downtown. SOME really cool, smart people to work with. relaxed work from home and "unlimited pto" are really nice. Getting to work for some of the biggest brands around is pretty awesome. Especially when you get to see your teams work in action on tv or a huge screen or whatever. I learned a lot in my time here, but mainly only because most managers were not capable of doing their jobs, so the team basically had to do everything on their own and then watch as the managers took credit for the hard work done.

    Cons

    There is absolutely no career growth unless you want to suck up and brown nose the people above you. This causes people who have no business or experience managing a team to suddenly become your manager or get some other awesome promotion that is not deserved. Workplace gossip is constant. If you speak up because you and others on your team are unhappy, they'll find a way to shut you up. Even before the merger, there was constant fear of lay offs and now it's only gotten worse. Everyone in management has their own agenda and they don't care what they have to do to achieve their goals. Lies, shady actions, strange meetings... My time at this company reminded me of a high school filled with drama, only it's more sad because these are adults who know better.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2018-11-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Social Media Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch. Generally cool people throughout the company. Fun atmosphere. Good work/life balance at the entry level.

    Cons

    Don't let unlimited La Croix and meals Monday through Thursday pacify you, or outweigh the workplace politics. This team is full of drama which stems from leadership, and I would not advise working with them.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2018-08-20

    Khoros Response

    August 20, 2018HR

    Thank you for providing the feedback! I agree that we have a great environment with wonderful people. It's disappointing to hear your feedback as a former employee. We encourage employees to connect with the HR team or submit anonymous feedback through Workify on any feedback so we can resolve issues in the moment. We work hard to create a consistent workplace culture across all departments, and we will continue to prioritize that. We wish you the very best in your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Great people, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing customers and projects. Driven, smart and fun employees. Good (but diminishing) perks like free lunch.

    Cons

    Every manager I've had (and I've had quite a few due to constant team change) was promoted due to being a high performer, not for having management skills. This led to having some really bad experiences with management. Across my team, people had chronic issues getting helpful feedback, training, raises or promotions. Furthermore, when issues arose and were escalated pretty high up the chain, there was a severe lack of support (a lot of talk, very little action), along with some gaslighting. HR solicits regular, anonymous feedback, and I genuinely believe they are invested in improving the situation. Unfortunately, at least in my experience, this has yet to be solved.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2018-04-30

    Khoros Response

    May 14, 2018Talent Specialist

    It’s awesome to see you’ve been working here for over three years! Thanks for your commitment, and for taking time to provide feedback. Managers are carefully selected, and we are working hard to ensure all managers take manager and performance management training to ensure they are well equipped to lead their teams. Employee career growth is important to Spredfast, and we’ve worked directly with managers to develop career pathing for all departments. While HR does solicit anonymous feedback, employees that feel they are not getting proper management are encouraged to reach out directly to the HR team. Employees that are not comfortable connecting directly with the HR team are encouraged to submit anonymous feedback via Workify, a platform that our HR team reviews and acts upon regularly.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a company that provides a lot of opportunity for individuals that are willing to work hard, push themselves and take on new challenges. There is always an opportunity to grow and learn something new everyday. If you're bored here, you're doing it wrong. I feel fortunate to work with a group of people that are talented, respectful and motivated. It's a very collaborative environment and teams are trusted to make their own decisions. In my department there are no issues with micromanagement and autonomy is the norm. The only constant about Spredfast is change - this isn't a place for those who are unwilling to adapt quickly. Competitive salary, free lunch from Whole Foods and downtown location.

    Cons

    Lack of 401k matching. Inconsistency in quality of managers across different departments. Some managers are incredibly motivated and invested in their teams, while others seem to have zero interest in their team's career development and provide more distraction than direction.

    Continue reading
    Khoros2017-08-11
  7. Helpful (5)

    "True #TransOpency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Khoros full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people - Fun Atmosphere - Free Lunch - Exciting Industry

    Cons

    Extreme Office Politics - No career roadmaps - 401k - compensation & comissions inconsistency - my way or the highway leadership - poor management habits

    Continue reading
    Khoros2017-06-21
  8. Helpful (8)

    "It's a mighty song and dance with very little authenticity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros

    Pros

    Some truly amazing people with great hearts and vision. It's unfortunately not those in leadership so it's deeply challenging to make an impact. Free lunches are quite compelling and served by some of the nicest people. This was the biggest perk.

    Cons

    Persistent reassignment of customer accounts across Sales created a constant challenge in supporting customers successfully and building alignment with the account team. Introducing new sales people every three to four months is a terrible way to build trust and consistency. Sales never knew who was going to own an account and struggled to prioritize their attention. The product is erratic. Promises are not delivered upon and the account team struggles to keep customers invested. New features are pitched to customers as available for additional cost until no one wants to buy them and then they are "included". Overall the culture is a ruse. There is a lot of elitism. Huge clients are all that matter. It's a cool or die club. Hyper-competitive but only if you can win something. Not just to be great at what you do. A trophy culture that would say anything to get where they want to be and rarely delivered. Glad to leave it behind.

    Khoros2017-05-31
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Wonderful Product, Sloppy Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time

    Pros

    Free Lunch, Monday-Thursday Free Coffee, Snacks and Drinks Mostly amazing people (some bad apples) Reimbursement if you take the train Opportunities for Growth Ability to Work from Home Unlimited Vacation

    Cons

    Favoritism amongst the company (for certain employees) Location (might not be a con to everyone) Work/Life Balance (there isn't much) Untrained Management & Communication across Management teams Price of Parking in the garage (Company pays some, but it is still expensive) Health Care Prices Morale amongst the company/lack of care for their company Maternity/Paternity Leave based off of seniority

    Continue reading
    Khoros2017-05-25

    Khoros Response

    June 5, 2017Talent Specialist

    Thanks for calling out these pros! We hope that these perks and opportunities for career growth are evidence that we value our employees and the work they do. Spredfast recognizes that there is always room for improvement, and we have recently revamped our manager training course to be rolled out across the company. With this said, should any employe feel that they are being inadequately managed, we ask that they notify their concerns to the People Team. While we appreciate your feedback, regarding your cons, we take benefits very seriously and want to ensure that employees are correctly informed. Spredfast employees are encouraged to connect with our HR Manager to discuss any questions concerning our health care benefits and parental leave policy.

    Continue reading
  10. "Cool place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Khoros full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, cool work environment and location, free lunch/snacks, flexible vacation

    Cons

    Opportunities for advancement came from turnover more than it did from company growth, shooting for the stars but still operating with neighborhood attitude

    Khoros2017-05-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews