Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia Specialist Reviews

Updated Mar 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Hyun-Jong Shin
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Specialist (Engineer)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in West Point, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    (Everyone is a specialist at Kia fyi) I'm a development engineer more specifically. Honestly the best benefits of any company of anyone I know. Medical is cheap. You can get up to 20% off Kia's depending on the time of year. An easy drive from Auburn / Opelika. Good pay. HUGE bonuses compared to what my friends in other recent grads are getting. Great company culture. Being eligible for overtime even on salary is awesome....

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a big place so you'll never know everyone. Sometimes Koreans will be your boss (but they always have an american counterpart)

    Advice to Management

    The onboarding process is tedious.

    Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia2016-08-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits, not so great management skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall great company, good pay, excellent benefits, and cheapest insurance (good insurance) premiums in the state. Plenty of holidays and paid time off throughout the year.

    Cons

    Too much change going on with team members leaving, hiring freeze, and management lacking the ability to focus on REAL issues with production and instead more worried about manipulating internal data to make the Korean/CEO happy. Always a problem. Makes you feel like you’re doing excessive redundant work just to please management and not actually focusing on the problem. With so many people continuing to leave for better...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Korean management should work to improve American management and work to blend the cultures better like Honda and mainly Toyota has done so well with.

    Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia2019-03-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in West Point, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    KMMG is an awesome place to work. Great team, lots of career opportunities, extremely good benefits, etc. I have been at Kia for 7 years and have truly enjoyed working here.

    Cons

    Initially, I had a hard time adjusting to the Korean culture. However, I now enjoy learning about the Korean culture and have been given the opportunity to work on diverse teams.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia2016-07-14
  4. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Specialist in West Point, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great benefits, excellent co-workers, and clean/new work environment

      Cons

      Location is out in the middle of nowhere

      Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia2016-05-31
    • "Very nice place to work. Comfortable and easy to work with management."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Specialist in West Point, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia

      Pros

      Reasonable tasks set and very flexible environment

      Cons

      Less engineering related than what I wanted from employment.

      Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia2015-04-02
    • Helpful (4)

      "Great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Specialist in Lagrange, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Pay is great especially for the area. Management is easy going and is fairly hands off considering it is a manufacturing facility. No one in the plant makes less than $50,000/yr. and benefits are comparable or better than many companies in Georgia or surrounding states. OEMs standardly let employees off for a week at Christmas so that's a HUGE plus.

      Cons

      Rotating shifts every 4 weeks is tough but on the positive side you can get a lot of personal business handled without using PTO. This place is nowhere near civilization so expect to drive 40+ mins to work. Valley, Alabama is a joke and LaGrange is a crime infested slum. Civil residency can be found in Auburn, Al or Newnan, GA.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work and proceed cautiously with new hires. I understand it is hard to find talent

      Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia2015-03-20
    • "Great People, Not-so-great Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Production Control Specialist in West Point, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia for less than a year

      Pros

      Pay is competitive People are honest, hard working and friendly I was put in a position of trust and immediate impact "Team" is the key there. They often took us to lunch, organized kickball and soccer games or other activities to help relieve stress. Benefits (free clinic for employees) are pretty great.

      Cons

      Culture is bland and hierarchical in nature, due to being Korean-oriented. Work schedule is tough and time off is hard to get unless your manager is friendly. Stress can be almost unbearable at times.

      Advice to Management

      Put some more color into the workplace. Everything is gray.

      Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia2015-02-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Reliant on exploitation of low-cost workers, lax labor laws"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Quality Specialist in West Point, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good opportunity for some of those in surrounding, impoverished community

      Cons

      High turnover in professional (engineering) positions and dilution of competence in technical and management positions. Integrity, professionalism, ethics not valued. Long hours and mandatory overtime. Very little cohesion between Korean and US management, leading to inconsistant decision making, and repetition of problems

      Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia2013-08-01
    • "Good Hours; Paid every week; Family type atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Welding Specialist in
      Recommends

      I have been working at Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia

      Pros

      Good Hours; Paid every week; Family type atmosphere

      Cons

      Room for advandcement takes time

      Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia2012-01-18
    Found 9 reviews