Kiehl's Reviews | Glassdoor

Kiehl's Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 236 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Megan Grant
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 20 reviews)

  • "Good benefits such as getting free products(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper Management have their heads up in space with no awareness of reality(in 21 reviews)

  • "(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "As a part time job, one of the best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Kiehl's Customer Representative 

    I worked at Kiehl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team dynamic since there is no commission but rather store goals that benefit everyone. Friendly working staff and great manager who is understanding and wants the best for everyone in the store.

    Cons

    Still a retail job, long hours of standing, customer interactions can be difficult.

    Continue reading
    Kiehl's2019-07-19
  2. "Don't Do It!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiehl's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Nice gratis 2. Good pay 3. Great benefits

    Cons

    1. No work/life balance 2. Upper management is rude and condescending 3. Goals are rolled out whenever, sometimes even in the current month 4. Disorganized with a lot of miscommunication 5. Quality of life is greatly affected

    Continue reading
    Kiehl's2019-08-16
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Love the history, but losing its originality."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kiehl's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Products, training, pay well for retail, fun helping all kinds of people

    Cons

    Upper management does not know or want to know store issues Upper management pretends to care but lacks action Regional managers are clueless to store responsibilities so they have no empathy or understand how burnt out employees are

    Continue reading
    Kiehl's2019-07-18
  4. "Great Company and Pople"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrator 

    I worked at Kiehl's part-time

    Pros

    Everyone is very nice and good at what they do

    Cons

    No Cons Really, Enjoyed my Time with the Company

    Continue reading
    Kiehl's2019-07-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Kielhs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Bwi Airport, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kiehl's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved the product and Kielhs’s the brand. Easy and fun job

    Cons

    This location is franchise and the owners sucks. Poor management

    Continue reading
    Kiehl's2019-07-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "KCR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kiehl's part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Gratis. Holidays off. Products are ok

    Cons

    This job has gone down hill. My hours were cut from 28 to 9 without notice.. I was then number one sales person according to my KPI’s. It is a lose-lose situation. The sales goals have gone up but yet my hours have decreased dramatically. The team is leaving at a record pace. Within the year our store manager, assistant and 4 other ices left. We had such a great team! The new employees are being paid a little more than half of what the previous employees were. The company constantly jeopardizes its business with online sales. They don’t care about you.

    Continue reading
    Kiehl's2019-08-13
  7. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Full Time Associate 

    I have been working at Kiehl's full-time

    Pros

    Company is great. Management is great.

    Cons

    Communication isn’t always best at times.

    Continue reading
    Kiehl's2019-07-01
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Run! Don't Walk!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kiehl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trip to New York for basic training, jeans are part of dress code, Christmas Day off

    Cons

    Mean Girls corporate culture (although some in corporate office might find this flattering), no work-life balance, demanding, stressful

    Continue reading
    Kiehl's2019-06-20
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Part Time Key Holder 

    I have been working at Kiehl's part-time

    Pros

    Awesome product that you get to sell - the stuff you sell really works. Lots of product knowledge to gain.

    Cons

    Not enough staff around can be hard.

    Continue reading
    Kiehl's2019-05-22
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Continued Very Unrealistic Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiehl's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Whatever is left of Kiehl's family original mission.

    Cons

    Corrupt, catty, nepotism, and unprofessional upper management

    Continue reading
    Kiehl's2019-06-10
Found 236 reviews