Kiewit Corporation Business Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Business Manager

Kiewit Corporation Business Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
8%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Kiewit Corporation President, CEO, and Director Bruce E. Grewcock
Bruce E. Grewcock
20 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my time at Kiewit. I worked with many of the most talented people in the industry. Health care and 401k were good benefits. It wasn't an extremely stressful environment compared to some of my other jobs.

    Cons

    The work/life balance was poor. I worked 6 days a week regardless of whether or not I had anything to do. You were expected to be there 6 days simply because everyone else was there. So, I'd sit on a job twiddling my thumbs at times. And yes, you never know where you're going to be. In a span of 8 days, I went to jobs in Denver, Fort Worth, Dallas, Louisiana. That's difficult when you have a family. I also felt as if they titled the position as "Business Manager" just so they could get away with paying less than industry standards for an accountant. No, the job isn't 100% accounting, but the vast majority of it is. But, if you call it something else other than "Accountant", you can pay less.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Basically, don't "force" employees to stay at work even when there's not all that much to do. Sometimes 6 days a week of work isn't required. I was spending 60-70 hours a week on some jobs when 45 would have cut.

    Kiewit Corporation2015-06-11
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Sterling, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    PTO and 401k are very good!

    Cons

    You must be apart of the “chosen” to achieve advancement within the company. Doesn’t matter how hard you work. Actually the less hard you work the further you’ll advance. Favoritism is a real factor with Kiewit which is very sad. Pay is also based on favoritism which the management will tell you otherwise. Special deals are made for some, but not others who have the same experience and situations. Also, the hours can be quite strenuous for no compensation or rewards.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See cons - Treat all employees the same and stop the favoritism. It’s a real issue management ought to prioritize looking into. Also, underpaying employees is an issue too.

    Kiewit Corporation2018-07-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Get Rid of Deadweight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Manager in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing world class projects, opportunity to work with the best clients and JV partners in the business. Big investments in new software to integrate bidding and project controls- rickety at first but paid off

    Cons

    Low bar of entry for hire. Mediocrity is tolerated. High overhead costs are due to large amount of unnecessary positions filled with people who do bare minimum.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of useless people. It's demoralizing and offensive to the good ones who end up carrying the team.

    Kiewit Corporation2017-06-19
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Manager in Dumfries, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Experience, ability to learn all functions of business, HR, Accounting, Finance, IT, etc

    Cons

    no work life balance, progression for promotion for business department is unrealistic ( your looking at 10 years for your next promotion

    Kiewit Corporation2016-12-14
  5. "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Business Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of team building within the company to help keep moral high.

    Cons

    Management has the philosophy that everyone is replaceable. Wages seem low for industry standard and people only stick around because of loyalty to the company.

    Advice to Management

    Reward your people that produce and don't make decisions based on employees last names. Its a very clichy company and if you don't get to know the right people you will not advance.

    Kiewit Corporation2016-09-12
  6. "Room For Improvement - Especially Regarding Development and Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation

    Pros

    PTO is good and management is understanding that "life" happens. 401k match.

    Cons

    Business department is not respected and there is little room for development. Managers are put in positions based on who they know, not on if they are a capable leader. Unless you are an engineer, expect minimal salary increases year over year and even if you are promoted, it is rare you will receive a bump in pay for your promotion. When you are expected to work 45-60 hours a week, your salary will start to feel inadequate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better development opportunities for business-minded people. Start changing the culture to respect the business departments instead of looking "down" on them since they are not the ones out on the job site. If the expectation is 45+ hours, increase starting salaries to adjust for that. Also allow for raises when being promoted. What is the incentive to take on more responsibility if your pay is going to stay the same?

    Show More
    Kiewit Corporation2016-09-23
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary and pay scale is at or above level.

    Cons

    No work-life balance. Management is only out for themselves.

    Advice to Management

    Grow a spine and backup your employees when you know they are right.

    Kiewit Corporation2016-04-01
  8. "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, you will never stop learning,

    Cons

    No work life balance, also extremely difficult to manage

    Kiewit Corporation2015-10-05
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Worst experience ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Project Business Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    None. There are no pros to working for this company. You have people with no degrees in executive management. I wouldn't recommend this company to my worst enemy.

    Cons

    Micromanagement Terrible people in Peachtree city office Menial tedious work Pay is terrible compared to other construction firms No work like balance

    Advice to Management

    Hire better people. This company sucks

    Kiewit Corporation2015-04-21
  10. "Overall a good company to work for. Hours and responsibilty vary depending on the job or location your at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, job security, culture, opportunities and parties

    Cons

    Hours,raises, favoritism, moving around, management choices

    Advice to Management

    Confront problems as they arise.

    Kiewit Corporation2015-01-10
Found 27 reviews