Kiewit Corporation Engineering Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Kiewit Corporation Engineering Intern Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Kiewit Corporation President, CEO, and Director Bruce E. Grewcock
Bruce E. Grewcock
9 Ratings
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Field Engineer Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    great diversified experience, a lot of responsibility

    Cons

    work 45-60 hours per week

    Kiewit Corporation2019-09-30
  2. "Good experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Hands on experience, and good skills acquired.

    Cons

    Not enough structure or leadership.

    Kiewit Corporation2020-01-18
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Mechanical Engineering Intern in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture, real community feeling on the project teams, great pay, invest in their young talent

    Cons

    The location being all the way out in Lenexa is pretty bad. It's a nice suburb but it's suburbia and I don't get why anyone would ever choose to live in suburbia.

    Kiewit Corporation2019-08-11
  4. "Amazing Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Field Engineer Intern in Huntington Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Kiewit has an amazing internship program. They make it very easy to move to a new location with great relocation benefits. They are not afraid to give interns real responsibilities and integrate them into the team. Also a great segway into a full time career!

    Cons

    Work hours can be long, but that is to be expected in the construction industry.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Kiewit Corporation2019-04-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place to Experience Growth in Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full autonomy, Flexible schedule, easy to work with people, fun events

    Cons

    Very large so hard to know everyone, hard to promote

    Kiewit Corporation2019-04-02
  6. "Good pay as an intern, very long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay as an intern is insane, I made over 20k during the summer because of overtime.

    Cons

    Pay is insane because... You're working 60-70 hour weeks as an intern, my boss actually needed to talk to me about working less because they don't want to overwork interns even when engineers are way overworked. Full time at Kiewit the money takes a long time to actually be good, 10-15 years before you start making 100-150k but if you move up you can make a TON.

    Advice to Management

    More incentives for younger engineers, better access to stock options, more flexibility in hours worked per week.

    Kiewit Corporation2019-04-08
  7. "Great introduction to the construction industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Equipment Engineer Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Very well developed corporate structure, and immediate immersion of interns into duties.

    Cons

    None that I particularly noted, just that this field isn't for me.

    Kiewit Corporation2019-04-04
  8. "Challenging Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Field Engineer Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    The work is very challenging and will not leave you bored. The company has excellent travel compensation because you will be traveling a lot to get to the work. You're always going to be safe on the job. Kiewit has extremely high standards and policies around safety. They have excellent career progression. They like to hire younger guys, train you up and mentor you, and keep you within the company because of how well their development programs work. This also makes you extremely valuable to other contractors in case you leave Kiewit.

    Show More

    Cons

    You are fully expected to go where the work is as any sort of project manager or superintendent. The people I met on my internship said to expect a move at least every 2-3 years at a minimum. Some times there may be projects that last less time. As an intern, my workday was 8AM-3:30PM with 30 minutes for lunch. By the end of my internship, I was working from 6AM-6PM and didn't have time for lunch. There was always at least 1 project manager who was still working after I left, and I was told that 60-80 hours work weeks weren't unheard of.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more personnel. The company is extremely data-driven and fast-paced, but under the staffing at my project, the managers are young and burnt out working up to 80 hour weeks without any sign of relief.

    Kiewit Corporation2018-08-01
  9. "What A Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Mechanical Engineering Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    I have interned with Kiewit for two summers and a winter; all of them were a great success. I strongly recommend this company to other students looking for internships.

    Cons

    There are no cons here. (six seven eight nine ten eleven twelve thirteen fourteen fifteen sixteen seventeen eighteen nineteen twenty)

    Advice to Management

    The management here is exceptional and I got along with all of them. This cannot be said about just any company.

    Kiewit Corporation2018-06-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Kiewit Mechanical Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Mechanical Engineer Intern in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    -Experience with high level engineering firm, looks good on a resume -Great pay and benefits

    Cons

    -Mostly men working there, not a lot of female mentors so I felt very isolated and disconnected from my team of all men -Not a lot of creative work, lots of monotonous tasks

    Advice to Management

    Improve women in engineering mentorship prgram

    Kiewit Corporation2018-02-10
Found 27 reviews