Kiewit Corporation Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Kiewit Corporation Intern Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Kiewit Corporation President, CEO, and Director Bruce E. Grewcock
Bruce E. Grewcock
24 Ratings
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Field Engineer Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    great diversified experience, a lot of responsibility

    Cons

    work 45-60 hours per week

    Kiewit Corporation2019-09-30
  2. "Good experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Hands on experience, and good skills acquired.

    Cons

    Not enough structure or leadership.

    Kiewit Corporation2020-01-18
  3. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation

    Pros

    Great benefits and the opportunity to work with safety focused individuals.

    Cons

    Willingness to locate is part of the job.

    Kiewit Corporation2019-09-09
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Mechanical Engineering Intern in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture, real community feeling on the project teams, great pay, invest in their young talent

    Cons

    The location being all the way out in Lenexa is pretty bad. It's a nice suburb but it's suburbia and I don't get why anyone would ever choose to live in suburbia.

    Kiewit Corporation2019-08-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A great intern experience for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay very well and you will learn alot.

    Cons

    long hours but that's just part of the job

    Kiewit Corporation2019-07-02
  6. "Amazing Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Field Engineer Intern in Huntington Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Kiewit has an amazing internship program. They make it very easy to move to a new location with great relocation benefits. They are not afraid to give interns real responsibilities and integrate them into the team. Also a great segway into a full time career!

    Cons

    Work hours can be long, but that is to be expected in the construction industry.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Kiewit Corporation2019-04-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place to Experience Growth in Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full autonomy, Flexible schedule, easy to work with people, fun events

    Cons

    Very large so hard to know everyone, hard to promote

    Kiewit Corporation2019-04-02
  8. "Good pay as an intern, very long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay as an intern is insane, I made over 20k during the summer because of overtime.

    Cons

    Pay is insane because... You're working 60-70 hour weeks as an intern, my boss actually needed to talk to me about working less because they don't want to overwork interns even when engineers are way overworked. Full time at Kiewit the money takes a long time to actually be good, 10-15 years before you start making 100-150k but if you move up you can make a TON.

    Advice to Management

    More incentives for younger engineers, better access to stock options, more flexibility in hours worked per week.

    Kiewit Corporation2019-04-08
  9. "Great introduction to the construction industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Equipment Engineer Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Very well developed corporate structure, and immediate immersion of interns into duties.

    Cons

    None that I particularly noted, just that this field isn't for me.

    Kiewit Corporation2019-04-04
  10. "My summer review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    You get a ton of experience, they really care about their interns and provide you with plenty of opportunities to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Hours can be long, but working as an intern this was actually a positive.

    Kiewit Corporation2019-03-04
Found 57 reviews