Kiewit Corporation Project Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Kiewit Corporation Project Engineer Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
92%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Kiewit Corporation President, CEO, and Director Bruce E. Grewcock
Bruce E. Grewcock
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation

    Pros

    steady work, decent pay, challenging projects

    Cons

    move a ton, long work hours, no overtime compensation

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2011-03-15
  2. "Not for everyone - if you can cut it than you will do very well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Engineer in Denver, CO
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation

    Pros

    like minded people, production focused, inovative ideas/methods

    Cons

    long hours, stressfull at times, no overtime compensation, soak up alot of your free time, if you suck at time management you will not make it.

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2010-05-06
  3. "Great organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Controls Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great travel opportunities for all employees at all levels

    Cons

    Lots of travel for all employees at all levels

    Kiewit Corporation2019-08-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing is good at this place. You will be expected to work long hours all day every day including weekends. Your salary when converted to hourly is less than industry average and will take a toll on your personal life. Managers are not helpful and don't encourage your career growth because they cannot stand you surpassing them. the The only reason they are in business is due to the large amount of RFP for P3 work which kiewit does. HR is very corrupt as they listen to managers instead of being ethical. There are all snakes in this company.

    Cons

    Everything is a Con in this company.

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2019-08-15
  5. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The development and opportunity to challenge yourself. Working on signature projects you can be proud of

    Cons

    The move culture. And the problems that come with salaried work. 50+ hours is expected per week

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2019-02-20
  6. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Best company for career opportunities

    Cons

    Very long hours at work

    Kiewit Corporation2018-08-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Kiewit Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The compensation from the employee stock program is the biggest benifit to staying long term. If you can handle the the work load and inconsideration, the early years should be filled with invaluable experience

    Cons

    1. There is little-to-no work life balance, nor a real emphasis on it from management from what I saw. 2. Positions are not standardized; Meaning that there is no real structure to mobility and advancement, allowing company politics to be the biggest contributor to upward mobility. This could surely be a good thing if you favored by important members of management, but the complete opposite if you are not. They often times refer to it as a meritocracy, but it is most certainly a Bureaucracy in the sense that it has internalized a system in which most, if not all, of the important decisions in reguards to employe opportunities are made soley by appointed individuals within management. There is no selection process that fairly evaluates all or even a portion of eligible candidates for a particular position. Rather, positions are appointed to individuals that management feels is "deserving", with little to no explanation to those that were not.

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2012-08-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great growth potential, but at the cost of family life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation

    Pros

    -unlimited resources -growing company -great benefits -training opportunities -knowledgeable management

    Cons

    -move a lot from job to job -long hours, no work/family life balance -bonuses for upper management only

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2011-04-27
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Welcome to the Machine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation

    Pros

    Gee, um...looks good on paper, other people think you have a great job, the pay and benefits package is pretty good at first (for the first three years or so and then they think they have you). You will have ups and downs, one day you might be on top of the world - the next you might want to throw yourself of a bridge - that's from the full throttle pace of company life and stress. They are leaders in the industry. You will become an expert at using the dark forces of negotiating and posturing to twist others to your will. Sometimes you will be realy proud of who you work for. Great history.

    Cons

    Now I say all this as a successful employee who went up through the ranks very rapidly and I quit because I wanted to get my PE and since Kiewit outsources design work you will not get your PE with Kiewit unless you work for Kiewit Engineering in Kansas. That and I could imagine the next twenty years living like I did with them. So I am not saying this because I was fired or driven out, but I think a young person going into this company should know what they are getting into. Oh my god. The hours you work are crazy - anywhere from 60 to 80+ hours a week depending on how sneaky you are. Culture of fear, paranoia, and might as well become an alcoholic now. They move you around without warning, very secretive. Total conformist hell, they say they want the best and brightest but they really want drones (resistance is futile). Ethics is negotiable. No life unless you hook up with another Kiewit employee. Very political, have to know who to suck up to and how seem like the most loyal of the company man or you will be left to languish in mediocrity. It is the epitome of corporate hell. Spend half your time filling out forms, covering your ass, and deferring blame on other employees or outside organizations just to survive. Soon you turn into the abusive boss you hated when you first arrived. Incredibly high turnover, the company figures it is a matter of survival of the fittest and could care less about your personal needs. The smart ones get in; get their experience and the credentials of having worked for this much admired company and get out. The stupid ones stay in, and have a crapy life for about twenty or thirty years, get rich and die of a heart attack alone surrounded by expensive junk having lost your family at some point earlier in your career. Otherwise being at Kiewit is more than just a job it is a total way of life - that's what they mean by "Kiewit People". It's tolerable and you will get rich but it is not a mentally or physically healthy work environment.

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2011-02-24
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to learn, very challenging, definitely not for everyone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Engineer 

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation

    Pros

    Take on some of the most challenging mega projects in North America. Job security. Gives greater responsibility to young engineers. Merit based promotions. Very strong safety culture. Rich company history. Potential for loooong term riches if given stock early enough in your career.

    Cons

    Expected to work incredibly long hours. Company is growing so much it is more and more unlikely you will get stock after 5 years as we were sold during recruitment. Sub-par salaries. Inconsistent raises. No bonuses. Lack of training or structured career development. Very high turnover rates, even amongst stockholders; make you wonder if the payoff is worth the sacrifice.

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2011-02-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 30 reviews