Kiewit Corporation Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Kiewit Corporation President, CEO, and Director Bruce E. Grewcock
Bruce E. Grewcock
474 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, wonderful perks(in 121 reviews)

  • "They treat you well and offer good benefits with a great 401k package(in 86 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance can be difficult depending on your project management(in 213 reviews)

  • "We were expected to work long hours(in 211 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities are endless. A company of leaders.

    Cons

    Relocations can be tough. Different pay for field engineers depending on what business unit you are from.

    Kiewit Corporation2020-01-23
  2. "Great Internship experience."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineering Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was an amazing experience! Everyone was really friendly and willing to share their knowledge.

    Cons

    I found it difficult to find things to do sometimes.

    Kiewit Corporation2020-05-20
  3. "Great company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Estimator in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Work hard play hard 100%

    Cons

    Lots of long hours (60+ min)

    Kiewit Corporation2020-05-19
  4. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer I in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people within Kiewit genuinely care about the development of their people. Have truly enjoyed my time with the company.

    Cons

    The salaries can be lower than some competitors, but they make up for it with their benefits and training opportunities.

    Kiewit Corporation2020-05-19
  5. "A solid company that looks out for it's employees."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Shoreline, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good at training employees, lots of knowledge

    Cons

    Long hours are expected in this company

    Kiewit Corporation2020-05-08
  6. "Very safe and well organized company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carpenter in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you want to work a lot of overtime this is a great company to go to.

    Cons

    My only complaint is you have to use a pencil sharpener for a carpenter pencil? First company I've ever worked for that requires that.

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2020-05-07
  7. "Just Don’t"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience for new engineers

    Cons

    Work life balance Work schedule Company culture

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2020-05-17
  8. "Great company ultimate meritocracy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Executive in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you are willing to put in the work, the rewards and recognition are awesome!

    Cons

    Long hours, limited work/life balance & travel

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2020-05-01
  9. "It's good. Could be great!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety Coordinator in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, a lot of training and opportunity, most of the management team are good leaders.

    Cons

    Long hours, long weeks, and a lot of travel. Work life balance can be difficult depending on your project management.

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2020-05-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bad company culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits package is great (except you're not fully vested in your 401k unless you've worked there for 5 years!)

    Cons

    Culture is pretty awful. Favoritism and nepotism is rampant (they treat anyone who isn't in upper management's inner circle pretty badly); respect, integrity, and honesty aren't valued by upper management; and glass ceilings are a problem. Plus, work/life balance is awful. Very authoritarian and micro-managing management styles. If you're looking for a place to work where you can trust that you'll be treated fairly, this isn't it. Nearly everyone I know quit because of this same reason.

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2020-05-11
Found 1320 reviews