Kiewit Corporation Intern - Hourly Reviews | Glassdoor

Kiewit Corporation Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Kiewit Corporation President, CEO, and Director Bruce E. Grewcock
Bruce E. Grewcock
459 Ratings
  1. "SR Project Controllers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation

    Pros

    Used the latest in technology. Very professional environment

    Cons

    Worked in temporary facilities most of the time. Dusty,

    Kiewit Corporation2020-01-08
  2. "very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great experience valuable learning good pay

    Cons

    not bad to start and can grow quickly

    Kiewit Corporation2020-01-13
  3. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreman in Houston, TX

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very nice people to work with

    Cons

    Honestly there’s not really any cons

    Kiewit Corporation2020-01-04
  4. "Top of the line company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Materials Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable work for right now.

    Cons

    Pay is good but could be better with all the overtime that you sometimes work.

    Advice to Management

    Per diem should be higher than what it is. Places to stay and food cost can get the best of you in some places.

    Kiewit Corporation2019-12-23
  5. "Good Company / Good Structure / Good Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to gain experience, learn the industry, and grow

    Cons

    Hard to move up fast, long hours, and lots of moving

    Kiewit Corporation2019-12-17
  6. "Ideal Environment, Exceptional Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Drainage Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Projects Leadership Development & Learning Opportunities Company Culture Salary & Benefits Travel Opportunities Challenging Work

    Cons

    Workstations could be more ergonomic. We use Dell computers instead of Lenovo ThinkPad mobile workstations (which would be much better). Especially for engineers.

    Advice to Management

    Continue fostering our culture of People, Integrity, Excellence and Stewardship. Also, keep instilling the goal of being the best contractor on Earth to all those who work at Kiewit. Lastly, the motto "train your replacement" is vital to the continued growth and success of our company.

    Kiewit Corporation2019-12-07
  7. "Kiewit is a Big Mistake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free water, projects might might might be interesting, will be lucky if working by the shore.

    Cons

    have to travel all the time, have to work with uneducated superintendents. Don't take the border job.

    Advice to Management

    please leave the planet ASAP

    Kiewit Corporation2020-01-06
  8. "Bad Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great job security, there is always work somewhere they can send you to. Exciting projects that take you all over the country, decent benefits, 4 weeks of PTO. If work is your #1 priority and you enjoy working construction this is where you want to be.

    Cons

    Terrible work life balance, 10+ hour days and a lot of Saturdays and Sundays. Management gives very little notice when you are being moved to new projects, sometimes on days to move across the country. Most people are maxed out on their PTO because you don't have any time to use it. It's very difficult to have a life away from work at any stage of your career here. You have to fight to use any of the benefits they offer or you'll never get them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In my time here they have been trying to figure out why there is such a high turnover rate especially with younger 2-5 years employees. I don't think that will ever change unless they start to allow employees to prioritize life outside of work. Also, the pay is not as good as it seems when you learn what you will be sacrificing. Employees should not have to fight for per diem and trips home to see their family.

    Kiewit Corporation2019-12-15
  9. "Misogynistic hiring practices. Women and people of color need not apply."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    its a sprinkler fitter job

    Cons

    no women or American Indian fitters due to discrimination in their hiring practices.

    Advice to Management

    Stop allowing discrimination in your company.

    Kiewit Corporation2019-12-27
  10. "Great Career path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Alexandria, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefit and paid

    Cons

    Life work balance inexistant sometimes

    Kiewit Corporation2019-11-20
Found 936 reviews