Kiewit Corporation "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kiewit Corporation Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Kiewit Corporation President, CEO, and Director Bruce E. Grewcock
Bruce E. Grewcock
503 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance can be hard sometimes(in 150 reviews)

  • "You might have to work long hours (more than 10 hours) including working from home(in 141 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Equipment Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, work life balance, compensation, co workers

    Cons

    Relocation, easy to work more hours than asked

    Kiewit Corporation2019-10-24
  2. "Field Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exciting, large projects Travel Opportunities

    Cons

    No Work/Life Balance 60-70 hour weeks are normal

    Kiewit Corporation2019-11-15
  3. "Great company in a demanding industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Specialist in Fairfield, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Industry leader, prestigious projects, good compensation, very knowledgeable management, well -defined career paths. Lot of genuine people who want to help you advance

    Cons

    Work/life balance & advancement opportunities vary greatly by which project you're assigned to, often long hours without extra pay, relocation often with little say in the matter

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2019-07-30
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid at all costs. There are far better opportunities out there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits. Emphasis on training. Young work force. Looks good on a resume.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is non-existent. Working 80 hrs/wk is completely normal and you will work plenty of weekends as well. Holidays are by no means guaranteed. I worked an 18 days on/3 days off schedule, and I only received holidays that happened to fall on my 3 days off. You will be sent to work on projects in the middle of nowhere, and you have no say in the matter. You will be expected to move across the country on a moment's notice and you will receive very little help with the move. Don't expect to move up the ladder very quickly at all. Kiewit is very slow to promote from within. Turnover is extremely high within the company, and the chain of command is horribly convoluted. Lastly, the pay is poor for the number of hours you are working. You don't get paid overtime, and field engineers do not receive per diem. It is unheard of to not receive per diem pay when working the long hours Kiewit requires, and working in the remote locations that Kiewit sends you to. We were told many times that we would be receiving per diem pay and paid trips home every 3 weeks, only to have that promise taken away right before mobilizing to site. All in all, do not work here. There are plenty of far better opportunities out there. Just two months after leaving Kiewit I'm making more money to work half the hours per week in an infinitely better location.

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2019-08-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee Relations Specialist in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large company with great resources and mentors, great place to learn at the beginning of your career and great benefits.

    Cons

    Lack of work life balance, hard to advance within the HR space

    Kiewit Corporation2019-04-29
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, great experience at an early stage in your career

    Cons

    Work life balance can be hard sometimes

    Kiewit Corporation2019-03-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Big on work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Work-life balance, flexible schedules and WFH policy, competitive pay, very stable industry and company

    Cons

    Middling healthcare plan, sometimes stuffy corporate environment

    Kiewit Corporation2019-03-05
  8. "It was a great work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Field Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment was great. My coworkers were very nice and were always willing to help if I ever had a question. The benefits and pay for interns vary but in my experience it was good. It is a great place to get hands on experience and learn a lot about the industry.

    Cons

    There doesn't seem to be a work life balance. The pay for salary employees does not seem to be on the same level as other industry competitors.

    Kiewit Corporation2019-03-02
  9. "noth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Field/Office Engineer 

    I have been working at Kiewit Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Great salary and great benefits

    Cons

    Work Life Balance is a problem

    Kiewit Corporation2019-02-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer II in Bayonne, NJ
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiewit Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - leader in the industry - leader safety - true investment in employees (both internal and third party trainings to obtain industry certificates and licenses worth thousands per year) - great benefits including 100% 401(k) match up to 6% - yearly bonus in form of 401(k) contributions

    Cons

    - 60+ hour weeks not uncommon - weekend work not uncommon - little sense or understanding of work/life balance (common for industry) - issues common in construction management and engineering (i.e. predominantly white male workforce, frequently hostile work environments with rampant use of crude language (inside and outside of the office), etc.

    Continue reading
    Kiewit Corporation2019-01-18
Found 170 reviews