KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Kimley-Horn

Engaged Employer

Kimley-Horn

Add a Review

Kimley-Horn Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 762 of over 858 reviews

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Kimley-Horn CEO 	Steve Lefton
Steve Lefton
254 Ratings

What people are saying about Kimley-Horn

Join the conversation on

Recruiters

1m

a 

Recruiting Manager

My firm, Kimley-Horn, is expanding in the Pacific Northwest and we’re looking for a recruiter to lead and continue this expansion. We’re hoping this person has 5+ years of experience. We offer a competitive total comp package. If you contribute 4% to your 401K the firm gives 18%. Must sit on-site in our downtown Seattle office 4 days a week. Please DM me your info if you’d like to learn more!

10

7 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great benefits and 401K.(in 135 reviews)
  • "The people are great for an engineering firm(in 68 reviews)
  • "Bonus is great but not worth the amount of hours that go into it(in 41 reviews)
  • "The pay here is great because the company is privately owned and all profits are shared.(in 33 reviews)
  • "The culture is great and it feels like everyone is there to help you.(in 33 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Kimley-Horn and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Place for to build a career

    May 31, 2022 - Project Manager in Frisco, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get what you put in. This company is built for people who want to work hard and be rewarded for their efforts.

    Cons

    Culture can vary office to office and manager to manager.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Benefits, Expect to Work Hard

    Jun 21, 2022 - Civil Analyst in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Kimley-Horn has some of the best benefits and overall compensation package I've seen before. The 401(k) and bonus program are unmatched in the industry, and the health benefits are pretty standard. This is an excellent place for someone to quickly learn and progress through their career, as there are many opportunities for young engineers to step into roles often not given young engineers at other firms.

    Cons

    This is not a job for someone who wants to put in a basic 40-hour work week and coast through their career. The benefits are fantastic, but that also comes with an expected average 45 hour work week depending on the workload of the department. Management is usually flexible with schedules, but projects often require staying late at the office to meet deadlines.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Favorite Place I've Ever Worked

    Apr 6, 2022 - Urban Planner in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Interesting and exciting types of projects - Office has a lot of young people and is over half women which is not super common for an engineering firm - Compensation is far more than anything I was offered in the public sector - Great work atmosphere and everyone works really well as a team - Flexibility with schedules - The company paid for my professional exam, fees, prep courses, etc. and is supportive of any additional training I feel is necessary for the work that we do I was hesitant to accept a job with Kimley-Horn based on what I had heard from other people about the long hours but that has not been an issue at all. I consistently work about 45 hours per week which I would expect as a consulting firm but I am more than compensated for my time. I am also extremely passionate about planning so most of the time it doesn't feel like work. I've had multiple jobs and internships in the public and private sector and this is my favorite place I've worked so far.

    Cons

    Honestly, it's hard to find a cons. The St. Pete office is a really great place to work, but I'm sure each office has it's own flavor/feel. I'd recommend anyone interviewing, or on the fence, take advantage of the time in the interview to ask about the office's culture and make sure you get a good vibe from the people you would be working with or for.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Grateful

    Jun 24, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The entrepreneurial and fast-paced environment with all of the support of an excellent corporation creates opportunities that cannot be found elsewhere. My colleagues are top notch.

    Cons

    Ensuring communication throughout the organization takes work. We are all very busy but work is more enjoyable when we also take the time to get to know one another.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Work for Career Motivated Individuals

    Jun 7, 2022 - Land Development Civil Analyst in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great profit sharing if you stick around for 6 years. Optimistic work environment and great people to work with. The company will give you all the tools you need to be successful and will help you further your career. They also do a great job of trying to advance your technical skills.

    Cons

    Expect to work 46-50 hours a week as standard. The time you get off in the evening can frequently be unpredictable (making it sometimes difficult to have firm plans with friends after work). It is common for deadlines to require you to work late (7pm-ish). Occasionally it will be even later. Most people are out of the office by 2pm on Friday, so expect to work 40-44 hours between Mon-Thurs.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Patience is Key

    Jun 5, 2022 - Civil Analyst in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people who all share a common goal in getting projects done on time with quality deliverables. Great benefits. Half-Day Fridays. "One-Profit Center" means teams across the firm aren’t fighting over resources and greater mobility to shift employees to other teams and projects.

    Cons

    "Extra Effort" work culture. You will work more than 40 hours per week, even with half-day fridays. You need to work here for 6 years to become fully vested. 401k contributions dont kick in until you have 1 year work experience. 401k and profit sharing benefits dont hit your account until February of each year. "One-profit center" could have negative consequences that I cannot yet speak to with my level of experience.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Jun 26, 2022 - P-1 Specialist in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Retirement is massive and so helpful

    Cons

    time worked can be really inconsistent

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great place to have a CAREER

    Jun 6, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, coworkers you love working with, high compensation, and more autonomy to do what you love and passionate about than you will find anywhere in the industry. This is a place where you are recognized for your contributions and rewarded accordingly.

    Cons

    This is not a 40 hour work week environment, but it also isn't a 55+ hour work week environment either. The company has a philosophy of extra effort and generally likes employees to average 44-46 hours per week over the course of the year.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Average civil consultancy

    Jun 17, 2022 - Civil Analyst in Orange, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Lots of work, can get into anything you express interest in doing because there is plenty of work to go around -Great support in pursuing PE licensure -fun office environment

    Cons

    -Expectation of 45-50 hour work week -poor work life balance and a culture that fosters workaholics -High utilization/billable goal -Resistant to change/ a bit conservative when it comes to integrating new technology/practices -Conservative energy extends to policies ex. required in person work throughout the pandemic BEFORE vaccinations were available, extremely strict when it comes to work from home/ only allowed as a one off due to qualifying excuses

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best place to be for the right person

    Jun 13, 2022 - Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic culture, unlimited growth opportunities, autonomy over your career and trajectory. Flexibility with schedule. Top notch supervisors

    Cons

    Wish I would have found them sooner

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 762 Reviews

Kimley-Horn Reviews FAQs

Kimley-Horn has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 858 reviews left anonymously by employees. 73% of employees would recommend working at Kimley-Horn to a friend and 87% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Kimley-Horn employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Kimley-Horn. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

73% of Kimley-Horn employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Kimley-Horn 2.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 4.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Kimley-Horn to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be management, work life balance.

Popular Careers with Kimley-Horn Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Kimley-Horn? Share Your Experiences

or

Kimley-Horn Careers

Cover image for Kimley-Horn

Kimley-Horn keeps two groups of people at the center of its business: its clients and its staff. Past president Ed Vick said, "We have no...More

  • History
  • Careers
  • Women @ KH
  • Veterans @ KH
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Kimley-Horn

7 days ago

Careers
Do you want to take on key project roles, be encouraged to innovate, and regularly learn new skills? If you're a civil engineer with at least a couple years of experience, check out these opportunities to join our Development Services and Water teams in West Palm Beach, FL. #makeamovemonday #engineeringjobs #werehiring #kimleyhorn #kimleyhorncareers #greatplacetowork
Shared image - We're Hiring in West Palm Beach!
We're Hiring in West Palm Beach!
careers-kimley-horn.icims.com
See all

Kimley-Horn Photos

+ Add Photo
Kimley-Horn photo of: The cold waters of the Chesapeake Bay didn't stop several of our teammates in Baltimore from taking part in the 2020 Polar Plunge. Thanks to their effort, along with support and generosity from others
Kimley-Horn photo of: Team outing to the newly-reopened Moore Square in Raleigh