KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants

Engaged Employer

Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants

Add a Review

Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 870 of over 902 reviews

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants CEO Mike 
DeFrino
Mike 
DeFrino
432 Ratings
Pros
  • "Offers great benefits and opportunity to climb within the company(in 46 reviews)

  • "Fun work environment, good people(in 30 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours with no to little break time(in 28 reviews)

  • "There is an underlying expectation that your work is your entire life, so it is difficult to find work-life balance(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Authentic and Approachable

      Oct 21, 2020 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've found folks at all levels of the organization to be authentic and approachable. The CEO is Mike, not Mr. DeFrino - this is quite a difference from an unnamed "big brand" I was with earlier in my career. I also have found I can be my authentic self - my opinion is respected, I don't feel like I need to worry about office politics.

      Cons

      Only downside is having a big brother in IHG that is a little less "Kimpton-y". Understandable considering they're primarily franchise mid-scale and what it takes to effectively manage in that environment. There has been a lot of learning on both sides!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

      Your Friends at Kimpton

      Thanks for being a part of what makes our culture so special and unique! We wouldn’t be Kimpton without everyone showing up as their authentic self.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Jul 8, 2021 - Assistant Housekeeping Director in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Kimpton is big about being yourself and helping you grow professionally

      Cons

      The pay isn't great unfortunately

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Kimpton is one of the best companies out there

      Jul 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They really care about their employees and don't just talk about it, they show it

      Cons

      Any hotel job comes with some odd hours and stress

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work

      Jul 3, 2021 - Area Sales Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome work place culture. Amazing benefits.

      Cons

      Corporate executives did not show that they truly cared for workers during COVID-19 lay offs and after.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work!

      Jun 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome culture! Loved working here great people and growth opportunity

      Cons

      None, all positive things to report

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company Culture and Benefits. Low Pay

      Jul 10, 2021 - Assistant Front Office Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company culture is amazing and unmatched. The IHG discounts and 401k match are great. Great team.

      Cons

      The pay is low compared to other luxurious properties in the area and ultimately because of this, there can be high turnover rates.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

      Your Friends at Kimpton

      Thank you for your feedback, it's truly valuable - we're happy you were feeling the Kimpton love during your time with us and of course we are always working to stay competitive in the market so we'll be sure to share this with our Total Rewards team.

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Work life Balance - what's that?

      Jul 16, 2021 - Manager in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees are hard working and friendly

      Cons

      Management only want robots - no candor or honest opinion, just do work and shut up

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

      Your Friends at Kimpton

      Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback - we're so sorry to hear that you're not feeling the Kimpton culture throughout your experience. Please reach out to your local People + Culture team if you would like to talk through further so we can work together to improve!

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Best place I've ever worked!!!!

      Jun 22, 2021 - Front Desk and Night Audit Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great staff and management - Amazing culinary department - Fun working atmosphere

      Cons

      I honestly can't say there are really any other than employed turn around.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place To Work

      Jun 25, 2021 - Sales Coordinator in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      able to be yourself, great people, fun work environment

      Cons

      hourly positions and entry level manager positions are paid too low

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Okay could be better

      Jun 9, 2021 - Front Desk Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great for networking with guest's - Having the option to stay in multiple hotels throughout the world, can find a decent price for hotels with employee discounts.

      Cons

      - Managers are very clique like, they don't listen to the agent's needs and let them overstressed. - Even when Agent's voice their concerns it goes in one ear out the other. - Forget about being promoted within, happens to favorite no matter how hard you work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 870 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants? Share Your Experiences

    or