Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Sales Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales Manager

Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Sales Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants CEO Mike 
DeFrino
Mike 
DeFrino
21 Ratings
  1. "The BEST Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kimpton pushes you to grow in the most caring, hospitable way possible. Whenever you express a goal, management works with you to make sure it happens. I'm given attainable goals, incredible support, and a network of colleagues around the world willing to help me learn whenever I need help. The hotels are beautiful and easy to sell. Kimpton hires like-minded employees who really want to make guests enjoy their experiences no matter what.

    Cons

    Renovations are few and far between for lower-volume cities, but the hotels age extremely well.

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2020-01-09

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    January 28, 2020Your Friends at Kimpton

    We’re so happy you’re loving the Kimpton culture - sounds like you’ve really been able to “lead yourself” here! Thanks for sharing your feedback and for all you do to take care of our guests.

    Continue reading
  2. "Management Treats Employees Well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sale Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management truly cares about their employees, both professionally and personally. Kimpton has great benefits as well. They go above and beyond to make it a fun place to work.

    Cons

    Not too many SOP's in place since it is a smaller company

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-10-15
  3. "Creativity, fun, and opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working in the hospitality industry is sometimes a hard gig. But working with this fun, creative, hardworking team makes us remember why we do it! Best team overall that I've worked with.

    Cons

    This is the hotel industry people! We can't control how a guest interacts with us!

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-05-20
  4. "A place to grow and with a family feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Kimpton from 2008 and I wouldn't want to further my career anywhere else. They take great care of their employees and help them achieve their career and life goals. There is a sense of family that I haven't gotten anywhere else.

    Cons

    There needs to be more opportunities to transfer internationally. But they are coming!

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-04-17

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    May 13, 2019Your Friends at Kimpton

    Yes! We are expanding internationally which is super exciting. Keep an eye out for roles as we grow. Thanks for your review!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Catering Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Catering Sales Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Individuality is recognized and appreciated. Typically an open forum for new ideas and creativity.

    Cons

    Compensation is skewed to benefit the Executive Team, but not to retain middle management.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-01-14

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    February 4, 2019Your Friends at Kimpton

    We’re so happy you feel able to express your individuality, and that you feel appreciated – that’s extremely important to us! We’ll be sure to share your benefits feedback with our Total Rewards team.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    laid back culture; fun employees on team make it an enjoyable work environment; employee rate at other hotels makes travelling a plus; small enough company that still feels small, tight-knit

    Cons

    significant expansion has led to a diminished culture and vision for brand; pay is not great compared to other hospitality companies; minimal opportunity for growth if not willing to relocate

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2018-12-10

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    February 4, 2019Your Friends at Kimpton

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate the feedback. We’re committed to supporting you and your career goals. Please reach out to your local People + Culture team anytime, we’re always here to help!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Don't do it..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Culture of what the company as a whole stands for is great in theory - Dogs are EVERYWHERE and you can bring your pups to work

    Cons

    When I traveled for work I remembered why I loved the company and that it was simply the hotel and department I was in that was bad. There is a reason this company makes best places to work list ... it just doesn't translate into the property I was working because it did not operate with Kimpton Culture. -Talent isn't recognized rather they tell you there's only one way to do things (not very Kimpton) or your ideas aren't good enough - In the VERY short time I was there was a lot of turnover of key people in the hotel and team member wouldn't stay long either - Employee complaints are not followed-up with until you escalate them. - You really don't have empowerment which is what Kimpton stresses they give to employees - Shop calls are not realistic - Cheap owners - Felt like you were working at a high school with new drama and pettiness every.single.day! - Bonus structure is bad (don't believe the lies) Honestly would NEVER recommend someone to work for a Kimpton again in my career. Again all of this is based on the one property I worked for. I was so excited to work for this company and slowly realized this was not a place you could learn and grow.

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2018-09-14

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    September 28, 2018Your Friends at Kimpton

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your honest thoughts, and we’re very sorry to hear that your time with Kimpton wasn’t positive. Please know that we take your feedback to heart, and we’re sharing with our team in San Diego.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Flexibility and work life balance - Awesome co-workers - Fun environment - Open door policy

    Cons

    - A little unorganized when rolling out new material - Additional responsibilities for no compensation - Shop calls - not realistic to the real world - Stay out of the drama....hotels are like high school

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2018-06-19

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    July 16, 2018Your Friends at Kimpton

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We’re so glad you’ve been able to have fun and enjoy your coworkers during your time with us. If you ever feel like you need additional support, our People & Culture team is always here to help. Feel free to reach out any time.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "50/50"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great portfolio of properties - and growing!

    Cons

    Very little room for career advancement. Acquisition by IHG has watered down the culture.

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2018-06-04

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    June 6, 2018Your Friends at Kimpton

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t able to see opportunities for advancement during your time at Kimpton. Keeping our culture alive and promoting from within continues to be a huge priority for us. We’ll be sure to share your review with our New York team.

    Continue reading
  10. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Innovative and stylish place of work. A product you are proud of to sell

    Cons

    Smaller hotels with limited amount of movement to grow in your career

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2017-10-25

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    November 16, 2017Your Friends at Kimpton

    We’re so glad you had a great experience during your time with us. We’re opening properties left and right and we love our rehires (affectionately referred to as “Kimpton boomerangs”) – hope you make it back here someday.

    Continue reading
Found 26 reviews