Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants CEO Mike 
DeFrino
Mike 
DeFrino
318 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants

    Pros

    Room for growth, great benefits

    Cons

    Very low pay, frequent turnover

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2016-03-16
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants

    Pros

    This company actually cares about you. Great benefits

    Cons

    Limited locations based on current hotels, however that should be changing quickly

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2016-01-19
  3. "Great Company to Work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reservations Agent in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very professional, work feels like a second home, staff feels like family. Great benefits, highly competitive salary, great opportunities to grow as this company is expanding everyday, adding more and more properties.

    Cons

    The pay schedule will take some getting use to... If you're use to bi-weekly... It's not that. It's semi-monthly (still twice a month, just not the traditional way - but then again it's Kimpton and nothing about this company is traditional!) :)

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2015-10-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Why can't I do 3.5?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Front Desk Agent in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants

    Pros

    Great benefits, a lot of room to be creative and work outside of the box, freedom, fun environment to work, lobby music is top 40 (makes work a lot better when you have a good soundtrack) again, Kimpton is FUN. They celebrate individuality.

    Cons

    Because it's so much fun, it can easily be poorly managed. I left my property simply due to the fact that the GM decided to 'crack down; on the employees. We were under staffed and overworked and none of it was appreciated

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2015-09-25
  5. "Kimpton Hotel Solamar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Server in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, atmosphere, and employees

    Cons

    Some restrictions on hotel reservation benefits

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2015-09-10
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banquet Server in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    easy to move up, great benefits, good pay, great people to worth with and very diverse group of people

    Cons

    Strict deadline, alot of spanish speaking only employes and unfavorable systems. Organization problems and hard to get in contact with HR.

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2014-12-09
  7. "New Brand Lacking Structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rooms Manager in Washington, DC

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Kimpton is a great company to work for with great benefits- for managers. Benefits are actually paid for for Managers only. Lots of freedom to be yourself and to come up with your own concepts and ideas. You are given the chance to execute your ideas as a manager.

    Cons

    Unlike most hotel companies, Kimpton does not offer free or discounted lunch to employees. There are absolutely no SOPs, so if you are someone that likes structure, working for this company will drive you crazy. It is a free for all to do as you please. Many Kimpton hotels lack layers in management as they are small. This does not allow for growth easily. Often many Kimptons are under staffed, and do not have the attention to detail that other chains have. Kimpton has a lot of work to do as a company to stay relevant. In my opinion, the company has grown to quickly for its own good and they do not have the corporate staffing necessary to keep up with the larger chains. The company is still operating like a small scale hotel chain, when in fact it is becoming much larger and well known. I believe it is hit or miss with each hotel and while being unique is part of their brand, you do need to have standard operating procedures in order to succeed. I would not reccommend this company for someone that wants to experience real hospitality or to feel valued as an employee.

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2014-03-21
  8. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants

    Pros

    Great Pay, Great Benefits, Growth Potential, Office Culture

    Cons

    Work Hours, Location, Communication, Sale to IHG

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2015-01-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 38 reviews