Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants "great company" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Employee Reviews about "great company"

Updated Mar 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants CEO Mike 
DeFrino
Mike 
DeFrino
317 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and varying schedule(in 22 reviews)

  • "There is an underlying expectation that your work is your entire life, so it is difficult to find work-life balance(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Finding an upscale establishment to utilize my expertise to benefit the growth of the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Executive Sous Chef 

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time

    Pros

    One of the best companies to work for to gain knowledge and experience

    Cons

    Overall a great company to build your personal management skills

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2020-03-07
  2. "Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Accountant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for and get experience.

    Cons

    Feel like they are not very competitive with salaries.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2020-01-27
  3. "Orientation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dishwasher in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company great benefits great staff

    Cons

    I didn't work for company sooner

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-09-04
  4. "Great company values. Good Perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - In Room Dining in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company values. Good Perks

    Cons

    Unorganized management, low wages on average

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-07-30

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    July 31, 2019Your Friends at Kimpton

    Thanks for sharing this feedback with us, it helps us grow in any way that we can! We'll pass along your feedback to our management team in Sacramento.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great benefits and so much room to grow.

    Cons

    There are none that I experienced.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-04-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kimpton is a great company to work for if you'd like to learn aspects of the hospitality industry. I've been able to dive into various roles through my experience here and the company is very open to growth within your role.

    Cons

    I have no complaints so far!

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2018-10-01

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    October 4, 2018Your Friends at Kimpton

    So glad that you're enjoying your time at Kimpton. Thanks for the review!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Unfair and mistreated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Room Service Server in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company for advancement opportunities. We’re in the heart of CityScape in Phoenix AZ (one of the fastest growing cities in America).

    Cons

    Getting a promotion was harder than I thought. I’ve had ideas for Honorbar, wine hour, RS amenities, RS office, RS computer, RS department (separated from office), and more. Yet every single time my ideas were put off to the side by management. No employee description menu.

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2018-03-09

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    March 16, 2018Your Friends at Kimpton

    We’re sorry your experience wasn’t great and that you didn’t feel heard during your time with us. We do believe ideas can and should come from every part of the business. Thank you for the feedback; we’ll be sure to share your review with the team.

    Continue reading
  8. "Bellman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for the company certainly knows how to treat their employees.

    Cons

    The hours you work are all over the place.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2018-02-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company - One Bad Apple"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time

    Pros

    - Great company culture - CEO genuinely interested in the employees - Holds great events and supports amazing causes in the community

    Cons

    To say I was ecstatic to work for such a reputable company would be an understatement. It was my dream ever since college to work at Kimpton. Unfortunately, my luck to work under a long time employee/director who knew nothing about managing employees was the greatest misfortune of my career. In my short time of employment, there were countless occasions in which the following happened: - Micromanaged - Humiliated in front of colleagues for asking questions/doing something wrong - Compared negatively to other people - Guilted for taking time off for personal/medical reasons - Witnessed manager speaking poorly of other leaders in the company - Unrealistic learning expectations - Told I was not allowed to ask questions of my colleagues- to know where my weaknesses lay I reported the above to HR before departing and nothing was done. Manager was not even reprimanded. It has been some time since I left the company but the emotional trauma from the experience has remained. I was the 4th out of 5 employees who has left this manager.

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2018-02-05

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    March 16, 2018Your Friends at Kimpton

    We’re so sorry that your Kimpton experience didn’t live up to what you thought it would be. We agree, managers should lead by example – which is one of the reasons why we have Kimpton University classes in place that focus on communication, personal development, conflict resolution, and leadership. Please know that we’re taking your feedback to heart, and we have shared this review with our People & Culture team.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Family like atmosphere, and truly care about all employees!

    Cons

    Only have employee lunch twice a month

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2017-10-11
Found 29 reviews