Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants CEO Mike 
DeFrino
Mike 
DeFrino
316 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and varying schedule(in 21 reviews)

  • "There is an underlying expectation that your work is your entire life, so it is difficult to find work-life balance(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fantastic work environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We have a great benefits plan, bonus plan, and best of all a great work environment. Everyone here is true to themselves while working hard and getting the job done. It's truly a blessing to work with people who are so fun and excited to be here.

    Cons

    While the bonus structure and benefits make up for it, our base salaries are not always up to the current market.

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-10-10

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    October 10, 2019Your Friends at Kimpton

    We're SO happy you're happy with you benefits and work environment. It's clear you're a Kimpton Culture Ambassador, people like you make this a great place to work! We'll share your feedback with our total rewards team. Thanks so much for your insight!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Phoenix, AZ

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    fun culture, good benefits, growth & development opportunities, work environment based on respect, you have a voice and you can make a difference

    Cons

    only con is that I wish we had more Kimpton hotels in Phoenix!

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-08-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    laid back culture; fun employees on team make it an enjoyable work environment; employee rate at other hotels makes travelling a plus; small enough company that still feels small, tight-knit

    Cons

    significant expansion has led to a diminished culture and vision for brand; pay is not great compared to other hospitality companies; minimal opportunity for growth if not willing to relocate

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2018-12-10

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    February 4, 2019Your Friends at Kimpton

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate the feedback. We’re committed to supporting you and your career goals. Please reach out to your local People + Culture team anytime, we’re always here to help!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Fun work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time

    Pros

    Fun work environment. Made forever friends and met some amazing people.

    Cons

    Pay was not enough for the amount of work.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2018-06-08
  5. "Good benefits, messy management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great benefits, perks, and bonuses -Good work environment

    Cons

    -Mid level management was neglected and/or treated poorly by upper management, which affected everyone below them directly

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2018-05-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time

    Pros

    Easy going work environment

    Cons

    No SOPs A lot of directors do not help you strive for success

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2018-02-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lot of flexibility, very open with diversity, great work environment

    Cons

    Pay could be more competitive

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2018-02-07
  8. "Kimpton Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Promotion opportunities , casual work environment

    Cons

    when promoted at kimpton, compensation sometimes is not fair when compared to other brands

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2017-08-29
  9. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants

    Pros

    Great work environment and fun team.

    Cons

    Hotels are always open so coverage can be an issue at times, but that is the industry.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2017-01-07
  10. "Group Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Sales Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team! Fun work environment. No micro-managing. They are all about being yourself and are open to new ideas. Competitive Pay. Promote from within.

    Cons

    I honestly do not have one. I have worked for both Marriott and Starwood and at this point would not turn back.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2016-12-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews