Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants CEO Mike 
DeFrino
Mike 
DeFrino
316 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and varying schedule(in 22 reviews)

  • "There is an underlying expectation that your work is your entire life, so it is difficult to find work-life balance(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best Company Culture Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Email Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I feel empowered to do my best work at Kimpton for many reasons. First, the Kimpton culture is extraordinarily open to employees being themselves & bringing their best self, skills and personality into the culture. It's empowering to be respected and treated like an individual, not a cog. Armed with that autonomy & respect, I feel like I can do my best work. Even during busy periods or in high-pressure situations, I feel supported by leadership. Work life balance is ideal. I never thought that I'd be this happy in my role!

    Cons

    Salary is mid-range (but worth it)

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-12-13

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    January 28, 2020Your Friends at Kimpton

    This review makes us smile. We’re so happy you’re loving it here at Kimpton. Thanks for being part of what makes this culture so special.

    Continue reading
  2. "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants

    Pros

    Much more casual than other Hotel Chains. Can be fun most days!

    Cons

    No work life balance. Certain departments work 12+ hour days with zero compassion from upper management in differing departments. While others work much much less. No work life balance. No work life balance. No sleep. Pay is also much lower than other places. High turnover. No job training. Little room for growth for managers.

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2020-01-30

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    February 13, 2020Your Friends at Kimpton

    Thanks so much for sharing your honest feedback. We appreciate your hard work and are sorry to hear your experience at Kimpton hasn’t lived up to expectations. Please don't hesitate to reach out to your local People + Culture partner to chat through ways we can help with work/life balance since that’s so important to your well-being. We're here to support you in any way we can.

    Continue reading
  3. "Learn a lot, fast. Poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time

    Pros

    Most people who work for this company are wonderful. They are supportive of your personal and professional growth and are receptive to new thoughts and ideas. It is easy to move up fast and learn a great deal of useful knowledge in a short amount of time. There are also opportunities for community service and for networking with others within the company.

    Cons

    The pay is generally less than at other hotels in the area. Understaffing is a consistent issue, with not much urgency to fill roles. There is an underlying expectation that your work is your entire life, so it is difficult to find work-life balance.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-10-28

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    November 13, 2019Your Friends at Kimpton

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It's so nice to hear that you're feeling supported in your personal and professional growth! Community service is super important to us, we're glad you like giving back with us. We'll share your feedback with our Total Rewards Team!

    Continue reading
  4. "Love the #KimptonLife!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Catering & Conference Services in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance with a team who really cares about the guest experience.

    Cons

    Health benefits are a little pricey, but aren't they all?

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-10-09
  5. "Great Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in West Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    salary, people, culture, opportunity, work/life balance

    Cons

    No cons to share here

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-07-31
  6. "Best Company I’ve Worked For So Far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, fair pay, good perks, recognition

    Cons

    Inconsistent management between properties (worked at 2)

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-05-02
  7. "Best company ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for advancement, fantastic benefits, strong belief in work life balance, fun and energetic management, always supportive of whatever needs to be done to make the guests happy.

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-04-25
  8. "Thriving Culture / Career Growth / Fun Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager People + Culture 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kimpton has been doing its thing since the 80's, and there's a reason no one can replicate it. There is a thriving culture, that everyone you come in to contact embodies. There is career growth if you want it and seek it, and your managers will invest their time into you. Plus it is a fun place to work. We do our own thing here, and that in itself is fun.

    Cons

    if there was one thing - I would say that our pay is a bit low compared to our competitors. But that is our take home. We have fantastic benefits, and great work-life-balance. So is that really a "con"?

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-04-25

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

    May 13, 2019Your Friends at Kimpton

    Yay! It’s so great to hear you’re having fun at Kimpton. We’ll make sure to pass along the feedback to our total rewards team. Thanks for your review!

    Continue reading
  9. "Living up to their reputation as one of the best places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Night Auditor in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best part of working here is the team. Management is almost always on the same page and all team members are supportive of each other. I've never had a better work-life balance. Many other advantages--a great benefits package, competitive pay relative to the position, free parking, loads of opportunities to make extra money. Quick opportunities for advancement or lateral career exploration are another big plus!

    Cons

    If you're not a night owl, this job isn't for you. You have to deal with accountants who aren't in guest services for a reason.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-04-25
  10. "#5 on Fortunes Best Places to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee empowerment, ability to be creative, benefits, matched 401k, work life balance, internal promotions, family like culture

    Cons

    rapid expansion, hiring procedures take too long.

    Continue reading
    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-04-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 34 reviews