KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

KinderCare Learning Centers

Engaged Employer

KinderCare Learning Centers

Add a Review

KinderCare Learning Centers Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,750 of over 2,780 reviews

3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
KinderCare Learning Centers CEO Tom Wyatt
Tom Wyatt
833 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,931

974 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The benefits are good and they help you if you want to move up in the company.(in 102 reviews)
  • "Caring for children and great coworkers(in 97 reviews)
  • "Working with children and great staff(in 85 reviews)
  • "People are nice.(in 41 reviews)
  • "Weekends off and great kids(in 27 reviews)
Cons
  • "pay is low and can have no support at times(in 293 reviews)
  • "Employees leave as a result of poor management.(in 243 reviews)
  • "hours are long and grueling(in 57 reviews)
  • "Not very accommodating to time off(in 42 reviews)
  • "No training on state specific requirements.(in 39 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of KinderCare Learning Centers and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love it

    Sep 29, 2022 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great core values, curriculum, and staff.

    Cons

    Knowing who is an employee

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    It’s been over a year and I still have nightmares

    Sep 29, 2022 - Aide in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The kids. That’s it. I loved the kids and their families, and they’re why I stayed for as long as I did.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? Low pay. Like incredibly low. I made more than the longest standing employee and /I/ was underpaid. The drama and toxicity, with zero control or accountability from the director. I was literally bullied by the lead teachers who worked here. On multiple occasions I would leave sobbing, sick to my stomach. I have never been treated so horribly in my life, especially in a work environment. The gossip and cliques were out of control, and it felt like the director and assistant director got off on it. They would put specific people in classrooms together who they knew would keep the toxic tracing chugging. The children definitely suffered by this dynamic. They also refused to follow COVID protocols. Classrooms needed to be shut down, but they would flat out lie to parents about exposures. Children were getting COVID constantly, and giving it to their families. It was horrible. This place was like working in the seventh layer of hell. I quit over a year ago and I still have nightmares about the grown women who work there cornering me. Being stuck for long hours without any breaks, working well over ratio.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Children are not valued

    Sep 27, 2022 - Twos Teacher in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get free range of your classroom

    Cons

    I adore children, I love the two year olds with the big emotions and navigating that with them. This environment does not set up the children or the teachers to succeed. The ratios are way too high - 12 children to one teacher. I had 10 of them in diapers. Theres no way to keep them engaged, safe and the respect they deserve with that ratio. I felt like I was putting out fires, bypassing all their emotions and having to raise my voice- because when you have a child at a diaper table and another child is being unsafe there is no luxury to walk over to them. I felt awful about the type of teacher I would be if I continued working there. And I have worked with children in preschools for many years. With that all being said- the director is great. I think she does as much as she is able to- but it seems like so much comes from the higher ups.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Avoid at all costs

    Oct 4, 2022 - Teacher in Santee, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The children are amazing to work with and it gives you working experience in the field of education. They’ll pay you $20 an hour if you’re willing to be miserable working there for at least a year.

    Cons

    Literally everything else is a con. Staff is overworked, the facility is filthy, management is terrible, all the corporation cares about is making money, the children are neglected due to staffing issues, and some staff verbally abuse the children. The staff is highly unprofessional and will gossip constantly about parents,children, or other staff. Simply do not work here and don’t leave your children here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Great kids, disconnect between corporate and center

    Sep 29, 2022 - Assistant Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked with an amazing co-teacher and enjoyed the group of kids I worked with; I had a good amount of opportunities to showcase my creative/artistic abilities.

    Cons

    There is a disconnect between what corporate expects from the teachers working ‘on the ground’ so to speak and what’s actually possible to implement. Based on the expectations from the curriculum, it seems obvious that some of the people at corporate haven’t worked directly with the age groups they’re instructing us on.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    It's okay. Could be better, could be worse

    Sep 10, 2022 - Lead Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Kind families, good support system. The families keep us there. They are so wonderful and lift us up when needed. Not too difficult of a job in general, very demanding and can be physically and mentally draining.

    Cons

    Pay is rather low for the demand of the job and services that are asked of us. There's not always clear communication between management and employees, sometimes none at all. Cooperate doesn't seem to care about employees or children. It just seems to be about how much money they can make.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Terrible Work Environment

    Oct 2, 2022 - Part Time Assistant Teacher in Vacaville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with children daily was the best part of this place.

    Cons

    So much negativity within the center. Children were not taken care of and were rarely sent home if sick. The employees had so much drama and a ton of foul language occurred within the center. The kids should be the main focus but never seemed to be when all teachers did was gossip and all management did was sit around and watch drama unfold. Teachers wanted an increase I pay and wanted to be acknowledged but never were so the workplace morale was always down.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Valuable and Reflective Experience

    Aug 22, 2022 - Teacher in Mansfield, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have many fond memories of the years I spent working at KinderCare. I've had many opportunities for growth both professionally and personally. I learned to take on more responsibilities, met inspiring new people, and gained countless valuable and reflective experiences. Every day was a new opportunity to learn new things and help a child find a passion for learning. I learned that if you make school/learning fun children are more than happy to play the "game". I enjoyed my staff and management because everyone was always supportive and encouraging which is rare to find in a workplace. As always, the most challenging part of any job is trying to please everyone, but through my years of experience I learned to give my best and everything else will work out.

    Cons

    This job can be very stressful. Breaks were constantly an issue due to understaffing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Looks great, but lots of red flags

    Sep 24, 2022 - Toddler Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quick hiring process Discounted childcare Frequent Director/Assistant Director communication with parents Great curriculum

    Cons

    Little support in the classroom No scheduled planning or prep time Encouraged to work on ten minute breaks Disorganized art supply storage One bathroom for all staff

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Kids were the best part

    Sep 29, 2022 - Preschool Teacher in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with the children.

    Cons

    The hardest part was dealing with the issues during Covid. Kids were constantly getting sick and we would have to shut the classes down.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,750 Reviews