Kindred Healthcare Reviews in Houston, TX | Glassdoor

Kindred Healthcare Houston Reviews

Updated November 27, 2017
36 reviews

Filter

Filter

Houston, TX

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Kindred Healthcare President and CEO Benjamin A. Breier
Benjamin A. Breier
11 Ratings

36 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • No 401k match since I've been there (5yrs) (in 31 reviews)

  • Upper management watches productivity which can have a negative impact (in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Closure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant/Staffing Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant/Staffing Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work and was like family

    Cons

    The benefits were no good

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience working on our team. We appreciate you sharing feedback with us.


  2. "Billing/Collections/Appeals/Underpayments/Overpayments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Office in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Business Office in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    People.... Really no other pros

    Cons

    low pay, too much work, horrible benefits, some people in management are petty and creates conflict. The building is old and run down.

    Advice to Management

    the CEO should care more about the people who work for the company.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Nov 5, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience as an employee of Kindred. We hope you will consider talking further with our team. We consider your concerns as crucial for our current and future employees. I... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "clerical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerica in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Clerica in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    work with some really great people. fun

    Cons

    company is unstable only interested in profit not employees

    Advice to Management

    minimize changes, they are unsettling to the staff and making everyone feel the company is unstable

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are honored by your service.


  4. "Some great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Houston, TX

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Mostly very dedicated coworkers , professional attitudes.

    Cons

    Chronically understaffed and too focused on growth.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jul 31, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate you sharing your experience working on our team.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "RN CASE MANAGER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I couldn't find any, don't be persuaded

    Cons

    untruthful, untrusting, unsupportive, rude, poor training, doesn't follow own P&P, is not current on Medicare P&P, places your license in jeopardy, poor pay, mileage based on computer, not exact mileage, payment mistakes are not corrected until next paycheck, focus is in the company not the patient.

    Advice to Management

    need to fix the problems, need to be truthfully supportive to staff, work with staff to make work environment more acceptable. don't make staff feel guilty for not taking on additional assignments. don't expect staff to work on call. don't talk behind staffs back about issues. staff needs to be paid for all work done, not based on a computer program that does not take into consideration getting lost or taking a different route. management needs to be more schooled on filling out data on oasis sheets correctly. staff needs ongoing teaching on correct Medicare policies.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jul 26, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience with us. We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture of caring for our patients and residents. I can be... More


  6. "RN case manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, hours, 1 to 1 patient care

    Cons

    Unorganized, long hours, work life balance is hard

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 24, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing and for choosing Kindred. We are honored by your service.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Staffing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staffing Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Staffing Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Atmosphere is cool. small office building but everyone has their own office

    Cons

    Pay.
    The pay doesn't match the work load. Way below deserving wage.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more; they deserve it!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Kindred Healthcare can benefit from upgrading benefits for new hires"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Nurse in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Company has benefits, benefits are pale.

    Cons

    Benefits should be improved and begin within 30 - 60 days.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 24, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture of caring for our patients. Providing your... More


  9. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Controller in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Controller in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good vision and message from leadership; take care of patients

    Cons

    With mergers and acquisitions, the company's new players don't really know the vision and other agendas with financial incentives are taking over.

    Advice to Management

    Stick to what made Kindred great... take care of good employees and continue improving patient care

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate you sharing your positive experience working on our team.


  10. "Rather not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Supervisor in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Nurse Supervisor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Rather not say at this time, will elaborate at a later date if time allows or permits. Thank you in advance

    Cons

    not say at this time, will elaborate at a later date if time allows or permits. Thank you in advance


Showing 36 of 1,343 reviews
Reset Filters