Kindred Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Kindred Healthcare Reviews

Updated May 26, 2017
1,112 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Kindred Healthcare President and CEO Benjamin A. Breier
Benjamin A. Breier
209 Ratings

1,112 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • No 401k match since I've been there (5yrs) (in 28 reviews)

  • Horrible Upper Management that are not true to their word (in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Hospice Patient Care Secretary"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Secretary in Miami, FL
    Current Employee - Patient Care Secretary in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hospice requires special people, so the people are great to work with. They have huge hearts. The work is challenging, but interesting. Salary is commensurate to experience. Good benefits. Growing company.

    Cons

    You work for a large corporation. This means that decisions are made at upper levels where they don't ask for input from the people who actually know what's going on. Hiring decisions are always dependent on census, but they seem to put the cart before the horse. Only when they increase the census will they allow hiring of staff, which puts a huge strain on current clinicians and office staff until new hires can be oriented (a ridiculously long process). This causes burnout for the rest of the clinicians and staff, and many really good people finally just throw up their hands and leave. Corporate managers seem to look at reports to make their decisions instead of finding out what's going on in the field and in the office. Mid-level management meetings are constant. Management's biggest failure is neglecting the input from the people who are actually doing the work. Because of this, staff are frustrated and discouraged in an already difficult job .

    Advice to Management

    Instead of looking at reports to make all your decisions, consider talking directly to the people who are actually doing the work. They can tell you what's going on in the field, in their office and with their staff much more effectively than a numbers report. They will have ideas and suggestions that you may not have considered. This would improve the overall working environment, reduce service failures and burnout, and help to grow Kindred Hospice into the best hospice in the country.


  2. "RN case manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, hours, 1 to 1 patient care

    Cons

    Unorganized, long hours, work life balance is hard

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 24, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing and for choosing Kindred. We are honored by your service.


  3. "Physical Therapist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist in Winston-Salem, NC
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Coworkers work as a team and branch level supervision is supportive.

    Cons

    Pay keeps dropping and work level keeps rising

    Advice to Management

    Create more paths for employee growth

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 24, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing and for choosing Kindred. We are honored by your service.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Human Resources Assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Assistant in Louisville, KY
    Current Employee - Human Resources Assistant in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good compensation for work assignment.

    Cons

    Management Team lacks communication with employees.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 17, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are honored by your service.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Dietary aide"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dietary Aide in Secret Town, CA
    Current Employee - Dietary Aide in Secret Town, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits and room to move up in rank.

    Cons

    Half of facilities are understaffed

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 11, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience while working with us. We embrace a diverse workforce and understand that our employees are critical to our success in upholding our mission ... More


  7. Helpful (8)

    "Good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Louisville, KY
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible, good benefits, nice amenities. Has a gym, cafe, and coffee shop. Most managers allow WFH when necessary.

    Cons

    Instability within departments. Major disconnect between management and employees. Company is on a downhill slide and is reflected in the work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Not all managers are bad. Advice would be to connect with employees better, better inform employees of opportunities, and treat everyone with respect.


  8. "Registered nurse ICU"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Spring, TX
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Spring, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great co-workers and team work

    Cons

    Terrible management, poor staffing, never have CNA's, outdated equipment

    Advice to Management

    focus more on how to keep your nurses happy than bringing in as many patients as possible.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 25, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with Kindred. We value all feedback and utilize it to support our mission. Providing your contact information will help expedite our ... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Occupational Therapist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Occupational Therapist in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Occupational Therapist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Freedom to come in, as long as Pt's are seen within their preference. Flexible work days w proactive rehab team.

    Cons

    Administration hinders rehabilitation productivity, ordering equipment like cushions and walkers takes pulling tooth and nail. As in most places, CNA staffing is always in shortage.

    Advice to Management

    Quality customer service, and flexibility to adaptive equipment or devices when medically necessary.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 3, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience while working with us. We embrace a diverse workforce and understand that our employees are critical to our success in upholding our mission ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Health Aide in Eastland, TX
    Former Employee - Home Health Aide in Eastland, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Competitive pay, flexible schedule, not micro-managed, plenty of independence. Great if you like minimal interaction with other employees and don't mind driving

    Cons

    Lots of driving, I put 250 miles a week on my car, minimal. No opportunity for advancement. You spend a lot of time by yourself, so if that isn't what you like, be aware

    Advice to Management

    Be appreciative of your employees

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 4, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing Kindred.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Nurse Assistant/Senior Nurse Assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Nurse Assistant in Clarksville, IN
    Current Employee - Senior Nurse Assistant in Clarksville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    They become family and people you lean on.

    Cons

    no less than any other job. It's all about perspective and a strong mortality

    Advice to Management

    Keep being the you, I needed when i started there. ♡

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 2, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are honored by your service.


Showing 1,112 of 1,151 reviews
Reset Filters