Kindred Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Kindred Healthcare Reviews

Updated July 14, 2018
1,426 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Kindred Healthcare President and CEO Benjamin A. Breier
Benjamin A. Breier
321 Ratings

1,426 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Very weak benefits package; no 401k match AND employees are limited to contributing only 4% of income" (in 34 reviews)

  • "Upper management looks out solely for their own job security" (in 63 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Very thorough care to patients. Pay attention to details and follow Medicare guidelines very carefully. Focused on providing the beat care to patients in their home.

    Cons

    Communication can be slow between staff at times, but management tries to get information out as consistently as possible.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work on improving communication channels between staff and disciplines.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 11, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate your thoughtful words. We know this special calling requires special people, and we’re glad you’re here.


  2. "Hospice Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospice Specialist
    Current Employee - Hospice Specialist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    There are too many to list! This company goes through such an amazing vetting process to ensure they are hiring the right people and then they 150% dedicate themselves and their resources to the front end training to ensure you are 100% successful in your job! Employees in my position are provided numerous job assist aids, as well as all of the necessary and pertinent information to keep kindred in the forefront of the hospice world! The sales compensation package is unbeatable and offers a great incentive to push that much harder and ensure that all of our patients are receiving the benefit of hospice!

    Cons

    Absolutely NONE! Love kindred and everything they stand for!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!!

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jun 1, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’re glad you have had a great experience working at Kindred! Every single member of our team contributes to the successes of our patients and their families.

    We appreciate the positive... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Register Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    Not as bad as you think the coworkersnmake it fun.

    Cons

    Salary for what you do.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jul 13, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We are happy you shared your experience with us. Our clinicians are the heart of our company.


  4. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    big co - good people to work with

    Cons

    big co - tough to climb up

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jul 12, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive.


  5. "Occupational Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Options to transfer facilities

    Cons

    Low starting pay, minimal raises

    Advice to Management

    Offer steady raises every year to retain good employees

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jul 8, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We value all feedback, good or bad, and strongly believe that our employees are the heart of our company. Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience. I can be reached at... More


  6. "Long-term acute hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Feels like a family

    Cons

    Low pay rate, poor management

    Advice to Management

    Consider increasing the salary of al the hardworking nurses

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jul 5, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’d love to learn more about your experience. We know your input is critical to any potential improvements we need to make. Please reach out to me at experience@kindred.com.

    Thank you, Joy S... More


  7. "AVP Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Patients, employees, compliance, information systems,

    Cons

    Communication, pressure, competing priorities, silos

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jun 26, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We are happy you shared your experience with us. Our employees are the center of our mission – we couldn’t do it without you!

  8. "Program director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, great benefits, many resources, competitive wages

    Cons

    The number of places to login can get confusing

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jun 24, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’re glad you have had a great experience working at Kindred! Every single member of our team contributes to the successes of our patients and their families.


  9. "Rehab Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    flexible, good work-life balance, strong leadership

    Cons

    healthcare benefits are not ideal

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jun 22, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive and we know it takes time out of your busy day to complete.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Small raises will not pay for school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Some good people working there

    Cons

    Will not follow through with tuition reimbursement unless it goes towards a full degree. So a certificate in something extra to help you and the company they will take the low road on with a loyal employee

    Advice to Management

    Stop showing favoritism to just nurses that your company can't seem to retain and show to gratitude towards the employees that want to stay with you. Dont find a loophole in your own policy of "tuition reimbursement " and this push out employees that make your company great in favor of those that don't plan on giving back. Try creating a culture of retention, and not just for nurses but the rest of your staff as well. You just turned a loyal employee into a disgruntled one

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jun 20, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We value all feedback, good or bad, and strongly believe that our employees are the heart of our company. Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience. I can be reached at... More


Showing 1,426 of 1,480 reviews
Reset Filters