Kindred Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Kindred Healthcare Reviews

Updated December 14, 2017
1,296 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Kindred Healthcare President and CEO Benjamin A. Breier
Benjamin A. Breier
278 Ratings

1,296 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • No 401k match since I've been there (5yrs) (in 31 reviews)

  • Upper management watches productivity which can have a negative impact (in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Fast Pased and Patient centered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Rewarding work, patients are appreciative of staff, and great atmosphere

    Cons

    Overtime, late days, and on call

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Dec 8, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you sharing feedback with us.


  2. "Good for Short Term; Don't plan to retire from here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Close knit
    Understanding of employee life/family
    Excellent co-workers
    Block scheduling (at least for me)
    Family environment
    Everyone knows everyone (including the CEO and other "higher ups"
    Mutual respect among staff and most management

    Cons

    Technologically about 20 years in the past (probably more)
    Pay is mediocre
    Family benefits are EXPENSIVE (over $700/mo for many of us)
    Some favoritism from scheduler and some management/charge nurses
    Many necessary items needed for work are not readily available; need to call the charge RN to get them... if we can get them at all
    The buildings are old visibly worn; Kindred does NOT spend money on making things look nice!
    No Pyxis; no medication/patient scanning for med pass -- manual counting of medications at each shift change
    No 401K Match (well, I think it's like 1% now... they just started that recently)

    Advice to Management

    Nothing management can do really. Their hands are tied too.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Dec 9, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience as an employee of Kindred. We hope you will consider talking further with our team. We consider your concerns as crucial for our current and future employees. I... More

  3. "Could be worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Set schedules every week. Pay is equal to what VHS hospitals pay, albeit on the low end. Wound care and therapies are exceptional. It's honestly one of the better rehabs in the city, despite how old the buildings are. I have been lucky to have worked all over the valley in all kinds of areas, and I've found kindred and others like it have some of the smartest, hardest working nursing staff, even better than most hospital staff.

    Cons

    Health insurance options suck, but cheaper and better than what ACA costs and offers (thanks, Trump). The Filipino nurses speak Tagalog at the nurse's station, on the floor, and in patient's rooms despite administration insisting it's against policy. RT at night does not do all scheduled meds, oral care, and rarely answers their lights. If you call them over the radio, it takes them far too long to respond or acknowledge, if at all. Some of the doctors/practitioners are rude and unprofessional to staff and patients, but that's everywhere in medicine.

    Advice to Management

    Please help with the Tagalog on the floor because it's isolating to the rest of the staff. They are obvious when talking about other people, staff and patients. They do not make an effort to help the CNAs even when directly asked. RT needs to be observed at night. Patients have valid complaints boarding on neglect or abuse by staff, including doctors when they refuse to medicate pain well, if at all, and don't return phone calls or have orders on record for low or high blood pressures. Pan blood cultures for a fever isn't necessary if other sepsis symptoms are not present. It's quicker and is effective to get segmented band and lactic acid levels done to rule out sepsis. It'll save time, money and patients won't get so angry like they do now when they get cultures done 3 times a week. Some CNAs aren't taking blood pressures correctly with the right size cuffs and need to be reeducated. They take oral temps on vented patients who can't keep the probe under their tongues. We do acuity screens but they don't seem to be utilized much. Pharmacy schedules IV meds at the same time as other IV meds, which makes giving antibiotics or seizure meds on time very difficult if they have to run for 2-4 hours each. 24 hour tubing for antibiotics isn't practiced in acute hospitals and is a huge waste if they can be used for 72. PICC/Central lines aren't being flushed in all ports every shift, much less every day, and giving TPA is dangerous just because nurses don't want to flush the lines. Lastly, nurses won't draw from those lines and tell the phlebotomists the lines don't work when they do, and patients are unhappy with peripheral sticks every day.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We embrace a diverse workforce and believe that our employees are critical to our success in upholding our mission of providing excellent care. Thank you for reaching out to let us know your... More


  4. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LVN in Humble, TX
    Former Employee - LVN in Humble, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Weekly Pay, great team of nurses to work with. Efficient management.

    Cons

    No raise in a few years even though promised one

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience working on our team. We appreciate you sharing feedback with us.


  5. "All about performance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Staff and people whom you work close with are amazing! Lots of support given from immediate co-workers within your branch.

    Cons

    All about numbers. Daily calls. Daily documentation. Daily micromanagement! Repetitive reports, calls, emails, etc.

    No communication coming down when changes are being made within company.

    When trying to get something approved or done it will take weeks to get an answer. No way to go directly to who will give you the answer to help or solve your problem. Stuff falls through the cracks.

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your people. The pressures put on the sales staff is unexplainable. I felt like a number, and only a number.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’d love to learn more about your experience. We know your input is critical to any potential improvements we need to make. Please reach out to me at experience@kindred.com.

    Thank you, Joy S... More


  6. "Company/Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Company. Pay is Good. Seems Flexible.

    Cons

    Pay per Hour now instead of pay per visit.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Dec 3, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We are happy you shared your positive experience with us. Our employees are the center of our mission – we couldn’t do it without you!


  7. "Enjoy my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westminster, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westminster, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    All the staff here from hospital division, west region and business office are always so kind and helpful. Administration has an open door policy. Some people complain only because that's the only way they can function nothing is perfect

    Cons

    The drive into work is horrible on the 605 and 405 freeway

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Dec 1, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’re glad you have had a great experience working at Kindred! Every single member of our team contributes to the successes of our patients and their families.

  8. "Great 5-Year Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rehabilitation Technician in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Rehabilitation Technician in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The staff is kind and patient. Great group of people to work with.

    Cons

    The elevator is often not operating.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’re glad you had a great experience working with us. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

    Please take this two-minute survey to share your experience and allow us to continue to... More


  9. "Closure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant/Staffing Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant/Staffing Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work and was like family

    Cons

    The benefits were no good

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience working on our team. We appreciate you sharing feedback with us.


  10. "Admissions Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, OH
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company had there stuff together.

    Cons

    They sold all of there Skilled Nurses Facilities.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Nov 22, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.


Showing 1,296 of 1,343 reviews
Reset Filters