Kindred Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Kindred Healthcare Reviews

Updated October 21, 2017
1,256 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Kindred Healthcare President and CEO Benjamin A. Breier
Benjamin A. Breier
262 Ratings

1,256 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • No 401k match since I've been there (5yrs) (in 29 reviews)

  • Upper management watches productivity which can have a negative impact (in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Extremely overwhelming at first, but once I found a routine that worked for me, my time management got better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Ontario, CA
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This is a great long term acute care hospital where patients are with us for more than a week depending on how sick they are. We are basically an overflow from ICU/DOU/CCU at an acute hospital like Pomona Valley Medical Center or San Antonio Regional Hospital. We do continued care for what they were admitted for at the acute hospital. We are a family and provide great teamwork for each other, especially on unit 2.

    Cons

    There is a High turnover rate due to the amount of work for a nurse & not enough pay, but it is a great place to learn and see everything.

    Advice to Management

    There should be some more assistance on the floor with charge nurses & house supervisors instead of doing paperwork all day and not assisting staff members or patients on the floor when they’re on the unit.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Manager in Chesterfield, MO
    Current Employee - Nurse Manager in Chesterfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Feel like the company is invested in me and feel valued

    Cons

    staff turnover is my biggest concern

    Advice to Management

    continue to invest in the employees, the rewards will be plentiful

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are honored by your service!

  3. "Patient care tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great staff, good pay, and smaller facility.

    Cons

    Hard to get threw the being process.

    Advice to Management

    More equal treatment to all levels of staff.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 20, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate your sharing your experience working on our team.

    Would you be willing to share more about your experience? It will only take two minutes, but the impact of sharing your successes... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Overtime Overtime Overtime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The rate of pay and healthcare coverage is good. You'll receive wealth of experience there.

    Cons

    The condition of the patients there is post critical. You will have to work hard for what you get. Compassion is a must but unfortunately the management makes it hard for you to do your work above par. There are no longer any incentives other than time- and- a- half for extra hours that you put in.

    Advice to Management

    A job well done goes unacknowledged. Employee appreciation goes a longer way than criticizing.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate your sharing your experience working on our team.


  5. "Nursing assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - STNA in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - STNA in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule..I work in the hopsice department and only work mon-friday.

    Cons

    Annual raises are not every year . Management dosent speak up for employees .

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 20, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive and we know it takes time out of your busy day to complete.


  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Business Office Manager
    Former Employee - Area Business Office Manager
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great manager, great resources for training and learning, career advancement

    Cons

    benefits started changing drastically, which I felt would hurt associates like CNAs or dietary aides that barely made more than minimum wage.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 18, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience working on our team. We appreciate your sharing feedback with us.

    Please take this two-minute survey to share your experience and allow us to continue to... More


  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    Excellent company, kind individuals, easy to access.

    Cons

    No cons to identify at this time.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. Please consider sharing your experience with friends who are looking for a career in healthcare!

  8. "Director of sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Pay well, decent support with collateral and technology for sales team

    Cons

    Poor care in several nursing homes, management didn’t fix it by removing problem employees. Too much turnover in mgmt positions

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 14, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’d love to learn more about your experience. We know your input is critical to any potential improvements we need to make. Please reach out to me at experience@kindred.com.

    Thank you, Joy S... More


  9. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Love the employees as we work together and as a team. Also like the patient population as it is very challenging and I learned so much. My manager was also great and stood behind employees

    Cons

    Staffing is off and the staff turn over rate is really high for nursing. High patient to nurse ratio. Census is also unstable.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your nurses better and appreciate them. Definitely need nursing education classes. Work with nurses on schedule and improve nurse to patient ratios also CNA to patient ratios to improve overall patient satisfaction and lower patient incidence.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 14, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We believe in maximizing the potential of our employees and the only way we can grow is to learn from our successes as well as our failures. Thank you for reaching out to let us know about your... More


  10. "East houston closed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Benefits where pretty good there

    Cons

    Pay for the workload wasn't well matched

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.


Showing 1,256 of 1,298 reviews
Reset Filters