Kindred Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Kindred Healthcare Reviews

Updated April 24, 2017
1,077 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Kindred Healthcare President and CEO Benjamin A. Breier
Benjamin A. Breier
197 Ratings

1,077 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • No 401k match since I've been there (5yrs) (in 28 reviews)

  • Upper management is changed frequently (in 53 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Louisville, KY
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible, good benefits, nice amenities. Has a gym, cafe, and coffee shop. Most managers allow WFH when necessary.

    Cons

    Instability within departments. Major disconnect between management and employees. Company is on a downhill slide and is reflected in the work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Not all managers are bad. Advice would be to connect with employees better, better inform employees of opportunities, and treat everyone with respect.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Sales Team"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Liaison in Orange, CA
    Former Employee - Clinical Liaison in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Supportive sales management team and CEO

    Cons

    Cost of health insurance on the high side

    Advice to Management

    Fantastic place to work and I learned volumes from all of you. Thank you Kindred for giving e an opportunity to break into healthcare sales.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Apr 13, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you sharing your positive feedback with us.


  3. "Kindred at Home"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Lisison in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Community Lisison in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    National Company with good name recognition

    Cons

    Corporate structure, decisions tend to come down from on high.
    Lots of acquisitions and IT system changes and frustrations. They are still trying to figure out the culture after kindred/gentiva merger.

    Advice to Management

    Plan ahead better and role out changes in a more detailed and seamless manner

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Apr 18, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture of caring for our patients and residents ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "mechanic"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanic in Westminster, CA
    Former Employee - Mechanic in Westminster, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    great place to work helping people

    Cons

    on call all the time

    Advice to Management

    share work load

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Apr 11, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate you sharing your positive experience working on our team.


  6. "Not a good culture since Gentiva is running the show"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Xfinity Sales Professional in Louisville, KY
    Former Employee - Xfinity Sales Professional in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great employee benefits and HR support

    Cons

    The Kindred culture was awesome until they purchased Gentiva. Why Kindred chose to let a losing company run their company baffles me to no end.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from the Kindred culture and lose the Gentiva one.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture. Providing your contact information will help ... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "The largest"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Liaison in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Liaison in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    You can transfer to any city in almost every state.

    Cons

    Hiring process moves slowly.

    Advice to Management

    Be more hands on with encouraging your employees to further career advancement.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are honored by your service.


  8. "Good company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Controller in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Controller in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good vision and message from leadership; take care of patients

    Cons

    With mergers and acquisitions, the company's new players don't really know the vision and other agendas with financial incentives are taking over.

    Advice to Management

    Stick to what made Kindred great... take care of good employees and continue improving patient care

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate you sharing your positive experience working on our team.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Louisville, KY
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I was able to work from home as an off-site designer for three years. The design/marketing team was very welcoming and inclusive despite me being an out-of-state employee.

    Cons

    None, personally. My best experience so far in my graphic design career. I was allowed to continue working with a team of designers, even after this company acquired my previous employer.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pale shadow of former best-place-to-work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Kindred, during the years 2005-2015 about..was THE place to work at.I was fortunate to experiecne those years. The benefits were good,culture was awesome, location like an art museum to go into.If you wer ein technology they trained you on latest/greatest stuff, brought any hardware or software to keep up with the market. People liked their work,supported each other and worked as teams.In short, it will be on top of the list of the best places i've ever worked at.

    Cons

    Closer to 2012-2013, they started to yank benefits. There was no 401k,raises were barely noticeable(sometimes you got none), passion for technology tanked with more outsourcing and crappy vendor products, people started to work from home a lot (a benefit one would say but did great damage to team spirit and culture). It is a pale shadow of its former days, very sad to see.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to older employees or even former employees on how cool those days were. Revive passion and interest for technology. Try to get back there. I'd be personally back in a heartbeat if that happens.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Apr 18, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with Kindred. We value all feedback and utilize it to support our mission. Providing your contact information will help expedite our ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Decent pay, but that's about all"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay. Small facility. Bonus on OT

    Cons

    Worst management ever. Poor cleanliness practices.

    Advice to Management

    Ditch The CCO. There is zero relationship between her and the employees.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture of caring for our patients and residents ... More



Showing 1,077 of 1,115 reviews
Reset Filters