Kindred Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Kindred Healthcare Reviews

Updated February 20, 2019
1,524 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Kindred Healthcare President and CEO Benjamin A. Breier
Benjamin A. Breier
353 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Very weak benefits package; no 401k match AND employees are limited to contributing only 4% of income" (in 34 reviews)

  • "Upper management not returning phone calls" (in 67 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (8)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Very thorough care to patients. Pay attention to details and follow Medicare guidelines very carefully. Focused on providing the beat care to patients in their home.

    Cons

    Communication can be slow between staff at times, but management tries to get information out as consistently as possible.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work on improving communication channels between staff and disciplines.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 11, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate your thoughtful words. We know this special calling requires special people, and we’re glad you’re here.


  2. "Talent Acquisition Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Management support and compensation were excellent.

    Cons

    Communication from upper level management could use some refining.

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at the company benefit package.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jan 8, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience working on our team. We appreciate you sharing feedback with us.

    Please take this two-minute survey to share your experience and allow us to continue to... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Rehab tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rehab Tech in Spokane, WA
    Former Employee - Rehab Tech in Spokane, WA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fun
    Learned a lot
    Co workers

    Cons

    No advancement.
    Wage freeze for 2+ years

    Advice to Management

    Value current employees and their wages if want to keep them

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Feb 21, 2019 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience working on our team. We appreciate your feedback.


  4. "Terrific Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Philadelphia, PA

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Caring staff and a real wonderful learning environment

    Cons

    Limited vacation time and tough commute

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Feb 13, 2019 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’re glad you have had a great experience working at Kindred. Every member of our team contributes to the successes of our patients and their families.


  5. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    treat you like family .

    Cons

    enhance the salary needed maybe !

    Advice to Management

    enhance the salary

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Feb 9, 2019 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’re glad you have had a great experience with us. Our employees truly are at the center of our mission.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Decent with patients, not so much with employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Remote Medical Coder in Ballston Spa, NY
    Former Employee - Remote Medical Coder in Ballston Spa, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Decent benefits, they usually make sure patient care is taken care of.

    Cons

    Very little regard for employee satisfaction and morale. Terrible at sharing needed information. Tendency to shuffle around ineffective middle management staff instead of firing them.

    Advice to Management

    Care for your employees. We are your greatest asset. The bottom line is not the most important thing.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Feb 22, 2019 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Would you be willing to share your experience in more detail? We can be reached at experience@kindred.com.


  7. "Thoughts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good working environment. Great staff.

    Cons

    Nursing to patient ratio too large given complexity of patients.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff concerns

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Feb 12, 2019 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive.

  8. "I would not recommend this facility to be a healthy work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Respiratory Therapist
    Current Employee - Respiratory Therapist
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Building relationships with the residents.

    Cons

    The management lacks leadership skills and shows favoritism.

    Advice to Management

    Need to improve on your leadership skills and quit showing favoritism.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Feb 21, 2019 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We do not wish for any employee experience to be a negative one. We can be reached at experience@kindred.com to talk to you about your experience. Or you may call our compliance hotline at... More


  9. "Stagnant and hierarchical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Employee in Louisville, KY
    Former Employee - Corporate Employee in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Wellness center is supportive and helpful

    Cons

    Expensive healthcare, very small 401k matching contribution, heavy handed management style, small and inconsistent raises, inability to retain talented employees, place people in improper job titles without adequate education . Cafeteria food is terrible.

    Advice to Management

    Less emphasis on a dictatorial management style and more emphasis on collaboration. Provide employees with the necessary information to make informed decisions for both the company and themselves. Company values don’t mean anything if management doesn’t walk the talk.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Feb 5, 2019 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience. Would you be willing to share your experience in more detail? We can be reached at experience@kindred.com.


  10. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Utilization Review Coder in Remote, OR
    Former Employee - Utilization Review Coder in Remote, OR

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Supportive in keeping you up to date on changes.
    Provided all necessary tools to do job.

    Cons

    None. Terminated coding positions within the company.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jan 29, 2019 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience working on our team. We appreciate you sharing feedback.