Kindred Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Kindred Healthcare Reviews

Updated December 17, 2018
1,500 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Kindred Healthcare President and CEO Benjamin A. Breier
Benjamin A. Breier
347 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Very weak benefits package; no 401k match AND employees are limited to contributing only 4% of income" (in 34 reviews)

  • "Upper management not returning phone calls" (in 66 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (6)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Very thorough care to patients. Pay attention to details and follow Medicare guidelines very carefully. Focused on providing the beat care to patients in their home.

    Cons

    Communication can be slow between staff at times, but management tries to get information out as consistently as possible.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work on improving communication channels between staff and disciplines.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 11, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate your thoughtful words. We know this special calling requires special people, and we’re glad you’re here.


  2. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Memphis, TN
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Teamwork amongst the floor staff was stellar, absolutely great workers.

    Cons

    There was no support nor resources provided by management or administration.

    Advice to Management

    Listen and advocate for your employees.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Aug 28, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’d love to learn more about your experience. We know your input is critical to any potential improvements we need to make. Please reach out to me at experience@kindred.com. Thank you, Eric B... More

  3. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Great Extrashift pay, with lots of opportunity

    Cons

    Poor Base pay and raise


  4. "A great place to grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Various opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    All or nothing commission structure.


  5. "kindred"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good work schedule 3 days a week

    Cons

    pay could be better due to increase in cosy of living

    Advice to Management

    increase pay

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Dec 13, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive.


  6. "Managed care and Insurance specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Benefits other than health

    Cons

    Healthcare plans were horrible

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Dec 13, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive.


  7. "Accounts payable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Laid back work environment, friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    Need more training for employees

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Dec 6, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We are happy you shared your experience with us. Our employees are at the core of our mission.

  8. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive
    Former Employee - Account Executive
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good work life balance and pay (for now...I think the new investment firm will change this).

    Cons

    Bad management and no room for advancement for women. They bro down hard.

    Advice to Management

    Better direction as to strategy and planning. Recognize women (outside of nursing) and recognize efforts.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Dec 15, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We value all feedback, good or bad, and strongly believe that our employees are the heart of our company. Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience. I can be reached at... More


  9. "Clinical manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great team and staff. Great support from the office.

    Cons

    Terrible insurance deductible plans

    Advice to Management

    Great management at the branch

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Dec 6, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We are happy you shared your experience with us. Our employees are at the core of our mission.


  10. "kindred"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    a lot of facilities to go to incase census is low

    Cons

    management unsupportive, cared mostly about minutes and money

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Dec 6, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate you sharing your experience working on our team.