Kindred Healthcare Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Kindred Healthcare President and CEO Benjamin A. Breier
Benjamin A. Breier
483 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Benefits and Career Advancement(in 43 reviews)

  • "Good pay, remote work environment option(in 42 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management was not attentive(in 73 reviews)

  • "Only cares about money, not patient care(in 53 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Kindred Healthcare and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Staff RN

      Apr 1, 2021 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Able to watch wounds progress over 3-4 weeks

      Cons

      Regulations can be tough sometimes

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kindred Healthcare Response

      Manager of Online Reputation

      Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your sharing feedback with us. -Keenan B.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      If you like being written up work here

      Apr 11, 2021 - Staff RN 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free breakfast and cheap lunch Free coffee and soda

      Cons

      Leadership is not helpful. The ceo comes on the floor and demand rn drop everything to help her right now when we are struggling to give care. She is an rn just like us. There is not support for anyone. One mistake on anything and it's written up on it final written warning. Very stressful to work this way in terror every day is your last day. Parking is terrible. Ceo gave everyone free parking for the year but the walk from the lot is unsafe walking past drug use areas and homeless. Time and time they prove staff are disposable and no one cares. Lots of turnover. Full time staff are always leaving and the place depends on travelers every 13 weeks to survive. Leadership constantly proves they say one thing and do another. Can't make someone care

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kindred Healthcare Response

      Manager of Online Reputation

      Would you be willing to share your experience in more detail? I can be reached at experience@kindred.com. Thank you, Keenan B.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to wrok

      May 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very flexible, rewarding, supportive, diverse

      Cons

      work life balance is hard

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      benefits

      May 8, 2021 - LVN II in Tamaqua, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good benefits, ratio is excellent!

      Cons

      Very old building! Location is the safest!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Know what you're getting into

      Mar 24, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is competitive. You get one floating holiday per year. There is a lot of autonomy, and if you are seeing patients you can start and structure your day however works for you.

      Cons

      Extremely high turnover rates, leading to the skeleton crew of staff to be overburdened. It is not a culture of excellence, but rather a culture of mediocrity. Process and quality improvement are non-existent. Something needs to be done to address the retention and staffing problem. The realities of the company are glossed over during the interview process, possibly outright lied about. Patient numbers are declining as patients and families prefer other local hospice groups. Again, something needs to be done, but no plans have been put in place. If you are a full time employee and do on-call (which is required), you only get $2/hr to be on call. You do get a reimbursement if you make a visit, but it is so low that you will end up working for a 1/3 of your hourly pay. Part of the reason the pay doesn't compensate is because the patients live so far away from the office. While the office is in Charlottesville, most of the patients are in Culpeper and further north. Lastly, the driving reimbursement doesn't match the national rate, and the benefits are terrible (time off, and retirement match are the lowest I have ever seen).

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kindred Healthcare Response

      Manager of Online Reputation

      Thank you for sharing your experience as an employee of Kindred. We hope you will consider talking further with our team. We consider your concerns as crucial for our current and future employees. I can be reached at experience@kindred.com, or you may remain anonymous and report your concerns by calling our compliance hotline at 1-844-760-5835. Thank you, Keenan B.

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Kindred Hospital was the worst place I have ever worked.

      May 6, 2021 - Receptionist in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping the patients families get through their stay.

      Cons

      Extremely poor leadership who refuses to address the root cause of issues.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Salary scale

      May 7, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Colwick, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment with good team work

      Cons

      They are usually short staffed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Okay place to work if starting your career and don't rely on money

      Apr 29, 2021 - Therapist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff and flexible schedule

      Cons

      If you are hired as full-time it is not guaranteed you'll have 40 hours. I averaged at 15-25 hours for the past 3 months and before that only 35 hours max. Never reached full 40 hours the entire time I was employed. So if you heavily rely on money look elsewhere. The company is pro-profit so they only care about making the most money, so they will micromanage everything and get on your case constantly about productivity, how much time you should spend with patients, with nurses, time span you should clock in/out, etc. Sadly, most of the time you'll be caring more about making sure you're meeting Kindred's expectations rather than patient care due to management always changing and adding new expectations as well as getting on your case. It is really hard to meet productivity when caseload is low and despite giving them valid reasons, upper management doesn't understanding and will still pressure you on meeting productivity.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company

      May 2, 2021 - Hospital Chief Executive Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Literally everything that a patient needs is available with no questions asked.

      Cons

      N/A can’t think of anything.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kindred Healthcare Response

      Manager of Online Reputation

      Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your sharing feedback with us. -Keenan B.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      N/a

      Apr 29, 2021 - Rehab Aide in Exeter, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, no weekends, good people

      Cons

      None, i had a good experience

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kindred Healthcare Response

      Manager of Online Reputation

      We are happy you shared your experience with us. Our employees are at the core of our mission! -Keenan B.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,947 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Kindred Healthcare Job Seekers

    RN, Registered Nurse
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Physical Therapist Assistant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Kindred Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    or