Kindred Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Kindred Healthcare Reviews

Updated February 21, 2018
1,338 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Kindred Healthcare President and CEO Benjamin A. Breier
Benjamin A. Breier
296 Ratings

1,338 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Very weak benefits package; no 401k match AND employees are limited to contributing only 4% of income (in 33 reviews)

  • Upper management looks out solely for their own job security (in 61 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Friendly people and make your own working schedule

    Cons

    They are up and down with patient numbers so might get called off

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jan 19, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate you sharing your experience working on our team.


  2. "HIM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    There is no micro management, work independently

    Cons

    There are no raises, no chances of advancement

  3. Helpful (2)

    "lpn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    flexible schedule and able to pick up extra shifts

    Cons

    Management hard to get in contact with and uncaring to employee needs

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Feb 5, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’d love to learn more about your experience. We know your input is critical to any potential improvements we need to make. Please reach out to me at experience@kindred.com.

    Thank you, Joy S... More


  4. "PRN Respiratory Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    Like co-workers, scheduling is decent

    Cons

    Little training across the organization

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Feb 8, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

    Would you be willing to share more about your experience? It will only take two minutes, but the impact of sharing your successes... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "clinical supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    good benefits for the job type

    Cons

    corporate culture seemed to care about only the bottom line

    Advice to Management

    care more about the patient

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jan 31, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience working on our team. We appreciate you sharing feedback with us.


  6. "Accounting Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Accounting Specialist in Kansas City, MO
    Former Employee - Accounting Specialist in Kansas City, MO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Staff is friendly and helpful everyone works as a team

    Cons

    I was only there for 3 months has the hospital was closed

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jan 31, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate you sharing your experience working on our team.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Unit Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits. Tuition Assistant. Positive work environment.

    Cons

    (Will update when I experience one)

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jan 31, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We are happy you shared your positive experience with us. Our employees are the center of our mission – we couldn’t do it without you!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "RNCM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare part-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Enjoyed working with co workers and visiting with my patients.

    Cons

    To much office drama/politics from managers. No opportunity for growth, low pay and constant micromanaging from supervision.

    Advice to Management

    Cooperate should hire office director's that understand and has experience in hospice services. Case managers are expected to take over night on call 2-3 nights wkly.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Jan 31, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture of properly caring for our patients and residents. Thank you for reaching out to let us know about your experience working... More


  9. Helpful (6)

    "BAD PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Nationwide company that has made a name for themselves in terms of being business-minded. Kindred has a very large foot print in the American healthcare landscape. Employee benefits are satisfactory.

    Cons

    Absolute lack of care for the employees. Upper management looks out solely for their own job security. Management created a never-ending cycle of rules, regulations, policies,and procedures under the guise of efficiency to justify their own existence while creating workloads that were nearly impossible to manage. There is no job security for the field employees.

    Advice to Management

    Nurses, Therapists and other caregivers are not machines!!! Employees give you their all, then they get sick and die from the stress that is put on them.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Feb 3, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience. Would you be willing to talk with our team? The impact of sharing your concerns is crucial to the future experience of other employees. I... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Workers are wonderful people working in difficult environments.

    Cons

    Bottom line appears to be driver

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Feb 11, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’d love to learn more about your experience. We know your input is critical to any potential improvements we need to make. Please reach out to me at experience@kindred.com.

    Thank you, Joy S... More


Showing 1,338 of 1,388 reviews
Reset Filters