Kindred Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Kindred Healthcare Reviews

Updated September 24, 2018
1,467 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Kindred Healthcare President and CEO Benjamin A. Breier
Benjamin A. Breier
333 Ratings

1,467 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Very weak benefits package; no 401k match AND employees are limited to contributing only 4% of income" (in 34 reviews)

  • "Upper management not returning phone calls" (in 65 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Very thorough care to patients. Pay attention to details and follow Medicare guidelines very carefully. Focused on providing the beat care to patients in their home.

    Cons

    Communication can be slow between staff at times, but management tries to get information out as consistently as possible.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work on improving communication channels between staff and disciplines.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    May 11, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We appreciate your thoughtful words. We know this special calling requires special people, and we’re glad you’re here.


  2. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Memphis, TN
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Teamwork amongst the floor staff was stellar, absolutely great workers.

    Cons

    There was no support nor resources provided by management or administration.

    Advice to Management

    Listen and advocate for your employees.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Aug 28, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’d love to learn more about your experience. We know your input is critical to any potential improvements we need to make. Please reach out to me at experience@kindred.com. Thank you, Eric B... More

  3. "Worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cardiac Monitor Technician/Health Unit Coordinator/Acute Care CNA in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Cardiac Monitor Technician/Health Unit Coordinator/Acute Care CNA in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I loved the people I worked with at Kindred. Lifelong skills were given to me as a CNA coming from Geriatric care. I was taught acute care skills and how to be a Monitor Tech. The friendships and skills were worth all of the craziness.

    Cons

    Pay your staff accordingly. I was the most senior staff member at the time, I decided to leave. They are working on going union and deserve to be paid for the hard work and dedication. My heart and soul was put into Kindred, and I did not want to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Pay staff what they are worth. I was trained as a Monitor Tech and was the most senior staff member. I decided to leave because after 5 years, I was only offered 0.25 cents more an hour.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Sep 25, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.We value every piece of feedback we receive.


  4. "Case manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexibility, managers genuinely care about employees

    Cons

    Not many options to move up in company

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Sep 20, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive.


  5. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    It is a Work friendly environment

    Cons

    Just started. Yet to fund any

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Sep 20, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are honored by your service.


  6. "Clinical Coordinator/LVN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Great team was built to work with.

    Cons

    IT department was horrible.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Sep 20, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive.


  7. "Front desk Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Needham, MA
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Needham, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The money was really good!

    Cons

    The facility I worked at was closing, there was a lack of passion. Everyone started showing apathy, I think they were just over it.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Sep 20, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive.

  8. "Kindred Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    At my level there is a high degree of autonomy, excellent PTO, and variety in my work. I genuinely enjoy the work that I do and the people that I interact with.

    Cons

    Healthcare benefits are good but slightly expensive.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Sep 13, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive.


  9. "Unit Sec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Secretary in Tomball, TX
    Current Employee - Unit Secretary in Tomball, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent place to work for
    Very friendly environment

    Cons

    Need to work on to be more technologically advance hospital

    Advice to Management

    Take the company to next or next to next level

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Sep 13, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive.


  10. "Kindred/Girling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tyler, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tyler, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    The clients.
    Hours.
    Travel to clients were not too far.
    Work was easy.
    No wait times.
    Clock in/clock out east.

    Cons

    Getting paid.
    Upper management not returning phone calls.

    Advice to Management

    Call back those who leave a voicemail.
    Never ever make the employee feel like they don't matter.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Sep 13, 2018 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive.


Showing 1,467 of 1,522 reviews
Reset Filters