Kindred Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Kindred Healthcare Reviews

Updated December 14, 2017
1,296 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

1,296 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • No 401k match since I've been there (5yrs) (in 31 reviews)

  • Upper management watches productivity which can have a negative impact (in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Agawam, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Agawam, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    competitive wages , facility clean, caring nurses and CNA's

    Cons

    Nursing management team not supportive, unrealistic expectations, superficial smiles

    Advice to Management

    many nurses will do what you ask until they are burnt out and leave. Be smart enough to notice this before it happens.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 28, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience as an employee of Kindred. We hope you will consider talking further with our team. We consider your concerns as crucial for our current and future employees. I... More


  2. "Director of sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Pay well, decent support with collateral and technology for sales team

    Cons

    Poor care in several nursing homes, management didn’t fix it by removing problem employees. Too much turnover in mgmt positions

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 14, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’d love to learn more about your experience. We know your input is critical to any potential improvements we need to make. Please reach out to me at experience@kindred.com.

    Thank you, Joy S... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not real good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    That I had a job.

    Cons

    lack of pay raises. After 9 years, still not paid as much as the person before me.
    Excessive red tape to get equipment. Covering problems to give the appearance that it is being corrected to inspectors. Always seemed profit/bonuses before care. Continual lack of staff, sometimes to the point of being dangerous.

    Advice to Management

    Save your money on the acriclic plaques and crappy key rings. I saw most of them hit the trash within a few minutes of being presented. Show that you really appreciate your employees with some that they can really use. Saw way too many struggle just to put food on their table.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 25, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience as an employee of Kindred. We hope you will consider talking further with our team. We consider your concerns as crucial for our current and future employees. I... More


  4. "East houston closed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Benefits where pretty good there

    Cons

    Pay for the workload wasn't well matched

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.


  5. "Physical Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Direct Supervisor valued work-life balance, supported his employees, and held an open door policy for communication and feedback.

    Cons

    Frequent change in company policies and excessive productivity standards.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience working on our team. We appreciate your sharing feedback with us.


  6. "Registered nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Virginia Beach, VA
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, loved the patients. Good co-workers

    Cons

    The managers knew less than the nurses. None of them were experienced and they were immature and very catty. Made it hard to work with people that were supposed to train me and didn't know anything.

    Advice to Management

    Get training before you attempt to train people. Leave your personal feelings at the door. Become professionals.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Nov 9, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We believe in maximizing the potential of our employees and the only way we can grow is to learn from our successes as well as our failures. Thank you for reaching out to let us know about your... More


  7. "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    I work with some wonderful people. Wiling to answer any questions or assist when needed.

    Cons

    High stress at times. Always need extra help and if you like overtime its available.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We are happy you shared your positive experience with us. Our employees are the center of our mission – we couldn’t do it without you!

  8. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    New owners 10/1/17 also interested in the care and services to Residents, Families and Staff

    Cons

    They only get paid by Medicaid $8.29 an hour based on a 24 hour day for providing skilled care 24/7/365 to 75% of the residents. You do the math.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the right thing.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive and we know it takes time out of your busy day to complete.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Its a job like any other you have good days and bad days. I dont come to work to do anything but work.

    Cons

    Pay, annual increases, benefits, no leadership, no communication, senior management isnt the strongest and wants to outdo each other instead of working together. They concerned about their paycheck and dont care about their employees unless its their favorites or friends. Lack of growth and development for employees, friends or favorite employees get promoted. Typical corporate culture that is back stabbing and lots of favoritism. No appreciation for good hard working staff.

    Advice to Management

    Be observant to what is happening.

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know about your experience. It goes without saying, but our employees play a critical role in helping Kindred deliver quality care. I can be reached at... More


  10. "Good and exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Coordinator in Cleveland, OH
    Current Employee - Quality Coordinator in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great team, excellent support from Coorporation, access to education!

    Cons

    As any healthcare position, short staffed at times.

    Advice to Management

    To continue to listen to the employees...the best pulse of a company! The current management does a good job!

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’re glad you have had a great experience working at Kindred! Every single member of our team contributes to the successes of our patients and their families.

    We would love for you to further... More


Showing 1,296 of 1,343 reviews
Reset Filters