KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

King

Is this your company?

King

Add a Review

King Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 354 of over 393 reviews

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
King President Humam Sakhnini
Humam Sakhnini
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "All the great people that working at King(in 35 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is also great, there is a lot of emphasis on focusing on delivery and people/team happiness(in 33 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "King games are in steady decline as competitors snap up the growing casual puzzle audience who want better games(in 47 reviews)

  • "Some studios have more benefits than others because are related to the location(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A beautiful respite in the tumultuous game industry

      Jul 24, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Games, Games, Games - surrounded by amazing like-minded nerds who come from some of the best companies around, having worked on some of the world's best IP - Heavy focus on diversity and inclusion, it is not just a buzzword here - Data-informed teams/transparency from leadership - Benefit/Compensation - Free noms - Lots of international travel depending on role - Lack of toxic masculinity that permeates other studio's cultures - everyone is heard here! - Mission statement: Every day we look to create IP and content that makes people smile. We are inclusive, your aunt, mom and best friend have played at least one of our games!

      Cons

      - If you're in North America, expect lots of early morning calls with folks across the pond. (If you're a morning person, move this bullet into the pro section.) - Certain segments of the business occasionally have a hard time understanding issues based on region and is very EU centric, we're working on it!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      it can be fun, can be toxic. Manager and office matter.

      Dec 4, 2020 - Salary Employee - Rather Not Say in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun games, global offices, smart & capable people

      Cons

      Constant put-downs, name-calling, belittling, stonewalling, gossipping of other colleagues, and extreme micro-managing, I mean into your nights, morning, and weekends. That was my experience with my manager. Years after, I still find myself talking about the experience with my therapist. Thinking back, not all feedback was bad, some were indeed helpful, but not at all communicated in a constructive manner. Inspire your employees, mentor them, if they are still not up to the job, letting them go before all these abusive behaviors. Unfortunately, there were more people who experienced the same under her, none spoke up for various reasons, but the last time I checked, she's been promoted multiple times.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company, needs more innovation

      Feb 1, 2020 - Private 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome Benefits, great people, yearly company get togethers are memorable and productive

      Cons

      Since the acquisition, King has lost some of the innovative streak that marked my time there. I hope that will change.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Candy Crush life support

      Feb 20, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People who want to work in games are generally nice.

      Cons

      - Management is toxic. The creative directors tend to be skilled and great people. Unfortunately, middle management and account manager types make this place toxic. - The working culture is opposite of their values. Ironic because the values are posted in bold letters on the office entry way. - Benefits decreased while I was there - Promotions are political instead of merit based

      26 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Ads BU feels like a start-up - in a good way

      Jan 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      King's Advertising business is a new, high-energy unit hosted within King (SF-NY-London), with plans to scale to Activision-Blizzard more broadly. Growth is high, hiring fast & accelerating, and there's a lot of breaking new grounds to it. It provides good careers prospects, that feeling of creating, and always doing something new. You don't get the painful political processes of a large empire, while being able to leverage their systems. And King's values are quite prevalent (from internal hires) and lived

      Cons

      There are definitely downsides to be a start-up within a larger company -- you need to invest more energy in shaping your role/market than you would in a comparable position elsewhere, and it can be a risky path too. Leadership is definitely aware of this and is doing a lot to keep people motivated

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fun place to work

      Mar 22, 2017 - Game Team in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Leadership has really paved the way for innovation on our next wave of titles. We have a lot of leeway to be creative and try things to create the next big thing for mobile. - Lunches and snacks are plentiful and the office location in Downtown Seattle is central and near a bunch of great stuff. - Leadership in the studio has given the game teams a lot of autonomy to build the games and features that they want. - We probably have the best culture and teamwork at the studio that we have had in years.

      Cons

      - Communication with central King Leadership is sometimes slow, which can hamper our ability to get stuff done quickly.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      King Response

      HR

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I will share it on with the local HR team for future reference. Best regards / King HR representative

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Z2 Studio

      Feb 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Seattle studio (Z2) is firing on all cylinders - we have exciting new projects, talented co-workers and managers who are dialed in, but give us enough space and empower us to make cool stuff. Last year had lots of ups and downs, but the leadership team here has given us the green light to do what we need to do to make great games. 2017 is going to be a big year for us, excited to see how everything develops.

      Cons

      Seems like the office budget has gotten tighter, less team events/celebrations than in the past. It's fun to get together on a Friday and talk shop.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Seattle Studio Rocks! Overall Awesome Company

      Feb 9, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Seattle studio has an amazing culture of collaboration and innovation. Lou F has done a great job uniting the studio through informative sprint reviews and all hands meetings, while taking the time to work with all the development teams who are in the process of making the next great game. The studio's only live game, Paradise Bay continues to kick butt after its strong push through the holidays.

      Cons

      They recently stopped serving lunch on Fridays. Oh well, guess the breakfast, free snacks and drinks will have to do.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      King Response

      Global Employer Brand

      Great and thanks for sharing your experience! And agreed, keeping the focus on creating brilliant games is the most important. Best Regards / King representative

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      If you want to work with great people

      Feb 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people - Lots of really smart and super friendly people. Great work life balance. Its strongly encouraged to get your work done in a 8hr workday and then turn off. Great senior leadership. Very accessible. Many of them have been there for 10+ years and are still very passionate. Great culture in general.

      Cons

      Some politics as expected from a company of this size.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Future is bright in North America

      Feb 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Seems like King is really committed to investing in North America. New Senior leader of North American Games who sits in Seattle, seems genuinely interested in the people and what we are doing. We can finally see how the US ties into the rest of King. Also, it sounded like SF is going to grow a lot, excited to have more people in the US. -New games in Seattle -Good vibe -Great location -New teams in SF...we get updates from the studio heads in SF during a new North American call....which in itself is cool -Travel...we all get to go to Stockholm this summer!!!! -We have recently hired a bunch of new people, good to have more energy in Seattle.

      Cons

      Wish we had more day to day communication in Seattle. My team runs independently which is great, but sometimes it feels like separate studios since we are all so busy. Would be good to have clear studio goals that we can all understand. Saying we need to launch a game seems obvious, but is that really it? I saw the King goals at our CEO call but studio leadership has never spoken of them before or again. What happens when local leaders go to London...can you tell us why you go or what you learned.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 354 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with King Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at King? Share Your Experiences

    King logo
    or