King Soopers Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Cashier

King Soopers Cashier Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
King Soopers CEO Russ Dispense
Russ Dispense
11 Ratings
  1. "Speak English a little bit of Spanish I'm only 14"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I would like to be a cashier u guys need more of that

    Cons

    Not a lot of people working

    Advice to Management

    To get more customer service

    King Soopers2017-09-17
  2. "Good job for High School Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier/Courtesy Clerk in Erie, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is better than other stores at my store #129 in Erie, CO. The hours are somewhat flexible

    Cons

    sometime i have to pick up slack from other employees not doing their job

    Advice to Management

    The new managers are great. Keep at it!

    King Soopers2019-06-11
  3. "Only work here if you need the money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Longmont, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They will hire anybody, so if you need a job desperately, work here

    Cons

    Breaks and lunches were almost always late Not nearly enough staff Sometimes the managers would flat out forget that people were supposed to go home

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff on registers

    King Soopers2019-06-21
  4. "Good enough for what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Colorado Springs, CO
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at King Soopers part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Pay and benefits are decent. Lots of advancement opportunities. Mostly unionized.

      Cons

      Scheduling can be very inflexible depending on your seniority, so it can be challenging to work there while doing college or another job. Quality of the management is very hit-or-miss.

      King Soopers2019-06-07
    • "Ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier/Bagger in Aurora, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at King Soopers full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good hours. Nice people. Good training

      Cons

      Terrible pay. Doesn't treat employees with respect

      Advice to Management

      Learn how to treat your employees with respect

      King Soopers2019-04-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "Basic grocery"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Denver, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at King Soopers part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Nice co-workers, shift leaders were respectful and laid back. Didn't mind hours as part-time student.

      Cons

      Wages and benefits too low for city's cost of living. High turn over with younger staff. Customers could be weird.

      Advice to Management

      Pay more

      King Soopers2019-03-28
    • "Cashier"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier 
      Recommends

      I worked at King Soopers part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great people to work with. Employee discounts. Insurance after year.

      Cons

      Not alot of shifts to select from.

      King Soopers2019-02-26
    • "Good to students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Boulder, CO
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at King Soopers part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Managers were very accommodating of scheduling needs. Good job to do when you're in college

      Cons

      It is a beginner job, after all. Pay is pretty poor.

      King Soopers2019-01-23
    • Helpful (2)

      "Okay at first and dissapointing at the end"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Parker, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at King Soopers part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -10% discount -Breaks are scheduled and accounted for -Wide range of job positions -Great opportunity to meet a lot of amazing people -If there is a problem at a register with an item’s price or condition, you can handle it yourself without a supervisor’s help. That means you can discount an item or even make it free and you dont even have to notify anyone or keep record of it. (Make It Right)

      Cons

      -When you start your job and review the values at King Soopers, it seems pretty great and seems like the company is very customer service oriented. However, when you’re out on the field, that’s a value which hardly seems to be acknowledged or used. -Employees are poorly trained on registers. -Managers were careless and incompetent. -This company wasn’t bothered by breaking labor laws. They kept high school students on...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      The training for Kroger employees needs to be improved. My training for customer service and safety was great, but when it came to training on the register, it was terrible and I didn’t get properly trained until six months after working at your company. Employees need to be tested and observed for their customer service skills. Any employees who can’t deliver good customer service should work in the back or not at all....

      Show More
      King Soopers2018-05-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Courtesy Clerk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier/Courtesy Clerk 

      I worked at King Soopers full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Opportunities for advancement if you’re willing to stay with the company

      Cons

      Schedules were often late and inaccurate. High turnover due to a combination of poor management and a bad interview process. It wasn’t uncommon for an employee to quit or just stop showing up after 2 weeks

      King Soopers2018-03-21
    Found 33 reviews