King Soopers Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor

King Soopers Cashier Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
King Soopers CEO Russ Dispense
Russ Dispense
11 Ratings
  1. "Tough Choice...Decided to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Broomfield, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work with some nice people. This was my first job and helped me develop business and life skills. I feel like I have become a better communicator interacting with customers.

    Cons

    Managers don't often present a level of professionalism. I am a student and want to work as many hours this summer, but averaged 20-25 a week. Now school has started again, I offered my availability to managers, but now continually am scheduled 30+ hours a week, which would have been great over the summer. However, I can now only work 20 hours. Managers are not willing to work with me because the store is short staffed....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employee with respect regardless of the position in the company.

    King Soopers2016-09-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers

    Pros

    Co workers were great people.

    Cons

    Management made the job harder than it need to be.

    King Soopers2016-05-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "My feelings of Kinsoopers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Lakewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at King Soopers part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great and ideal for someone who doesn't want or have family to be with.. open random schedule.

    Cons

    You began to feel like you live at work you can't have a personal life world is work a d not well appreciated

    Advice to Management

    You have family you get time to spend with. Employees would be happier if they were treated with a little more respect wasn't promised and lied to and had more time away from work.

    King Soopers2016-01-21
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good pay raises, insurance, and paid vacation

    Cons

    you have to be there a long time to make enough to survive on your own or get any schedule you want

    Advice to Management

    give a higher minimum hours. 20 hours a week is not enough to live on unless you have a roommate and make at least $13 an hour

    King Soopers2015-07-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Do not apply if u r looking for part time or are a single parent. U get no family time or social time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Englewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most people are nice.. The discounts are great and double fuel points for gas all the time... Convient to cash Ur pay check with no cost...

    Cons

    Barley any training at all. I only did 4 hours of training on the computer... Took 2 classes.and then they threw me on the floor after standing with someone for only 20 mins... I do admit I cought on pretty quick but....... Trying to learn all the produce codes when your store is super busy and short staffed!!!! No no no.... And I also only wanted P/T from day one I have been working 40 hours... And they don't care...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If u hire ppl that only can work P/T then please be considerate of their family life as well!!!! We r not machines we r human beings!!! Please treat US like it!!!

    King Soopers2015-06-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Bad job if you're a student."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk/Cashier in Broomfield, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a nice, social environment. The coworkers and management were incredibly friendly. It was a good experience for a first job. It's easy to move up in positions - I was trained as a cashier after working there for only a month.

    Cons

    The hours (maybe it's just at this location) were not flexible at all and they had me working 30+ hours while I was trying to finish my last semester of high school. Courtesy Clerks get paid minimum wage to collect carts outside in extreme weather (whether it's 100 degrees or below zero). Very fast-paced environment.

    King Soopers2014-04-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Decent enough for what it was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay check, met some really great people.

    Cons

    Unpredictable schedules that may conflict with a school schedule if you're a student. I was told when I applied that my work schedule would not conflict with my school schedule; unfortunately, that was not always the case. Breaks and lunches are not always guaranteed, no matter how long you work during the day. Some managers get shrewd and mark off breaks you never took or push off lunches so other, older employees can...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect that your employees are intelligent beings with lives outside of the corporation. We are not robots that can be commanded do to one task until the end of time or until our batteries need replacing. That being said, please don't skirt around the truth when employees ask about the specifics of a certain item. We can read and understand that a credit card is a credit card, no matter what fancy name you give it.

    King Soopers2014-04-15
  8. "Cashier - Great company, nice stores, customers suck, be wary of unions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Evergreen, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Willing to schedule around school, decent pay, easy to change depts. and/or advance, solid company structure, competent management, great training, nice environment

    Cons

    High turnover, not much or too much culture, ometimes corporate policy can be annoying, some depts. are union, which may be a pro for some. And you can't blame the company, but they do attract some snobby customers.

    Advice to Management

    Transferring employees to different stores when they advance to management is not always the best solution.

    King Soopers2014-03-08
  9. "It was a good highschool job, have to have full availability to move up in the company though."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk/Cashier in Loveland, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked around the school schedule well Great customer service experience and other training Good values for a grocery store

    Cons

    If you are in college or have any other commitments it is very hard to move up in the company. Pay is not the most competitive Do not give performance or timely raises often

    King Soopers2013-06-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The worst place I have ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Thornton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Maybe the 10% discount on Kroger brand products. In this economy 10% for subpar product is nothing.

    Cons

    No flexibility in schedules. Have to wait a year to qualify for horrible benefits. Got sick and called in, was advised by the store manager that being sick was unacceptable.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to manage people as human beings and not objects.

    King Soopers2013-02-16
Found 33 reviews