King Soopers Checker Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Checker

King Soopers Checker Reviews

Updated Jan 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
3%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
King Soopers CEO Russ Dispense
Russ Dispense
1 Ratings
  1. "Good part-time opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checker 

    I worked at King Soopers part-time

    Pros

    Support from management and tasks are not too strenuous or difficult.

    Cons

    Interacting with impatient customers or those who do not understand you're simply trying to follow company policies.

    King Soopers2019-01-29
  2. "checker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Checker in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at King Soopers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    benefits are reasonable and coworkers

    Cons

    Managers are not qualified to tell others how to do their jobs

    Advice to Management

    Be more educated on the processes that occur at any level

    King Soopers2018-05-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Could be worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checker in Firestone, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy - as jobs go checking groceries is one of the easiest you'll find Flexible (ish) schedule - as long as you can find someone to switch with you, the management usually doesn't ask any questions Easy to get hired - literally just had to pass a drug test.

    Cons

    People are stupid - it's a customer service job... people suck Retail - If you have worked retail before you know what I'm talking about... if not... you'll see Pay is really low - minimum wage is pretty low

    Advice to Management

    You manage people working in a (for most of them) dead end job who really don't care about the company values and the excessive "go team!" BS. They will never be as serious about it as you are, so chill.

    King Soopers2016-12-31
  4. "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checker in Firestone, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Seniority rules. Most shifts are 8 hours. Decent room to move up. Can switch to many other positions in stores and between stores without losing seniority.

    Cons

    Seniority rules. May have to work overtime. Have to have a lot of seniority to have 100% control of your schedule and even then, it isn't garenteed. They don't always promote the most quified people.

    Advice to Management

    Be more consistent across stores. If one store is doing well find out why and try it at worse stores. Make sure employees feel valued for going above and beyond.

    King Soopers2015-10-31
  5. "Kings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checker in Parker, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Guaranteed the number of hours you are asked for, paid weekly, 4x fuel points, 10% off Kroger products, multiple benefits

    Cons

    Seniority, low pay, no weekends off, odd hours, not much room to move up, one extra dollar per hour on holidays

    Advice to Management

    Increase the wage, give staurdays off, pay time and a half on holidays

    King Soopers2015-07-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible for college student."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checker in Littleton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was easy, co-workers were easy to get along with, easily got promoted

    Cons

    Scheduling (they scheduled me only during class), management, I was treated like a child by management and I'm an adult, they avoided giving employees full time so that we couldn't get benefits

    Advice to Management

    If you care about your employees, they will care about you.

    King Soopers2014-10-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checker in Brighton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They pay you consistently, otherwise there really is not anything else positive to say about working here.

    Cons

    They frequently tell you one thing, and then do something different. They tell you upfront that you can get days off if you request them a week or two in advance, but this is just not true. It all depends on your seniority.

    Advice to Management

    Do better.

    King Soopers2013-05-04
  8. "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Checker in Parker, CO

      I worked at King Soopers part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great workers, great camaraderie, a lot of fun.

      Cons

      Poor pay, not very much room for advancement unless you're favored.

      Advice to Management

      Recognize hard workers, not just your friends.

      King Soopers2012-06-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "misstreated by managment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Checker in Englewood, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at King Soopers

      Pros

      easy mony, little work, the nice people are VERY nice and pleasing to be around, Direct Deposit, express human resources

      Cons

      rude people, ego-tistical managment, un-fair rules or polices, negativity, no compansation for stolen personal belongings, employer lowers reputation with other people

      Advice to Management

      Let your employees grow, we're all people and just because you have red name badge, doesnt mean you control CC's and checkers. and remeber, your a supervisor, the service manager is our boss, we report to them, not you

      King Soopers2010-08-11
    Found 9 reviews