King Soopers Produce Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

King Soopers Produce Clerk Reviews

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
1%
Approve of CEO
King Soopers CEO Russ Dispense
Russ Dispense
5 Ratings
  1. "Produce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Arvada, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, raises every 1040 hours worked

    Cons

    No benefits, less than satisfactory employee discount (only 10% on store brands), no flexible hours

    King Soopers2016-09-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "produce clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Easy work, with seniority flexible shifts

    Cons

    nothing is ever right to management

    Advice to Management

    stop micromanaging

    King Soopers2016-09-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Produce worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Cheyenne, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers full-time

    Pros

    Good hours and excellent training

    Cons

    Short staffed and moved to other departments to much to work

    Advice to Management

    Schedule enough employees for each department

    King Soopers2015-12-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Zero work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Greenwood Village, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work with some cool people, and I'm lucky to have good managers. We stock high-quality produce and keep a sharp-looking department most days.

    Cons

    The hours are the worst possible. 330pm-12am, all weekends (worse than night shift, in my opinion). Classified as part-time, but work full-time with none of the full-time benefits. Because I am "new", I must do the hardest job in the department, which is breaking the truck load down and organizing it (which during the holidays can mean lifting several tons of product over 5 hours or so). This is expected for a job like...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you treat your employees as human beings. My months salary doesn't even afford me one month's rent. If your employees don't seem like they like their job, it's because they are forced to live in their parent's basement or out of their car.

    King Soopers2015-12-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Days and Bad Days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Commerce City, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team. The occasional very nice customer.

    Cons

    Management can be iffy. "Part Time" isn't really part time. You will work full time hours on part time.

    Advice to Management

    Finish managerial duties instead of leaving the half finished project to the inexperienced employees that are closing.

    King Soopers2015-10-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Been here almost five years and still eligible for welfare."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Paid vacation and personal days after a year unless you're a courtesy clerk. Union protection and health insurance after a year. 20 hour a week minimum.

    Cons

    Far too much is expected of you for far too little pay. Absolutely no respect for personal lives. You are expected to live for the company and the company alone. Little to no training. People who are not fast learners and quick thinkers are, so to speak "eaten alive" and tend to quit within their first week. 80% turn over rate.

    Advice to Management

    More understanding for hard workers. Keep up with the cost of living.

    King Soopers2014-11-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be a good job before Key Retailing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Longmont, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    weekly pay, ok benefits, coworkers

    Cons

    management,coordinators,key retailing,no help and high expectations, low pay for dept.manager, barely more than a clerk with a lot more stress.

    Advice to Management

    Quit piling on stupid programs and demanding high results when the only ones that benefit are upper management when the guys on the bottom do all the real work. Kings wont even give their employees a $20 Xmas bonus anymore even though they make record profits!

    King Soopers2013-08-27
  8. "produce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Denver, CO

      I have been working at King Soopers full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      401k, insurance, full time job, benefits

      Cons

      night shift, management, stand up all day.

      King Soopers2013-02-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "It all depends on your seniority and whose butt you kiss"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Fort Collins, CO
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at King Soopers part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great pay, good people, room for advancement, simple, but not easy work

      Cons

      No schedule continuity, horrible management, Terrible work/life balance, favoritism, Very bad hours, forced to work holidays and almost every weekend.

      Advice to Management

      Stop giving promotions to people based on their sexual attractiveness and instead do it based on their performance as a employee

      King Soopers2012-12-26
    • "Meh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Produce Clerk in
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at King Soopers

      Pros

      They do seem to genuinely care about the customers. Most of the employees are pretty cool people. It's near impossible to get fired from this place; they gave out a seemingly endless amount of "last chances" to people who were constantly late, or didn't do their job.

      Cons

      They are incredibly cheap when it comes to labor. No bonuses, short hours, and you'll likely be doing the jobs of 3 different people. They expect you to be there for them on a moments notice if they need you. Favoritism runs rampant here. Don't ever go above and beyond in order to get promoted, management won't notice you. Simply do the bare minimum expected of you, and befriend someone in management. You will be promoted...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Open your eyes. Treat your employees like garbage and they will treat your customers like garbage.

      King Soopers2011-02-26
    Found 20 reviews