King Soopers Reviews | Glassdoor

King Soopers Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 610 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
King Soopers CEO Russ Dispense
Russ Dispense
232 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, opportunities for advancement(in 31 reviews)

  • "Good benefits from union after you have been there for some time(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management not very aware(in 32 reviews)

  • "Courtesy clerks are basically responsible for doing all the crappy jobs nobody else wants to do(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Barista - Starbucks 

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay benefits employees and store assistants

    Cons

    Managers lack of help, too many useless employees

    King Soopers2019-07-28
  2. "Lots Of Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Liquor Store Manager in Castle Rock, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary better than hourly, report directly to store manager, and lots of invited to free tastings

    Cons

    Low pay, 10+ hour expectation, constant scrutiny from district and executive team, being told to help other areas of store with no additional profit. Bonus potential is low given they find new ways to make payouts worse.

    King Soopers2019-08-07
  3. "Getting worse every day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you're on an old contract you may have some nice vacation time and benefits.

    Cons

    Atrocious management style from the top down. Incentivization consists primarily of nonstop "walks", a practice where upper management comes into the store and browbeats/nitpicks what few employees remain. Other typical management practices include: 1) demanding that impossible amounts of work be done in a completely unreasonable time frame by mostly untrained staff. 2) promising "rewards" such as paid lunches etc....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do the opposite of everything you're doing. Seriously. Worst management in the world.

    King Soopers2019-08-17
  4. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Meat Manager in Denver, CO

    I have been working at King Soopers full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pretty good pay, nice co-workers.

    Cons

    Holidays super busy, help isn't always that great. You have to be able to figure things out on your own.

    Advice to Management

    It's a hard job market in Denver. The union controlling wages for every store makes it hard to adequately staff each store in Denver that has different needs.

    King Soopers2019-07-30
  5. "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at King Soopers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was better than corporate Starbucks pay.

    Cons

    Management was awful. Not enough hours to fully staff.

    King Soopers2019-08-12
  6. "Negative Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Coffee Clerk in Lafayette, CO

    I worked at King Soopers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good beginner barista experience

    Cons

    Lack of accommodation for medical leave. Understaffed

    King Soopers2019-08-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great for high school and seasonal workers...avoid at all costs otherwise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - E-Commerce Store Lead in Parker, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Why be dishonest...there are truly none.

    Cons

    Toxic environment; incompetent management; undervalued employees; completely void of identifying and developing high performing, game changing people; etc.; etc.

    Advice to Management

    Really? From the top of the executive tree down to store management team...you REALLY need hourly wage employees to give you advice?? If so, then why are you even in the position you're in now?? Just announce your resignation effective immediately and let a high quality leader who cares about people first step in to drive some positive and lasting change.

    King Soopers2019-08-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "You must love the general public"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A good learning experience with opportunities to advance in the store.

    Cons

    From the district mgr to the ceo there is no inclusion, loyalty or genuine human interaction. Hourly assocs. are a liability rather than an asset.

    Advice to Management

    Promote wisely, there is a revolving door. I have seen 3 promoted k. s. presidents in the last 5 years. The high turn over reflects on both low wages & unrealistic expectations.

    King Soopers2019-07-10
  9. "Terrible Corporation to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Highlands Ranch, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None come to mind about this company

    Cons

    Horrible pay, Worthless Union, Loopholes on providing benefits to full time employees, Zero work/life balance, Greedy Corporate Leaders

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the employees that you have and maybe you would be able to keep the staff you have

    King Soopers2019-08-16
  10. "Kroger is amazing, King Soopers managers are okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courtesy Clerk/Bagger in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every few months there's usually an Associate's week, where you can dress up for themed days, and the company brings in food for you (to eat on your break). Kroger also has a bunch of great programs. They even have a leave of absence plan for those looking to go to school.

    Cons

    Management is not very understanding to high school students. For me, while I was in high school, I usually had about 18 hours a week. I asked for less, but never got less.

    Advice to Management

    There's an old saying: its easier to catch flies with honey rather then vinegar. This is true with keeping, and attracting employees. If I felt like my boss respected me, it would be a lot easier to work for him/her.

    King Soopers2019-07-10
Found 610 reviews