King Soopers Courtesy Clerk/Bagger Reviews | Glassdoor

King Soopers Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 596 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
King Soopers CEO Russ Dispense
Russ Dispense
227 Ratings
  1. "Good bridge job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk 

    I worked at King Soopers part-time

    Pros

    Constantly busy, time passes quickly

    Cons

    Not all colleagues share the same goals/drive

    King Soopers2019-07-01
  2. "Kroger is amazing, King Soopers managers are okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courtesy Clerk/Bagger in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every few months there's usually an Associate's week, where you can dress up for themed days, and the company brings in food for you (to eat on your break). Kroger also has a bunch of great programs. They even have a leave of absence plan for those looking to go to school.

    Cons

    Management is not very understanding to high school students. For me, while I was in high school, I usually had about 18 hours a week. I asked for less, but never got less.

    Advice to Management

    There's an old saying: its easier to catch flies with honey rather then vinegar. This is true with keeping, and attracting employees. If I felt like my boss respected me, it would be a lot easier to work for him/her.

    King Soopers2019-07-10
  3. "You must love the general public"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A good learning experience with opportunities to advance in the store.

    Cons

    From the district mgr to the ceo there is no inclusion, loyalty or genuine human interaction. Hourly assocs. are a liability rather than an asset.

    Advice to Management

    Promote wisely, there is a revolving door. I have seen 3 promoted k. s. presidents in the last 5 years. The high turn over reflects on both low wages & unrealistic expectations.

    King Soopers2019-07-10
  4. "Oppurtunities For Career Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Plenty of Growth and Opportunities for Career Advancement

    Cons

    Management changes all the time. Just when everybody is all on board, here comes new management staff.

    King Soopers2019-06-28
  5. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at King Soopers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are friendly, opportunity for growth, they're always short-staffed so the jobs are very stable.

    Cons

    Most of the problems were with management. Aside from being a revolving door, most members of upper management I came across were obsessed with the numbers, but would mostly just complain instead of making changes.

    King Soopers2019-07-05
  6. "Good job for High School Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier/Courtesy Clerk in Erie, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is better than other stores at my store #129 in Erie, CO. The hours are somewhat flexible

    Cons

    sometime i have to pick up slack from other employees not doing their job

    Advice to Management

    The new managers are great. Keep at it!

    King Soopers2019-06-11
  7. "Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at King Soopers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love learning new things, helping people and love that I can grow with the company. I don’t mind my schedule and I get the hours I want.

    Cons

    The customers. Retail is hard, but dealing with people and their drugs is a different kind of horror. Insurance is a nightmare to deal with.

    King Soopers2019-06-07
  8. "Good enough for what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Colorado Springs, CO
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at King Soopers part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Pay and benefits are decent. Lots of advancement opportunities. Mostly unionized.

      Cons

      Scheduling can be very inflexible depending on your seniority, so it can be challenging to work there while doing college or another job. Quality of the management is very hit-or-miss.

      King Soopers2019-06-07
    • "Only work here if you need the money"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier in Longmont, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at King Soopers part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      They will hire anybody, so if you need a job desperately, work here

      Cons

      Breaks and lunches were almost always late Not nearly enough staff Sometimes the managers would flat out forget that people were supposed to go home

      Advice to Management

      Hire more staff on registers

      King Soopers2019-06-21
    • "Idk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at King Soopers part-time

        Pros

        Easy work for what you get paid

        Cons

        Hours can be hard to come by

        King Soopers2019-06-03
      Found 596 reviews