Kings Island Reviews | Glassdoor

Kings Island Reviews

Updated May 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 212 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Kings Island CEO Mike Koontz
Mike Koontz
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free admission to all Cedar Fair parks(in 32 reviews)

  • "Unlimited access to the park on your off days as well as free admission to all cedar fair parks(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours if you don't like to work (the job is very fun though(in 30 reviews)

  • "Minimum Wage unless you work in food(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Lifeguard in Mason, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kings Island part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and hours

    Cons

    Hot summers and short breaks

    Kings Island2019-05-18
  2. "Fine Summer Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Games Associate 

      I worked at Kings Island part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Friendly supervisors -Got to go home early every now and again

      Cons

      -Long hours -The games sometimes don't work properly

      Kings Island2019-05-10
    • "Great Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Kings Island part-time

      Pros

      Earn Industry Experience Great People Fast Paced Environment

      Cons

      Pay can be a little less than competitive

      Kings Island2019-05-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "A Great Department and Place to Work In"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Admissions Team Lead in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Kings Island part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Friendships made that become your dominant circle of friends. I have met some of my best friends on the clock. Morale events that have much put into and that are honestly fun and a great way of keeping morale up Job functions are well stated and known. Sense of camaraderie with others, knowing they have your back. Empowerment is heavily leaned upon with leadership, which I view as an incredible positive The benefits...

      Show More

      Cons

      The department has seen some volatility in the past year with large turnover in both associates and (lower and upper) leadership, leading to a bit of uncertainty. Drama. It has its place everywhere but it was particularly bad Leadership training was a bit inadequate in the past year, this has changed for the better, but it negatively affected my ability to perform and learn how to do the job correctly. Time off deadlines...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Focus on keeping up morale whilst on the clock to help with turnover. Time off deadlines need to go back to two weeks, having to know what one is doing in three weeks prevents me from making shorter term plans and limits work/life balance.

      Kings Island2019-04-09
    • "Fun Environment at Kings Island"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Merchandiser 

        I worked at Kings Island part-time

        Pros

        Guest interaction Stay busy Great environment

        Cons

        Long hours during the summer

        Kings Island2019-04-15
      • "Good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Kings Island part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          - Free admission - Flexible hours - Above min wage

          Cons

          - Lots of people to deal with - Managers are mostly high school kids

          Kings Island2019-04-11
        • "I worked in park services, I cleaned the park."

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Kings Island

            Pros

            Meeting new people. Lots of exercise. And improved my communication skills. Flexible schedule.

            Cons

            The heat was unbearable. The hours felt like days. And the park never felt clean.

            Advice to Management

            Please make it easier and quicker to get onto the job instead of waiting 2 months for feedback.

            Kings Island2019-03-12
          • "Great place"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

              I have been working at Kings Island part-time

              Pros

              Flexible time off and decent pay

              Cons

              you only work the rides assigned

              Kings Island2019-03-08
            • Helpful (1)

              "Pretty good job"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Former Employee - Merchandise Associate 

              I worked at Kings Island part-time for more than a year

              Pros

              The pay is pretty good, and the rides nights are awesome (they leave a few rides open for associates about one night a month)

              Cons

              Supervisors can be young and disorganized

              Advice to Management

              n/a

              Kings Island2019-03-04
            • Helpful (1)

              "Summer Job"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Former Employee - Admissions Associate in Mason, OH
              Recommends
              Positive Outlook
              No opinion of CEO

              I worked at Kings Island part-time for less than a year

              Pros

              Great place to work part time--very flexible scheduling. The work culture is also very positive.

              Cons

              In admissions they sometimes push associates too hard on up-selling products that might not even be relevant to certain customers.

              Kings Island2019-03-02
            Found 212 reviews