Kings Island Reviews | Glassdoor

Kings Island Reviews

Updated May 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 212 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Kings Island CEO Mike Koontz
Mike Koontz
29 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Lifeguard in Mason, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kings Island part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and hours

    Cons

    Hot summers and short breaks

    Kings Island2019-05-18
  2. "Fine Summer Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Games Associate 

      I worked at Kings Island part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Friendly supervisors -Got to go home early every now and again

      Cons

      -Long hours -The games sometimes don't work properly

      Kings Island2019-05-10
    • "Great Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Kings Island part-time

      Pros

      Earn Industry Experience Great People Fast Paced Environment

      Cons

      Pay can be a little less than competitive

      Kings Island2019-05-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "A Great Department and Place to Work In"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Admissions Team Lead in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Kings Island part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Friendships made that become your dominant circle of friends. I have met some of my best friends on the clock. Morale events that have much put into and that are honestly fun and a great way of keeping morale up Job functions are well stated and known. Sense of camaraderie with others, knowing they have your back. Empowerment is heavily leaned upon with leadership, which I view as an incredible positive The benefits...

      Show More

      Cons

      The department has seen some volatility in the past year with large turnover in both associates and (lower and upper) leadership, leading to a bit of uncertainty. Drama. It has its place everywhere but it was particularly bad Leadership training was a bit inadequate in the past year, this has changed for the better, but it negatively affected my ability to perform and learn how to do the job correctly. Time off deadlines...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Focus on keeping up morale whilst on the clock to help with turnover. Time off deadlines need to go back to two weeks, having to know what one is doing in three weeks prevents me from making shorter term plans and limits work/life balance.

      Kings Island2019-04-09
    • "I worked in park services, I cleaned the park."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Kings Island

        Pros

        Meeting new people. Lots of exercise. And improved my communication skills. Flexible schedule.

        Cons

        The heat was unbearable. The hours felt like days. And the park never felt clean.

        Advice to Management

        Please make it easier and quicker to get onto the job instead of waiting 2 months for feedback.

        Kings Island2019-03-12
      • "Great place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Kings Island part-time

          Pros

          Flexible time off and decent pay

          Cons

          you only work the rides assigned

          Kings Island2019-03-08
        • "Fun"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Kings Island part-time

            Pros

            Fun experience, lots of benefits

            Cons

            Lots of hours, hard work for some

            Kings Island2019-02-25
          • "Great place to work"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Ride Operator in Mason, OH
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at Kings Island part-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Very flexible scheduling – if you put in your time off requests by the time they're due, there's a 99% chance they'll be approved Lots of hours – there's always more hours and shifts available, up to 60 hours a week Make friends – you'll make lifelong friendships working here

            Cons

            Sketchy food – don't eat the Cornerstone chicken tenders. The rest food probably isn't safe to eat, either

            Advice to Management

            Improve Cornerstone's food quality and PLEASE get some more ice in the soda fountain. 90% of the time there isn't any ice.

            Kings Island2018-11-15
          • Helpful (1)

            "A great place to work!"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Park Services Associate in Cincinnati, OH
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at Kings Island part-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            The management is great (at least in Park Services), and the hours are super flexible! There's an app that you can use to meet all your scheduling needs. Plus, if you request a day off on time, there's a 99% chance they'll give it to you. You can work extra hours if you want (up to 60 per week), and the people there are great! You'll make friends.

            Cons

            The food in the break room gives off a 'risk of food poisoning' vibe, if you don't like being outside in the heat all day, this isnt the place for you. If you can't handle cleaning up body fluids, this isn't the place for you.

            Advice to Management

            IMPROVE CORNERSTONE PLS

            Kings Island2018-06-02

            Kings Island Response

            June 4, 2018Director, Human Resources

            Thank you for the feedback on Cornerstone Cafe, we will share with that team.

          • Helpful (1)

            "KI"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at Kings Island part-time

            Pros

            Perks are great. ( Platinum pass, free tickets, ride nights) Pay is pretty good. Fantastic work environment. Management really cares about their associate.

            Cons

            Associate restrooms could use some help.

            Advice to Management

            Keep up the good work!!! Allow associates to add the dining plan to their ID’s!!!

            Kings Island2018-05-31

            Kings Island Response

            June 4, 2018Director, Human Resources

            Thank you for the feedback - we are glad you are enjoying the job! We will share your comments with those teams.

          Found 212 reviews