Kings Island Reviews | Glassdoor

Kings Island Reviews

Updated May 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 212 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Kings Island CEO Mike Koontz
Mike Koontz
29 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Lifeguard in Mason, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kings Island part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and hours

    Cons

    Hot summers and short breaks

    Kings Island2019-05-18
  2. "Fine Summer Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Games Associate 

      I worked at Kings Island part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Friendly supervisors -Got to go home early every now and again

      Cons

      -Long hours -The games sometimes don't work properly

      Kings Island2019-05-10
    • "Great Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Kings Island part-time

      Pros

      Earn Industry Experience Great People Fast Paced Environment

      Cons

      Pay can be a little less than competitive

      Kings Island2019-05-01
    • "Fun Environment at Kings Island"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Merchandiser 

        I worked at Kings Island part-time

        Pros

        Guest interaction Stay busy Great environment

        Cons

        Long hours during the summer

        Kings Island2019-04-15
      • "Good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Kings Island part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          - Free admission - Flexible hours - Above min wage

          Cons

          - Lots of people to deal with - Managers are mostly high school kids

          Kings Island2019-04-11
        • Helpful (2)

          "A Great Department and Place to Work In"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Admissions Team Lead in Cincinnati, OH
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Kings Island part-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Friendships made that become your dominant circle of friends. I have met some of my best friends on the clock. Morale events that have much put into and that are honestly fun and a great way of keeping morale up Job functions are well stated and known. Sense of camaraderie with others, knowing they have your back. Empowerment is heavily leaned upon with leadership, which I view as an incredible positive The benefits...

          Show More

          Cons

          The department has seen some volatility in the past year with large turnover in both associates and (lower and upper) leadership, leading to a bit of uncertainty. Drama. It has its place everywhere but it was particularly bad Leadership training was a bit inadequate in the past year, this has changed for the better, but it negatively affected my ability to perform and learn how to do the job correctly. Time off deadlines...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Focus on keeping up morale whilst on the clock to help with turnover. Time off deadlines need to go back to two weeks, having to know what one is doing in three weeks prevents me from making shorter term plans and limits work/life balance.

          Kings Island2019-04-09
        • "Not to bad could have been better"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Recruiter 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Kings Island full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Good work life balance

          Cons

          To many employees and not enough to do

          Advice to Management

          More effective hiring

          Kings Island2019-03-19
        • "I worked in park services, I cleaned the park."

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Kings Island

            Pros

            Meeting new people. Lots of exercise. And improved my communication skills. Flexible schedule.

            Cons

            The heat was unbearable. The hours felt like days. And the park never felt clean.

            Advice to Management

            Please make it easier and quicker to get onto the job instead of waiting 2 months for feedback.

            Kings Island2019-03-12
          • Helpful (1)

            "good starting job"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Cashier 
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Kings Island part-time

            Pros

            Lots of events and fun stuff going on there. tons of people.

            Cons

            weird hours. late hours. not much benefits, like discounts on food and such

            Advice to Management

            Discount food for employees and stop being so anal

            Kings Island2019-03-08
          • "Great place"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

              I have been working at Kings Island part-time

              Pros

              Flexible time off and decent pay

              Cons

              you only work the rides assigned

              Kings Island2019-03-08
            Found 212 reviews