Kingsborough Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Kingsborough Community College Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Kingsborough Community College CEO Peter Cohen
Peter Cohen
4 Ratings
  1. "wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kingsborough Community College full-time

    Pros

    great community, great campus, stem focus

    Cons

    hard to commute via public transportation

    Kingsborough Community College2015-09-04
  2. "College Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    College Assistant in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Kingsborough Community College

    Pros

    Very positive experience with an understanding management. Weekly schedule was extremely flexible and allowed me to handle full time college at the same time.

    Cons

    Work can be repetitive and unrewarding at times. There are relatively few opportunities to grow and develop a long lasting career within the system. Salary is on the low end.

    Kingsborough Community College2015-09-15
  3. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Aquarium Caretaker in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kingsborough Community College for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive staff that worked with you. The staff also had a lot of connections and would alert you to new opportunities.

    Cons

    Small staffing in my department.

    Kingsborough Community College2015-08-08
  4. "Student Aide / College Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Kingsborough Community College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Diverse populations of students to work with, unique experiences gained everyday, lots of student services and support, helping the unique kbcc student population is well worth the staffing and management crisis

    Cons

    you won't move far ahead unless you know someone and they happen to be your friend, there are too many "clicks" amongst the upper staff and people with higher titles, lots of office politics, management has a tendency to be rude and belittle employees, management tends to overstep boundaries without repercussions due to extreme nepotism, staff has a bad tendency to talk down to students

    Continue reading
    Kingsborough Community College2015-07-14
  5. "Teacher's Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher's Assistant in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kingsborough Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best reason to work here would definitely be the environment. Everyone here works really hard for their chance to become as successful as they can be.

    Cons

    There were no cons during my experience there. The professor I worked with is one of the nicest people I know.

    Kingsborough Community College2015-05-31
  6. "Department of Communications and Performing Arts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Adjunct Lecturer 

    I have been working at Kingsborough Community College

    Pros

    Great work environment. Provide flexibility. Supportive staff. Great faculty.

    Cons

    No advancement for adjunct faculty.

    Kingsborough Community College2015-05-13
  7. "The nicest, enjoyable and comfortable work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Kingsborough Community College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Innovation is accepted Coworkers that help you succeed Friendly work environment Free benefits is an option for employees

    Cons

    Advancement could be difficult pending the department.

    Kingsborough Community College2015-03-22
  8. "Easy going and work with your schedule."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Office Assistant in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Kingsborough Community College for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a good report between departments and staff. This made my experience enjoyable.

    Cons

    Most positions are based on Federal Financial aid to get the post.

    Continue reading
    Kingsborough Community College2015-01-29
  9. "Charting a Course in a Time of Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kingsborough Community College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generally a culture supportive of professional development. Many faculty and staff with long tenures, generally welcoming of "newbies".

    Cons

    Long tenures of faculty and staff makes advancement difficult. Delayed contract for professional staff and faculty is negatively impacting morale (this is CUNY-wide).

    Kingsborough Community College2015-01-28
  10. "Great Job, Great Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - College Assistant in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kingsborough Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The location is the best part of this job. The campus is huge very modern and beautifully designed. This campus is very diverse. With a beach and aquarium on campus you cannot complain. The summers are beautiful and the best part of the job. Great way to work and go to school at the same time.

    Cons

    The starting salary is low and will not increase until 24 month period. Takes a minimum of one month before eligibility to join the union. Part time position only, not allowed to work more than 20 hrs per week.

    Kingsborough Community College2015-01-24
Found 67 reviews