Kingston Technology Reviews | Glassdoor

Kingston Technology Reviews

Updated April 4, 2017
40 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.2
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Kingston Technology Co-Founder and CEO John Tu
John Tu
24 Ratings

40 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Helpful (4)

    "Fast paced company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Fountain Valley, Orange, CA
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Fountain Valley, Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kingston Technology full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    If you want to learn a lot and be in a fast paced company, then Kingston is the perfect place for it. It's owners are amazing, they care about business as much as for their employees. Friendly environment and great work/life balance and stability. Empowerment is a great strength and that allows everyone to play an important part on the business. Company maintains global leadership.

    Cons

    Limited career or growth plan. Flat structure. Some lack of processes and formal direction may be frustrating for some. People stays there for a long time in same positions and some are very resistant to change and to implement new ideas. The spirit of camaraderie seems to be more important than being a high performer.

    Advice to Management

    As a Leading Global company, needs to formalize career programs for employees. Have people rotate between Business units. Take internal talent into consideration first for new internal opportunities specially because they are limited.

    Kingston Technology Response

    Feb 5, 2017 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your praise, criticisms and advice. We take your comments to heart as we strive to improve the employee experience for everyone. Many positions are posted internally on the HR Info ... More


  2. Helpful (5)

    "Hard Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fountain Valley, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fountain Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Nice people
    Work life balance for the most part
    Caring

    Cons

    Old, old, old. Everything is old...from the way people think to the things they make you use to do your job. Just out dated

    No training no structure. Just left to figure out the iner workings of the comapny. I know how to do my job functions but there needs to be some type of system that shows new people how to get things done WITHIN the company.

    Advice to Management

    I don't know think about the things above and figure out how to fix them?

    Kingston Technology Response

    Nov 18, 2016 – HR Manager

    Old. Ouch! When 2 out of 3 employees have worked here 12+ years in the US, and if you're in the 1 out of 3 that has worked at Kingston for less time, we can appreciate your perspective! We're working ... More


  3. Helpful (10)

    "Receiving inspector"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Quality Inspector in Fountain Valley, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Quality Inspector in Fountain Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kingston Technology (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Not fair for good employer because too many brother and sister work the same company.

    Cons

    Too many people don't have certified finish college or University when they get hire supervisor or Manager that why company alway slowdown .

    Advice to Management

    Not fair for employer when they worked hard because they don't have cousin work together

    Kingston Technology Response

    Oct 4, 2016 – HR Manager

    Our goal is that you feel that you’re valued and that you’re treated fairly as an employee. As an employee that’s worked here for a long time, you know that the company was founded on family ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "excellent company to work for!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fountain Valley, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fountain Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great place to work, friendly, flexible, professional

    Cons

    Fast forward industry but it's not really a con

    Advice to Management

    Keep taking care of your people!


  6. Helpful (10)

    "Kingston = Nepotism."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Fountain Valley, Orange, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Fountain Valley, Orange, CA

    I worked at Kingston Technology full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits if you can get hired. Best way to get hired is if you know someone, like a boss, personally.

    Cons

    I was hired on temporarily - was told that it could lead to something permanent. Everyone was friendly at first and kept telling me what a great job I was doing. Later, when the critical stage of my project was completed I noticed I was no longer being given a chance to continue learning how to perform other daily tasks that I had requested to be taught, and told previously that I would have a chance with. I wanted to find better ways to integrate myself within the department by expanding beyond the duties I was initially hired for in hopes of being hired permanently. But soon I realized they had no intention of letting me grow (this meant they would have to pay me more). Total politics and mind games, I was finally let go. But I'm not the only one - good workers let go meanwhile people with little experience and who are lazy get hired just because they know someone. Never again - WORST PLACE I'VE EVER WORKED IN.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the nepotism to a minimum, give honestly good workers a chance, and let those who want to learn grow - in the end, it could only benefit the company.

    Kingston Technology Response

    Jul 25, 2016 – HR Manager

    I'm sorry to hear that you're not happy with your experience here and wish you all the best.


  7. Helpful (4)

    "Left KTC to become a CEO. So I view KTC from CEO understading"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Project Engineer in Fountain Valley, CA
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Project Engineer in Fountain Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - Good benefits.
    - Great company if you spend time to develop network and connection to maximize your talent and contribution.
    - If you have great ideas, fight hard, once day, your ideas will be heard. Once they "know" you, there is a lot of things you can do.
    - The owners are very great people. They are, although "far away" but if you try hard, you can reach them and they will listen to you.
    - Work there for a long time, to a certain points, everyday, you come to work, you will feel like coming to a place of family and friend
    - There is so many things you can learn, try, and apply at this billion dollar company. Things that you may not be able to do at other smaller companies
    - Great bonus structure to encourage employees

    Cons

    - Yes, you may have to fight with politics but it does exist everywhere you go, especially big organization
    - While I was there, my CEO, in my opinion was a big pain. However, as I am now a CEO (my organization is now 100+ employees), I realized that he had to do what he must do as a CEO. I have learn a lot from him (both good & bad).
    - Although KTC has a CPI program, bottle up approach channel is not strong. Many good ideas could be lost as low level leaders are not professional leaders (they are experience workers but not trained well enough to be professional leaders)

    Advice to Management

    Low level leaders does need to be trained & educated more. A lot of ideas can be heard from "small people".

    Kingston Technology Response

    Jan 25, 2016 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your positive comments about your experience working at Kingston! Also, congratulations on your successful business! We continue to grow and develop our leaders in formal and informal ... More


  8. Helpful (3)

    "Started out okay."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Sales Representative, Warranty Department in Fountain Valley, CA
    Former Employee - Customer Sales Representative, Warranty Department in Fountain Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kingston Technology full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere to be part of. And had a great up beat persona.
    Employees and families are well taken care of. You won't really find the benefits like here. Competitive pay and bonus. Most departments are not micromanaged, you are expected to complete your duties to fullest.

    Cons

    Certain departments were like friendships when it comes to critical decisions. Feels like when your a target it's time to watch your back.
    More micromanaging in particular depts.
    Your told to do something a certain way and follow leaders ethics to perform. And then keep finding yourself getting talked to more often.
    You see others decisions are the same and not getting the talk you get. This is where the targeting and collaboration comes in.
    A lot of deception and ill feelings at that point.
    Keep looking up for better opportunity.
    Back stabbing and gossip.
    Not a lot of room to grow. At all.

    Advice to Management

    Have better group training and making sure everyone is on the same page. Be consistent in work process. Be fair. Have fun while getting the job done.
    Very little room to grow.

    Kingston Technology Response

    Jan 25, 2016 – HR Manager

    Really appreciate your balanced perspective about Kingston. While you recommend the company and have a positive outlook, it sounds like your experience was a mixed bag of positive and negative. As ... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Financial analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Fountain Valley, CA
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Fountain Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kingston Technology full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Not much on the Pro side

    Cons

    The culture was not open to new ideas

    Advice to Management

    Management is very immature

    Kingston Technology Response

    Nov 4, 2015 – HR Manager

    We’re sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience in your role. We would have liked to know of any specific concerns prior to your leaving the organization so that any concerns could be ... More


  10. "Marketing"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Fountain Valley, CA
    Former Employee - Marketing in Fountain Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company and nice people

    Cons

    I feel a little bit slow sometimes


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Great startup for intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Internship in Fountain Valley, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Internship in Fountain Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kingston Technology part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Well designed program for getting know ASP.NET and MS SQL

    Cons

    HTML JAVASCRIPT ASP.NET C# MS SQL is the skill u can practice here but if you want more



Showing 40 of 43 reviews
Reset Filters