Kingwood Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Kingwood Medical Center Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Kingwood Medical Center CEO Melinda Stephenson
Melinda Stephenson
6 Ratings
  1. "Great Beginning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Clerk in Kingwood, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kingwood Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small enough to learn, but just big enough to have a full days worth of work.

    Cons

    Services several cities across several county lines.

    Advice to Management

    Have better salary ranges

    Kingwood Medical Center2016-12-13
  2. "Verbally Abusive Physicians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Kingwood, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kingwood Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits

    Cons

    Verbally abusive physicians High stress environment Inconsistent training High employee turnover

    Advice to Management

    Demand that physicians attend sensitivity training and be held accountable for verbally abusing staff, making disability slurs, and sexually charged comments/jokes/innuendo to staff- instead of turning a blind eye or victim shaming employees. This hospital placates to physicians’ unacceptable behavior. It is not unreasonable to expect doctors to behave as professionals .

    Kingwood Medical Center2019-09-14
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 

    I worked at Kingwood Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Provide good benefits and health incentives for employees. Above average pay.

    Cons

    Always short staffed. Somewhat unorganized

    Kingwood Medical Center2019-04-25
  4. "Year at KMC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Assistant in Humble, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kingwood Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -They worked with your school schedule. -They pay slightly higher than neighboring hospitals at the time -The nurses in the Med-Surgical Unit were nice at the time

    Cons

    Not all the departments are the same. Your experience will depend on whether the department manager is good or not unfortunately.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to the unlicensed assistants like PCA's and CCT's because they are your extra pair of eyes that is always with your patient

    Kingwood Medical Center2019-03-29
  5. "Not enough time or supplies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Kingwood, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Kingwood Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Depending on the night there was good teamwork. Most of the CNA's rocked so my ppl that were dependent on briefs were dry and I had no problem helping with the heavier ppl because that is I started and I am not above doing that for my ppl.

    Cons

    Constantly worked over 12 hours due to charting. No time to eat because of new admissions, passing medications, and doing wound care changes.

    Kingwood Medical Center2019-02-16
  6. "Toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CT Technologist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kingwood Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have decent pay. Most of the people you work with are nice.

    Cons

    The management is about the dollar. The imaging department isn’t overly concerned with doing the right thing or keeping their employees happy. Not at all cooperative or understanding with pregnant employees if you are technically considered “PRN” even if you work a full time hours. You will work your tail off! They are generally understaffed and frequently ask you to flex so you don’t always get your full hours.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people who work for you. You lose out or push good people away. Your patients deserve good people taking care of them

    Kingwood Medical Center2019-01-18
  7. "Staff Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kingwood Medical Center part-time

    Pros

    Wonderful nursing staff, made some great friends, pretty unit

    Cons

    Abusive doctors, high staff to patient ratios

    Kingwood Medical Center2018-10-15
  8. "Charge nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Kingwood Medical Center for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Support staff Great leadership Great physicians Team work between staff members

    Cons

    Poor communication from upper management at times. Not enough positive reinforcement for staff

    Advice to Management

    People work better and are more willing to stay at a job where they feel appreciated, not just as a group, but in an individual basis.

    Kingwood Medical Center2018-08-24
  9. "Registerd Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Kingwood, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kingwood Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice and helpfulness friendly coworkers.Readon to stay.

    Cons

    No support from management.Selfish manager.Almost threat us to give give good review.

    Advice to Management

    Treat with respect like an adult.Feel like a kindergarten kid

    Kingwood Medical Center2018-06-27
  10. "RN, BSN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN, Bsn 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kingwood Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work family and support

    Cons

    HCA company is always looking to grow instead of improving what they have

    Kingwood Medical Center2018-05-12
Found 43 reviews