Kinkisharyo International Reviews | Glassdoor

Kinkisharyo International Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Kinkisharyo International CEO  (no image)
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Best learning experience with highly skilled professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Welder/Fabricator in Palmdale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kinkisharyo International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of growing opportunities great HR department

    Cons

    It’s a temporary contract that will end 2020

    Advice to Management

    Get more contracts to keep us working in the area .

    Kinkisharyo International2018-06-12
  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palmdale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kinkisharyo International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kinkisharyo is a company that is on the cusp of greatness. The culture is one that feels like family. It is hard work, but it is very rewarding. The positive impact that the company is making on building sustainable public transportation will continue to improve our environment. The company pays 95% of your insurance premium...that is incredible. There is plenty of opportunity for Overtime as well as personal... growth

    Show More

    Cons

    The company does not have an established popular brand though they are approaching 100 years of doing business

    Kinkisharyo International2018-01-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Worst job I've had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Kinkisharyo International full-time

    Pros

    Okay pay, Okay schedule, some people were tolerable.

    Cons

    The company pinches pennies at every turn. Yeah, that is common practice in any business endeavor, but Jesus these trains are being assembled by felon societal re-treads using Harbor Freight tools and it shows in the quality of the product. Morale is incredibly low, the wonderful people (mostly gang bangers and kids because labor $avings) are sabotaging the equipment/product, there is absolutely no room for... advancement, its a SUPER cliquey workplace and the company hires you as a third party temp through an agency. So good luck with job security. Come here only if your hard up. Otherwise, theres plenty of better jobs out there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Most of your technicians can barely operate a torque wrench without being micromanaged or read above the third grade level. Really...where do you get these people? Did you hire out of a felon second chance rehab program or a special ed school? Jesus, hire competent, professional technicians with a mechanical background. These guys wouldn't cut it as a Walmart door greeter.

    Kinkisharyo International2018-01-20
  4. "Welder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Welder/Fabricator in Palmdale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kinkisharyo International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady Work Environment, Strong HR Department, Strong Union Involvement [IBEW Local 11]

    Cons

    Terrible Management, Poor Working Conditions, Buddy System Culture, Slow Feedback Return, No Prompt Company Advancement, 2% Annual Raises, Mediocre Pay, Work Load > Pay Rate, Typically if you didn't work for Delta you probably wont get into the 702 Weld Shop.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more closely to Techs. Handle Business and Complaints Promptly with proper action [Don't Brush Issues Off] The Workers are just as important if not more important than the contract.

    Kinkisharyo International2018-01-17
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Not Happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palmdale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kinkisharyo International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love my work family they make me laugh and smile.

    Cons

    sooo much favoritism and a lot of back stabbing. HR and management do not follow the same rules for everyone at the company. They will keep who they want to keep and fire the ones they don't care for. this company does not care anything about your family or your life outside of work

    Advice to Management

    Start applying the same rules to everyone

    Kinkisharyo International2017-06-21
  6. "AdminAssistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kinkisharyo International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love this company so much

    Cons

    None to list, perfect place to work

    Kinkisharyo International2017-04-10
  7. "Traveling circus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Shop in Palmdale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kinkisharyo International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get paid for a job.

    Cons

    No room for advancement. Expect more than pay rate. Lots of over time 60 hours plus.

    Advice to Management

    Formen have no idea what they are doing or even been in a production environment. Many employees coming from outside have no mechanical background.

    Kinkisharyo International2016-12-08
  8. "President was a puppet led by two out of control VPs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Kinkisharyo International full-time

    Pros

    Excellent salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Corporate greed and bad management decisions led to the demise of 2 VPS causing the parent company to oust the President. There are major lingering affects of the damage caused and employees are jumping ship. Productivity is low and employee moral is even lower.

    Advice to Management

    Be careful who you put into leadership roles.

    Kinkisharyo International2016-11-21
  9. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kinkisharyo International full-time

    Pros

    I liked working here due to the environment. Everyone was friendly and helpful to each other. I learned a lot and I got to experience a lot of different projects that wouldn't happen in big companies because there would be so many people to do them. With a small company you get more opportunities to be given projects.

    Cons

    I really can't think of a downside of working there. If I had to choose something to pick I would say that since it is mainly a maintenance company the work you do gets to be a little redundant depending on the things needed to be done. This didn't happen all the time though.

    Advice to Management

    I think everything is great at Kinkisharyo. I think that if it were to expand it would give more jobs and create a changing environment for everyone. I really don't have anything bad to say about the company.

    Kinkisharyo International2015-10-12
  10. "Excellent, professional and forward moving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kinkisharyo International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone I have met at this company has been professional, helpful and easy to work with. The company goals are well stated and clear. I speak with pride when I tell others about my job and what we do. The benefits are amazing, better than I have had at any other job. Requests for training are generally approved, as well as vacation. The El Segundo office has free parking, coffee and tea but without the... unhealthy soda/candy options that are prevalent in many offices. Plenty of restaurants and services within a short walk of the office.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have yet to find any. There is some pressure to meet deadlines and deliver our product on time but that is no different than any other place I've ever worked.

    Kinkisharyo International2014-04-08
Found 20 reviews