Kirby Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

Kirby Corporation Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Kirby Corporation CEO David W. Grzebinski
David W. Grzebinski
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stability good benefits on off shifts(in 5 reviews)

  • "Good pay good training move up at you own discretion(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Exposure of middle management on industry innovations limited(in 4 reviews)

  • "All the usual cons of working in the marine industry: long periods away from home with little communication(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kirby Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great schedule, decent pay, overtime opportunities, amazing people to work with.

    Cons

    Waking up very early for work, but it’s worth it.

    Kirby Corporation2019-06-04
  2. "No 1 company to work for in this field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kirby Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and working environment

    Cons

    Schedule is interesting but once you get used to it is great.

    Kirby Corporation2019-06-01
  3. "Great company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kirby Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay/ benefits. Very friendly work environment.

    Cons

    I cant think of any cons so far.

    Kirby Corporation2019-04-16
  4. "Black Sheep branch in a marine world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kirby Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are great to work with, fairly independent, and normal hours that can be flex a little.

    Cons

    This is NOT directed at Kirby Corp because they really have no clue what our branch really does, except lay golden eggs every month, propping up our division of the company. We are the only branch that does not have anything to do with marine transportation or diesel boats. My problem is with our branch. We are not building a future revenue stream, only relying on an old, dying industry. No chances for advancement...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    How about sending people to get proper education for the equipment that they will be using. Better benefits and a true human resource person and IT person at our branch, not some third party call center or trying to handle all the PC problems from corporate. Cross-training for all employees or at the least shadowing for a week or two.

    Kirby Corporation2019-04-25
  5. "Shift work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deckhand 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kirby Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stability good benefits on off shifts

    Cons

    Pay is really low 30000 to start. I applied for a position in Houston end up in Chicago and no transfer allowed untill 5 years gone by

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate employees tell them the truth from the beginning of the hire date

    Kirby Corporation2019-03-10
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kirby Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Good company, good people, and great benefits.

    Cons

    Uneducated people on the boats.

    Kirby Corporation2018-12-22
  7. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kirby Corporation full-time

    Pros

    The Company is very flexible. Lots of employees like to Hunt.

    Cons

    No bonuses are given to most employees that have titles under Manager or Supervisor

    Advice to Management

    Bonuses should be given to all employees, not just management

    Kirby Corporation2018-12-31
  8. "Chief"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kirby Corporation for more than 5 years

    Pros

    New equipment being built/has been built recently. Shipyard periods done properly.

    Cons

    RTBU “Union”—-complete and utter joke. Little room for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    REMOVE THE UNION & hire actual professional mariners instead of someone playing the part.

    Kirby Corporation2018-12-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "IT Dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kirby Corporation full-time

    Pros

    The deli in the building

    Cons

    Rife with incompetence and led by the ignorant.

    Advice to Management

    Replace the CIO. He is holding back the IT dept from being effective by clutching on to his favorite employees.

    Kirby Corporation2018-09-12
  10. "Fleet boat deckhand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kirby Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Over a week off after every work cycle

    Cons

    Away from home weeks at a time

    Kirby Corporation2018-07-25
Found 53 reviews